We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Sun Worshiper's Beach”
Review of Napili Beach

Napili Beach
Ranked #4 of 124 things to do in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sun Worshiper's Beach”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very nice location, ok snorkeling but around the corner to the left is Honuloa bay where you stand a good chance to see sea turtles. You need to be a strong swimmer and go when the sea is calm. Snorkel and fins required. A short walk down the beach to the right is "Sea House". Great for pupus, drinks or lunch. Take an umbrella if you don't love the sun as there is little. shade. Parking is scarce so go early. Park along the road and walk in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rohdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,518
    490
    100
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Snorkel, body surf, play, turtles”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We love Napili Bay, best beach on the West side of Maui. Turtles all day long, good snorkeling unless there's big surf.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiesAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little gem for snorkeling”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have been going here for more than 10 years on our annual visits to family who live nearby. It's always one of our favorite spots for snorkeling. At first we went as it is a small cove, with grass, clean bathrooms and showers for our young kids. Now we go just because it is so easy to find your own close-to-the shore spot just filled with fabulous underwater activity. The big sea turtles are so used to people they can stay quite close to you while you float, and you have to be careful not to touch them (not good for them). I actually watched an eel catch and electrocute a white foot-long fish that came too close to its hiding place under the coral.

Just try to get there early or after families pack up to go home as the parking lot can get congested.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TumblinSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Swim with turtles”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Big turtles regularly come to within feet of the beach. Enjoy them. But don't touch. This beach was our favorite. Parking may be hard to find depending on the season. So come early.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank threestartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indy
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach to Enjoy.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We enjoyed relaxing, SUPing and boogie boarding on this beautiful beach. A great way to spend the afternoon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TnTWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Napili Beach also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Napili Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing