We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil & Exquisite Maui Dream”
Review of Ho'oilo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ho'oilo House
Ranked #2 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil & Exquisite Maui Dream”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Breathtaking views, peaceful gardens, stunning design, and absolute privacy. We simply can't stop telling people about our dreamy experience at Ho'oilo House. We stayed in the Akala Manu room for 4 nights in early March, and were truly living the Maui dream. Dan, the owner, greeted us with kindness as he gave us a small tour of the beautiful house, and from then on we felt as if the Balinese style palace was all our own. The breakfasts were delicious; fresh tropical fruit & juice, warm baked bread, and Kona coffee poolside. Our beautiful room was private and romantic, with a heavenly stone outdoor shower from which we could enjoy the sun or stars, palms and mountain views. Geckos and insects are part of the tropics, but our encounters with both only happened outdoors. The room was meticulously cleaned each day. They even left us champagne flues when they saw we had a bottle on the shelf! Enjoyed using their beach umbrellas and grass mats. The location is ideal -- just minutes away from beaches and restaurants, in a quiet, affluent neighborhood. A jogging path is nearby, and everywhere the views of the mountain and the ocean are breathtaking. Everyday we dream of returning to Ho'oilo House. It truly is that wonderful!

Room Tip: Side rooms have the benefit of partial ocean and mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    33
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
309
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The views are wonderful and it is convenient short drive into Lahaina, although parking is a nightmare when you get there. the accomodation is good looking and the communal areas are lovely. we stayed in honu and found it small, mainly because the bed is a large 4-poster with a 6" edge that has to be negotiated to get in or out. the decoration was not to our taste, we would have liked more room, perhaps a chair. the TV is in a cupboard which needs to be shut before going to sleep in case you get up in the night and crack your head on the door. the outside shower sounds good but is like having a hose directed at you, the direction, height and sprinkle are not adjustable. the worst bit was that we suffered lots of bites, at firstwe wondered if they were happening outside the property but in the end we came to the conclusion that it was only at night. we did bring the cockroaches to dan's attention and he immediately had the room fumigated. dan was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alecver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HooiloHouse, Owner at Ho'oilo House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
As always, we appreciate our guests taking the time to post a review. We strive to provide a unique Maui experience - it's unfortunate that we were not a good fit for this couple. We like it when people bring home wonderful memories of Maui, and are disappointed when we fail to add to those good memories. We're happy that they were at least able to enjoy our gorgeous views.

As for the mosquito bites, it's unfortunate, but we do have mosquitoes periodically. Typically they don't follow a pattern and come and go randomly. However, with the higher than normal rain this winter, Maui has been experiencing more than usual.

We hope this guest enjoyed their time on Maui and that they have plans to return to our gorgeous island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 nights here with my soulmate and it rocked. Our hosts were beyond generous, the breakfast was simple and filling, and the feeling of privacy, silence, and romance were priceless. The suite we stayed in featured a king size bed and a killer outdoor shower with a partial view of the mountains. Full sunset views were 10 seconds away by the pool, and they too were breath-taking. Our only complaints were the occasional bugs in the room (but that was mostly due to the area and some casually opened doors) and the amount of time it took for the shower and bath water to get warm/hot (hint: turn off the water, wait a few seconds, then turn it on again to fix this...repeat if necessary).

Overall, it was an amazing mix of Lahaina countryside, gorgeous views, intimate lodging, respectful hosts, and easy access to of the best stuff Maui has to offer.

Definitely planning to come back ASAP!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleeperkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HooiloHouse, Owner at Ho'oilo House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again!
-Amy & Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week of Paradise. Maui was wonderful, relaxing and a big part of our enjoyment was staying at Ho'olio House. It is a lovely place and the outdoor shower is delightful. We stayed in the Nalu suite - the view was stellar.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Best place ever! Beautiful, clean, low-key, quiet, healthy breakfast and friendly staff and guests. Our favorites experiences are the outside showers, having unhurried breakfast and having the heated pool all by ourselves in such a beautiful setting. We will definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sinag d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ho'oilo House for 3 nights to finish our 10 days in Maui. Had I known how amazing this place was, I would have planned the trip differently to be able to spend more time here!

Location: excellent! Great in terms of easy access to the airport, south maui (Kihei, wailed, makena) and west maui (lahaina, ka'anapali). Close enough to the main hwy but far enough removed for peace and quiet and unparalleled views (whales seen from out lanai and outdoor shower!)

Accommodations: fantastic! The entire place is very thoughtfully appointed. It was clean, comfortable, and just felt really special.
The bed was very comfortable, with all types of pillow options. Great closet space, bathroom, and awesome outdoor shower.

Food: good! We are early birds and only caught breakfast one day (breakfast served 8-10) but it was very good, with lots of healthy options. Water, Coffees and teas are available 24/7 which was nice.

Extras: Dan really went the extra mile. We brought leftover food from our condo and dan had our pineapple cut up and served to us before we were done unpacking! We borrowed beach chairs for our entire stay, and just felt completely at home, a luxuriously exotic home :).

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BaCaTion8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Ho'oilo House for 4 nights as the first part of our Hawaii belated honeymoon, and it was such a wonderful place to start our vacation! Dan and Amy are fantastic - gave us lots of great advice for exploring Maui and make everything so so comfortable and elegant. The breakfast was delicious, especially when enjoyed from the private lanai. And the views and the property! WOW! We ended up getting Foodland poke (highly recommended) and cheese one night just to be able to enjoy dinner and sunset from the inn. Amazing - across the board. Such a great place to stay - we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were in Nalu - which was really lovely, especially with the ocean-facing lanai. One thing to not...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CT_RVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
10.6 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
449 reviews
42.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
934 reviews
6.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
16.7 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho'oilo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'oilo House

Property: Ho'oilo House
Address: 138 Awaiku St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho'oilo House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Maui Mountains, this quiet, private Bed & Breakfast offers incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and islands surrounding Maui. Located on the popular west side of the island, you will be just minutes from the historic whaling town of Lahaina and the Kaanapali resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ho'oilo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Oilo House Hotel Lahaina
Ho'Oilo House Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing