We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dangerous bath tubs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kahana Villa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kahana Villa Resort
1 review
“Dangerous bath tubs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

My parents stayed there for their 29th Anniversary and at first they loved the room. It was very nice and clean. But on the day of their anniversary my mom slipped and fell in the shower and the glass door fell off. Then when my dad went to help her, he slipped and hurt his arm. The anti slippery material was worn out on the bottom of the shower and the rubber rug was maybe only 1 x 2 ft big, definitely not big enough to stop someone from falling. Such a terrible thing to happen on their anniversary. A report was made but the manager is out until after the 4th of July weekend. The place is very nice and the staff was quick to respond but the tub needs some repairs to ensure this doesnt happen to other people.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mauigirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dloera, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
We thank your parents for spending their anniversary with us and apologize for the bathtub incident. We hope they are both okay and that it didn’t compromise their celebration. Theirs was the first slip and fall reported this year. As far as bathmats go, we use a standard 22.5 x 14 mat in all tubs. We are happy that our staff was helpful and quick to respond, and that you found our resort otherwise enjoyable. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    61
    28
    6
    12
See reviews for
50
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

The front desk hours are rather sporadic; we had to go across the street to check in, get our room keys, get a 2nd key when the first one broke, and to get a 3rd and 4th one when the keys stopped working for some unknown reason. When they were there, they were very nice and very accomodating. The suite was incredibly outdated - while we have no problem with 80's style furnishings, the fact that it appears to have last been renovated or even repaired since the '80's was a huge issue. The washing machine was literally hanging on by a wire. We made due until one day it broke off completely. To be fair, maintenance came the same day and somehow managed to clip it back together again. They come once a week to give you new towels and take the rubbish so basically you have to wash the towels and take the garbage yourself. The AC unit was very old and very loud and at the end of the suite in the living room nowhere near the bedroom. We found 2 cockroaches in our suite and numerous beetles. The fridge door did not completely close but the oven was very clean; the fridge needed another wipe down. The cupboards were rather rickety and the bathroom was very old and the whole place needed updating. However, you get what you paid for in that it reasonably priced and if you think of it as an old cabin by the beach and just buy a large can of Raid and go with a nonchalant attitude, you could find it all right. The local restaurants are nice and the beaches especially in Kahlua Bay were awesome. Lahaina as always is lovely to visit. I honestly could not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you need a cheaper hotel and you have a very cool go with the flow, whatever goes relaxed attitude.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mauibabes1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

This was my first time in Maui and I traveled with my parents, my husband and my 17-month old daughter. Our villa was nice and clean and it worked well for us having the two separate bedrooms and the pullout couch. This way my baby could have her own room and my husband and I stayed on the couch. We found the villa extremely quiet and peaceful - my baby slept every night for 12 hours straight!. The window air conditioner in the living room and the bedroom fans kept the villa at a comfortable temperature (even too cold at times!). The only complaint that I have is that we were there for two weeks and they only came to clean once. I know that you can pay to have it cleaned more often, but I just think that it should be cleaned more often included in the price that you pay. You do come back full of sand from the beach so the carpets should have been vacuumed more often. They did come once a week to refresh towels and take out the garbage. The suite is nice and spacious. The kitchen was nice - having updated appliances and a full fridge. There were also lots of dishes, pots and pans, etc. The pool and hot tub area was nice and easily accessible. If staying at this resort, budget in a rental car for your length of stay - there is plenty of free parking. The beach across the street isn't the best so you will have to drive to better beaches - the closest one being Kaanapali Beach. Also, it is about 15 mins from downtown Lahaina and about 5 minutes from the nearest grocery store (Times) in driving time. We had a very comfortable stay at Kahana Villas, but we aren't hard-to-please type of people and we didn't spend a whole lot of time in our suite - just to sleep, shower and eat breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJoJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

If you are looking for a nice relaxing vacation do not stay here. Loud parking lot with people screaming and honking their horns at 3am. Kids screaming above you at all hours of day and night. Grounds keepers sweeping halls and lancscaping at 7am on a Saturday. Suppose to be quiet hours from 10pm to 8am but not inforced by on site manager. Next to freeway and busy streets. Carpet needs to be replaced and units painted. Clean but not well maintained. Front desk staff is not friendly at all. Renovated unit next to us during the entire stay so noise from construction all day. For the price you pay to stay there no housekeeping included that is extra. Would not stay there again................

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank relaxno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
302 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

My husband and I were able to use my in-laws' timeshare at Kahana Villas for a week in November. I had never stayed at a time share, so I wasn't sure what to expect. Our Villa was nice and clean. It could definitely use some updating though. The pool and hot tub area was nice and easily accessible. The location was okay, only about 15 mins from downtown Lahaina. With the ease of having a kitchen, we were able to have breakfast and pack lunches for our long days surfing or exploring (beware - food prices are MUCH higher than on the mainland). We had a very comfortable stay at Kahana Villas, but if you're looking for trendy or elegant, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

We just returned from a 1 week stay at the Kahana Villa resort. We stayed in one of the least desirable rooms - bottom floor upper unit. The view from the lanai was a bamboo wind break. The room was fine the kitchen was good and liked having the washer dryer in the room. The ac is a wall unit at the farthest end of the unit so it was a bit warm in the bedroom. The TV was a flat screen and set up to watch HD without HD. It was a wierd picture at times. We used the pool and hot tub several times and they were good. The location is great - close to Lahina, Napili and Kapalua. We went to the beach accross the street and it is small and snorkling is not good, although I did see a large turtle. If ocean view and a resort is what you are looking for, not here - if an inexpensive room that you just want to crash, then you are good!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcwillis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

Impressed from check in to check out...we had a 1br/1ba unit with a lanai looking out onto a grassy area with a small view of the beach. We found everything to be very quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Everyday we sat out on our patio, drank coffee and watched the ocean. The beach was right across the street, was never crowded and we even did a little snorkeling there. The pool and spa were on the smaller size but it was nice in the evenings to chill while we bbq'd our dinner. Even though there wasn't an air conditioner in the bedroom, the ceiling fan was more that enough to keep us cool while we slept...and we run very hot so I was pleased. We had a wonderful time and this was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tludare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.0 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#10 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands of Kahana
Sands of Kahana
#9 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hono Koa
Hono Koa
#37 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kahana Reef
Kahana Reef
#8 of 42 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
0.9 mi away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#17 of 42 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Villa Resort

Property: Kahana Villa Resort
Address: 4242 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8969
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Villa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kahana Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Villa Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Villa Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing