We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cane Train”

Lahaina Kaanapali and Pacific Railroad
Ranked #97 of 124 things to do in Lahaina
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A reconstruction of authentic sugar cane trains which traveled through the cane fields of the island.
Cooroy, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Cane Train”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

A trip form Lahaina up to Ka'anapali and return should not be missed. A very relaxing ride through Lahaina up to the glitz of Ka'anapali through the old cane fields with great entertainment and commentry was a highlight.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank rocafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
248 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lahaina train”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Sugar Cane Train is fun for the whole family and is great transportation from Lahaina town into the resort district of Kaanapali. Scenic tour of the residential neighborhood, golf courses and the many shops and eateries. Great photo ops wíth the engines. Tiny souvenir shop.

Helpful?
2 Thank intheraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Train Experience for Kids!!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We took our 3 year old granddaughter on the Sugar Cane Train and she loved it. The round trip ride is only six miles each way, but the open window cars provide a lot of fun for small children. This is a narrow gauge train that chugs along with an occasional part where the branches of bushes that have grown close to the tracks lightly brush the sides and roof of the cars. At one point the train goes over a 360 foot trussle and then does a blowdown where the steam system is purged to clean the calcium deposits out. At the Lahaina station the engine is detached from the train and passengers get to watch it being turned around on the round table for the return trip. At one point the train goes up a hill and the steam engine is straining to make it over the top and the kids were chanting "I think I can, I think I can" over and over until the train crested the top!!! In total the ride took about 1 1/2 hours which includes time to take on water and turn the engine around. This is just about the right amount of time for little kids.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Norval C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Used to be fun.”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Apparently this has changed hands since my last visit. The gift shop was poorly stocked and the clerk was on a personal phone call. The two regular places to buy tickets were closed.
The first time I stopped (morning) they weren't even open. The second time I went I was the only one there and I was told that the train would be making its end of day one way run. They used to have an evening dinner run, but that is no longer offered.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Keoni48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere, USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good for sightseeing.”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is a nice way to see part of Maui that you would otherwise miss. It takes you near the wealthy areas and also by some lower income properties. You go past golf fairways and sugar cane fields. Part of it runs near the shoreline, too. Nice view except for the power lines. Photo tip: Sit on the right side going out to get a picture of the steam blow-off at the other end. Switch over to the opposite side (it'll still technically be the right side as the engine turns around, but you don't). Then get the picture of the steam blow-off over the bridge on the way back.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank The_Common_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lahaina Kaanapali and Pacific Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Lahaina Kaanapali and Pacific Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing