We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal and Location”

Mala - Ocean Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Mala - Ocean Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 264 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kapunakea
Description: In 2004 Mark and Judy opened Mala Ocean Tavern, along with their daughters, Ariana and Michelle, a small oceanside tavern serving Mediterranean and Pacific Rim, with some Latino flavored dishes. With their partner Shep Gordon, Mala Wailea was created for the Wailea Beach Marriott Resort, which opened in 2008 and sold in 2016.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great Meal and Location”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth visit. Located right on/over the water. Host got us a table right on the water. Ahi bruschetta was excellent. As were the oyster shooters. Entrees were fresh and well prepared. Service was top notch. Highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    354
    160
    67
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food, however poor service”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have been to Mala's several times and have always enjoyed the food and atmosphere. We enjoyed both of these again this time, however, the service this time was slow and inattentive. We were seated at our reservation time and it took 30 minutes for the waiter to arrive and check in with us. We tried to order the hummus and babaganoush appetizer (which is really good), but the waiter talked us out of that and suggested that we order a smaller order of humus instead. The food came promptly afterwards, and was quite good.
The sunset and or ocean view is one of the best on Maui. Make sure you call ahead and reserve an ocean front table. It is one of the best experiences on Maui. Ara does a great job as Maitre D', and Mark Ellman is one of the most talented chefs in Hawaii.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunset dinner”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a perfect evening dining at Mala. The food was delicious, started with the quartet of hummus, babaganoush, raita, feta, olives with lavosh and pita bread. Wonderful service, thanks to John, and Ara was especially gracious.The place was busy and guests seemed happy. Enjoyed a waterfront table and fabulous sunset view. Kobe cheeseburger and homemade ahi burger were quite delicious. The evening ended with the freshest lilikoi (passion fruit) sorbet, seeds and all. It was like having the fruit itself. Nice to have great food and service, but in a casual setting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tinakula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ma'la is a Must”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is where we always end our vacation when on Maui. Each visit (this was our 3rd), we vow to return. This is just a small place with a great vibe; ocean front seating, beautiful sunsets and very good food.
My husband lives for the seafood pasta. The adult mac and cheese is very good, although I feel like they could go lighter on the mushrooms. The appetizers were all very good; calamari, flat bread, bruschetta.
I really enjoyed the mahi burger and my niece raved about the kobe burger (as my son has done in the past).
Again, a must evening while in Maui.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paigec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I got super lucky as we stumbled into Ma'la without a reservation, right in the middle of primetime dinner service and got a sweet table right on the ocean without waiting one minute. And it was packed, so I would definitely make a reservation if you'd like to go here, we got very lucky. And I'm so glad we did, the food was amazing! I had the fish and my wife the chicken and we were both amazed at the quality, portion and ambiance of this amazing ocean tavern, I highly recommend Ma'la as your next fine dinning option here in Maui!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lobobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mala - Ocean Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Mala - Ocean Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing