We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Experience”

Hawaii Ocean Project
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.95*
and up
Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui
More Info
US$99.95*
and up
Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise
More Info
US$200.98*
and up
Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise and Royal Lahaina Luau Combo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hawaii Ocean Project hosts whale watches and other exciting excursions aboard the Maui Princess, the Molokai Princess, the Lahaina Princess, the Prince Kuhio, and the Kaulana. Our vessels are large, stable, and comfortable, and they offer the best viewing available. Trained naturalists on board share their knowledge of the West Maui marine environment. Whether you prefer a guided day trip around the exotic island of Molokai, A snorkel tour of Molokini, following a pod of Dolphins around Lanai, or a sunset dinner cruise of the coast of West Maui, Hawaii Ocean Project can accommodate you with your Maui Ocean Activity. Our Mission is to provide you with the finest Maui Ocean Activities available. Not only do we offer the finest Dinner cruises on Maui and ocean tours off the coast of West Maui, as well as excursions to Maui's neighboring islands, we are proud our services promote and support marine research and promote the education of Hawaii's marine eco system.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Fairfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Fun Experience”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We went on the whale watching trip on a very hot day. I couldn't believe how many we saw. I'd say more than 60 on a 2 hour trip! We saw babies and up to 4 or 5 at once. We saw so many that they were surrounding us on every side. We went in February and I've heard that it's the best time to see them because it's mating season. Otherwise I've heard that if it's off season, you won't see any at all.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    49
    27
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not too bad...”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This dinner cruise boasts the largest, and most stable ship for dinner cruises. It's apx 120 feet in length, but not as stable as I thought it would be... The ocean was fairly calm, but sitting on the upper deck where they serve the dinner, you definitely felt the boat rocking back and forth... Especially when the captain turns the ship around.
All the staff were great, the food was tasty but the portions were kind of on the small side, especially considering the price you're paying. The welcoming staff at check in told us they were "Very very generous portions", I'm thinking she was being sarcastic, I don't know....
They had a single musician for entertainment, playing guitar along with his recorded drum, bass, vocal tracks. He was very good, but his repertoire was pretty limited. You get a free Mai Tai after being seated, and 2 free drink tickets after that. When you first board the ship, they lead you around the bow, where they take your photo, which you can purchase for $20 upon your return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunset Dinner Cruise”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The dinner cruise was ok. It was not anything special. The food was ordinary with potatoes, carrots, and your choice of fish, chicken, or prime rib. The drinks were limited to some beers (not high end), white wine only, and Mai tais. The tables and chairs were too close to each other, and not much room to walk around. The sun was beating on us that day and was unbearable. However, we saw 2 whales from afar while cruising and made our trip somewhat satisfying. Don't spend your money on this dinner cruise. They even ask for a fixed gratuity of $20 at the end. Go somewhere nicer for dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun trip and good food”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Dinner Cruise on the "Maui Prineess" was a fun trip . The food was outstanding and the sunset was amazing with some very nice music and the staff was great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rap5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“End of Whale Season Early Bird Cruise”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We took a Whale Watch Early Bird cruise Sunday 4/27/14 at 7:30 am. Although they advertise guaranteed whale sighting through May 15, they were honest on the phone and explained that 4/30 is probably the cutoff this year as the whales were subsiding. What’s nice is they guarantee whale sighting or you can reschedule another whale cruise, complimentary. The boat was not crowded and most people sat at the top deck. We decided to remain on the bottom deck which was nice because when whales were sighted, we could move around as needed to get a view, whereas, the people on top were seated at tables and had to move around each other.

Fortunately, we did see a mother whale with her calf. Unfortunately, these were the only whales we saw during our cruise. The whales were somewhat far because there is a distance restriction which is understandable, but for capturing the moment, at best you see a tiny bit of the whale above the surface now and then, and an occasional spout. The crew even admitted that those close-up moments you see in advertisements, where the whale breaches beside the boat, doesn't really happen.

If we were to come during whale season again, we would likely try one of the small zodiac/raft type boats instead, as they are much faster and maneuverable. There is still the same distance restriction, but they can position quicker, maybe get ahead of the whale, idle and let the whales come to you. There is nothing against that. By comparison, the larger catamaran type boats, like the H.O.P. boat, are slow and position very slowly, so at best you might parallel a whale from a distance. Catamarans do have more room and ride smoother than smaller rafts, so it depends on what you want from your whale watch trip. In all, the crew was very friendly, the two-hour cruise was just that, no snacks or drinks.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Live-Love-Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hawaii Ocean Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing