We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, Negative Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Place, Negative Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We did a 4-nighter on a special. We had a beautiful room next to the ocean. However, it was also exactly where they hold parties. So, on the very night we really wanted quiet, there was a band on the grass right outside our room for 2+ hours. We talked to the manager about it, but of course, were told when it would be over, and that we'd get breakfast and a prorated credit on our bill. What we wound up with was a "goodwill" deduction memorandum for our next trip. I didn't bother to go through the motions with my credit card company and push for the tangible credit. The staff at the front desk aren't very friendly; though everyone else working there seemed most friendly. If you want a room at the ocean, not terribly costly, and don't mind that there could be a lot of noise at night, then go for it, but there are nicer places at Kaanapali on Maui. As I said, the room was nice, however, the place does need remodeling. Maui is fabulous...Aloha.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    65
    41
    37
    28
See reviews for
38
100
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

I came for a couple days to attend a wedding at the Royal Lahaina property, which owns the Ocean Inn. I didn't expect a lot since my rate was less than my friends staying next door at the Royal Lahaina. This place was built in 1962 and I think that was the last time anything was done to it. It was clean, but that's all I can say. My room overlooked the back of the bar at the Luau area. The "Free Wireless Internet" turned out to be 1 hour per day, and service kept cutting off. I paid the 10 bucks for all day, but still had very little usage. Staff was ok, they did give us a complimentary room to change in before our evening flight home after checkout. Common areas are shared with the Royal Lahina, which is an ok property, but has very plain pool areas and little other relaxing space for a property of it's size.

Room Tip: If you stay, tell them not on the Luau side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flynomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

This place isn't the Taj Mahal, but if you are traveling on a budget, this is your place! It's an older hotel surrounded by a great resort with a lot of amenities, which are all available to you. The beach is great and is much less crowded than below Black Rock. If you want luxury, go somewhere else or just don't complain - You get what you pay for! Honestly, your going to Hawaii, much time are you going to be spending inside your hotel room with your eyes open.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lola_Von_Skilet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

All of you who gave this hotel a bad review are nuts! I was nrevous after reading the reviews, but this hotel is great. The rooms are large, clean and totally nice. The resort is amazing & the amenities and location are great. We had no issues and we are picky travellers. I love this hotel & will definitely be back. A++

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite the luau (can be loud)
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank slc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

My friend and I were on a budget vacation to Maui, so we chose the Ocean Inn since it's on the property of the Royal Lahaina Resort for a fraction of the cost. We were prepared if it was a dump, we wouldn't be spending much time in the room anyway. The Ocean Inn was a wonderful surprise. The room (1512 on the 2nd floor) was clean, everything worked perfectly. The beds and linens were very comfortable and clean. Amazing view of the ocean from our balcony.
I was so shocked to read the poor reviews because our 4 night stay was perfect. Beautiful location. I would recommend this place to friends and look forward to going again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SweetCakesLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Okay, so the TA reviews are pretty accurate. Here's my two cents:
My boyfriend and I (we are in our 60's and 50's, respectively) booked a Pleasant Hawaiian 5 night package with airfare, hotel and rental car for $700 each. Because of the low price, as well as the TA reviews, we didn't have high expectations about our accommodations. Yes, the Ocean Inn is pretty dumpy (toilet didn't flush properly; cottage cheese ceiling had severe water damage; daily charge to use the room safe: $3.75; peeling wallpaper; cockroach bait behind the sofa - and cockroach on railing of lanai). HOWEVER: we asked for and received AT NO EXTRA CHARGE an ocean FRONT room with a sliding glass door that opens onto a small lanai that looks out directly onto Kaanapali Beach, with spectacular sunsets and glorious morning views of the whales breaching in the channel. We also had direct access to the facilities of the Royal Lahaina Resort, which were very nice: great poolside restaurant/bar; ocean activities center with beach towels; poolside lounges; beautiful swimming and snorkeling beach; good parking; helpful and friendly staff - hint: ditch the luau - the entertainment sounded horrible from our balcony). We like to run and swim, so having the ocean at our doorstep as well as the beach walk trail going right through the property was great. We've stayed at other resorts along Kaanapali beach, and I have to say the Ocean Inn was the dumpiest, but it was also, by far, the least expensive, and we hardly spent any time in the room anyway.

Room Tip: Ask (beg) for an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelekor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Don't believe the pictures! Notice the main picture is a sketch, and it is not accurate! Picture a smaller, run down building 50 years older. The Knob on the door has an actual key-the key jammed and would not come out-then the whole knob came off! The furniture is outdated in the room, the coffee pot had old coffee in it, the light bulb was burned out on one of the lamps and never got replaced. Housekeeping never replaced the coffee, tea and sugar in the room-we had to ask for it each evening-no garbage bags replaced in room. The pool and beach cabana pictures are off in a different building-they are part of the Royal Lahaina that is on the same property and where you check in, but not were you stay!! Hundreds of feet away from where you stay. If you still decide to stay there, you had better make certain you get ocean front on the 2nd or third floor because at least you have a marvelous view and can hear the ocean, otherwise you will run screaming when your vies is of the bamboo wall dividing the Luau area and the stench of old food and beer wafts into your room! You can also hear the noise through the walls of your adjoining neighbors, and by the way, the adjoining door is NOT secure! And management is condescending and pompous!

Gift shops and travel services and free internet where adjoining the Royal Lahaina !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purpleisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.1 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
4.5 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
14.7 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Property: Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Address: 2780A Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1927
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaanapali Ocean Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Ocean Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing