We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roy's - Kaanapali

Roy's - Kaanapali
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's - Kaanapali is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 263 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$49
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Roy's Kaanapali! Since opening the original "Roy's" in Hawaii Kai in 1988, I have set out to explore "new directions," blending classic European cooking techniques with unique influences of Asia and the Pacific, guided only be the freshest local ingredients and my own sense of freedom. Every night our menu features a selection of "Roy's Classics," which are menu items that have been favorites since the beginning. These are noted with the "Y" symbol. In addition to these Classic dishes, Executive Chef Ryan Ferguson along with Sous Chefs John Balisco, Marc Urquidi, & Jessie Anacleto offer a unique selection of seasonal items & nightly specials. Cooking has been my life... Thank you for making it part of yours. Roy Yamaguchi, Chef/Founder
Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Well, move over Waterfront Restaurant. Roy's has taken over our number two restaurant on Maui by a hair.

Head chef Joey Macadangdang has outdone himself.
Food this year is much better (although last year was extremely good!).
And he just brought out a new appetizer;
Crispy pork belly! Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!
If you don't get anything else, get this as an appetizer!

Still noisy but much better than their old location in Kahana.
Service was prompt, efficient and unobtrusive,
Dishes were whisked away pronto.
Waiter was knowledgeable of the menu and friendly.

Menu items were expertly prepared and presented, full of flavor and good portion size.
We felt the cost reasonable taking into account Hawaiian prices and the food was over the top awesome. Like I said, this is our second place dining experience with the Lahaina Grill being number one by a long shot.

We started with the Kiawe wood smoked Szechuan baby back pork ribs appetizer. Best on Maui in our estimation and we've tried a lot here. They're all over the place. But this takes the award. Get this.

Next on the appetizer menu was Crispy Pork Belly;
Sizzling soy vinaigrette, Thai rice and Lomilomi.
If you love bacon, this is for you. If you don't like fat, don't get this because...well it's pork belly. But if you want something that will almost make you pass out with joy, THIS is for you. I'm telling you...YOU NEED TO GET THIS! Crispy outside, luscious inside...

Main courses;

Roy's Misoyaki butterfish;
Vegetable sushi rolls with sizzling soy vinaigrette.
My all time favorite, melt in your mouth goodness. Nice sauce. You won't be disappointed.
Note; any main course can be downsized to an appetizer portion if you aren't too hungry.

Hibachi style grilled salmon;
Japanese citrus Ponzu and cucumber Namasu.
Perfectly cooked fish. They know how to cook fish here. Not dried out and if you want it medium rare, ask!

Dessert;

Roy's classic chocolate soufflé.
Of course.
HOT and cold.
Perfect ending to a perfect meal.

Thank you Chef Joey! You ROCK!

Stay hungry my friends.
Until the next review...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alienpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    336
    161
    64
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Food presentation 5 star Service just average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The food was wonderful and very unique style of blending the different types of foods together.
We went for Mothers Day and were a bit dissapointed that they didn't even mention or say Happy Mothers Day ot us. Just like it was any other day. Our waiter seemed a bit rushed and didn't wait for us to finish our order before he tried to dart off to another table.
The food was very good We all had different types of fish and it was prepared very nicely.
You can't go wrong on the food but, the waiter we had that night was a bit off his game. We sat with empty glasses for a long time and didn't get to finish our dessert selection before he darted off.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Order the local fish and dessert. Ignore the Denny's decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency nearby and ended up going here twice, once for a dinner and another for after dinner desserts. The first time we walked over from the hotel after we heard from a hotel staffer that Roy's had moved to within walking distance. There was 6 couples and we had a fair sampling of the menu.
Salads: Wedge Salad. Nice but pretty safe and predictable; Poached D'anjou pear salad. Nice but pretty safe and predictable. Ceasar's salad. Nice but pretty safe and predictable. In conclusion, the salads we had, though using mostly sourced ingredients were pretty safe and predictable. Could have eaten them pretty much anywhere on the west coast.
Mains: I had the Misoyaki Butterfish which was delicious but a bit salty. The fish was cooked perfectly, moist and flaky with a rich buttery flavor. The accompanying vegetable sushi was kind of misplaced and didn't work with the dish at all, the sushi was overwhelmed by the salty marinade and soy vinaigrette. Several of us got the Monchong either as part of a Roy's classic trio of fish or as a stand alone dish. The fish was also excellent with a nice meaty texture, the steaming preserving the moisture and allowing the fresh fish to shine through. The other fish, Mahi Mahi which was macadamia encrusted was also delicious both making the last of the trio, the blackened Ahi the least favorite possibly because it's handling was fairly common and not special.
Desserts: We had pretty much everything given that we hit this place twice for dessert. The Sorbet trio was nice but really benefited with a splash of vodka that we ordered as a shot from the bar. The pineapple upside down cake was a winner and was naturally ordered the second trip.
The place has a nice view overlooking the golf course but the place looks like a Denny's tarted up with a bar and nicer furnishings. The staff/service where excellent, friendly, helpful, efficient, and knowledgeable. We all thought the bar staff was a bit rude and unhelpful. Sure they were busy but so was the waitstaff. Not really acceptable since at most restaurants, the bar is the main engine of profit.
Definitely a destination meal for special occasion, for business accounts, and for the local fresh fish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scottderrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Ono - the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This Roy's is on the lower Kaanapali golf course. The bank of windows affords a good view of the course, though the sunset view is limited. But one comes to Roy's for the food, not the view. The staff accommodated our family's needs, including those of our daughter and son-in-law. The food was very good, and the service was excellent. They even gave us an extra appetizer. All in all, it was one of the best dinner experiences we have had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Knyght1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“classic elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We went here for my parents anniversary dinner. The service was first class, they were very attentive. They gave us a complimentary appetizer and dessert for celebrating a special occasion there. The sushi was excellent. The chocolate cake was divine. They have a great vegetarian menu with a variety of options in both appetizer and mains sizes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roy's - Kaanapali also viewed

 

Been to Roy's - Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing