We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed 24 June 2013

On initial check in was mindful that this facility was inferior (as per trip advisor) in standard but was prepared to have an open mind. My first and last impression was of Keith ,the porter, who was the ruddiest and most belligerent I had encountered ever! Obviously not a happy personality.. the room allocated was NOT an ocean view as requested Very begrudgingly was moved 4 doors along corridor, but still not room type as stated in booking confirmation. It was indeed sadly dilapidated with well worn, stained furniture, fixtures and fittings-- very basic but clean. To add insult to injury, overnight, a leaking tap from the vanity flooded the bathroom area, wardrobe and saturated my luggage. The housekeeper, Esmerelda was a delight who sprung into action immediately. Out of all this scenario, there was some good when the Asst.guest services Manager-- Annette, relocated me to a cottage (#8141) for the remainder of my stay. Sadly I observed that namely the Hawaiian Nationals at the Royal Lahaina Resort presented as unfriendly, abrasive in manner and were lacking in personality or enthusiasm-- contrary to what would be expected at such a major resort. I did find Maui disappointing-- too commercial with robotic unhappy people in Hospitality.

Room Tip: To avoid disappointment pay the extra and stay at the Royal Lahaina. Most certainly room #8141 was r...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Kaanapali Ocean Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

I spent 4 nights at this great hotel for the price. The best of all: I was able to hear the waves hitting the beach from my room, and going to sleep with that sound was just awesome! The hotel is actually a rather secluded small building like a 100 meters away from the Royal Lahaina Resort, where the main hotel, the front desk and the restaurant are.

It is, indeed, old fashioned, not nice carperts at all and when you get in the room the musty smell may shock you. But, if you open the windows and shut off the AC the smell is gone almost inmediately.

The beds and pillows were really comfortable, and the linen nice and very clean.

The location is just amazing, and for much less than the average charged in that part of Maui, you can have a very peaceful stay. The beach just a few steps away, a really neat swimming pool and a fantastic restaurant (buffett breakfast -although pricey- is just fantastic!) are also included in the price.

The people at the hotel were extremely nice and helpful, so I'm very much happy I stayed at the Kaanapali Ocean Inn rather than in -for instance- the Kaanapali Beach Hotel, which was way more crowded and for almost double the price could have got a smaller and darker room, with no sound of the waves ;)

Mahalo K. Ocean Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach entrance and not the ones facing the LUAU ;)
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This was the best deal I found on Maui. The location is awesone...right on the Kaanapali Beach. This hotel is part of the Royal Lahaina resort and you have access to all amenities while paying 3 times less on your room. The rooms do look old and they are not sparkling clean but that's why you are paying less. Try to get an ocean front view room (not just ocean view since you will end up with a side view), on the 3rd floor. It is awesome to wake up with the ocean next to you. You can see the Luau show from the balcony if you are on the North or West side.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndreeaAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I'll admit that the other reviews had us so scared we considered cancelling our reservation, but I'm so glad we didn't ... we loved our week long stay!

This is NOT an upscale hotel and if that's why you're coming to Maui I would suggest staying someplace else, but it has several things going for it: 1) location -- you're walking distance from excellent snorkeling at Black Rock and a short drive from downtown Lahaina, 2) use of all the Royal Lahaina amenities (incl. pool and room service), 3) friendly service regardless of which property you're staying at.

The property is a bit dated, but we found everything to be in working order and clean -- no sinking ceilings, moldy odors or anything. We kept fresh fruit in the room and noted a few small bugs, but that'll happen in Hawaii and they're completely harmless.

We lucked out and got a free upgrade to an amazing top-floor, oceanfront room with nice vaulted ceilings and a balcony looking out over the ocean from which we also had a pretty good view of the luau. We loved sleeping with the sliding glass door open and just the storm shutters in place. Of note: it looks like they are remodeling the entire first floor, although we didn't hear any construction noise.

Perfect for the budget traveler, but if you want luxury this is not for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Guinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I've read the other reviews and agree with everything that everyone else says. Yes, it's old and yes, it's rundown and yes, it needs updating BUT, for the price, the location and the fact that you get to use everything that the Royal Lahaina has right next door, it's a bargain. The A/C works, the shower works, the toilet works, and the bed - although hard - still provided a good nights' sleep. We paid a bit more for an ocean view room, but the only time we could see it was if we stood on the balcony and peered far to our left. I would pay extra next time for an oceanFRONT room. And ask for the top floor (there are only 3 levels) as the building isn't very sound-proof.

You can use the computers in Guest Services for free. The ice cream parlour next door makes delicious milkshakes and smoothies. The "Castaway Cafe" in the complex to the north - just steps away - is a great little restaurant for lunches, with an ocean view and it's reasonably priced. There's a fantastic seawalk/boardwalk that goes for miles up the coast, past all the other properties - you'll see many people jogging/walking along it in the mornings.

Whaler's Village is a 15-20 minute walk away. There's great snorkelling at the black rock at the Sheraton, about 10-15 minutes' walk away. This Inn is set on a beautiful, uncrowded beach. We watched the whales blowing, slapping their tails and breaching, right from the beach. Join in on Happy Hour, and remember that you're on vacation - don't sweat the small stuff!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter (but if you're on the south side you can watch the luau from...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My biggest issue with this property is the regular metal key you use to get in your room. I inadvertently went to the wrong room and my key opened that room door!!!! I was shocked. I went and reported this to the front desk as a Safety and Security issue and they told me they would alert maintenance. You would then think that Maintenance would come to my door or to the door I opened. Nope, they did not - not when I was in the room. A couple hours later the front desk called and told me they were going to move me and make my room out of order. I moved, but I believe that the metal room keys at this hotel will open many of the room doors. Be careful if you stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if still have metal keys - safety and security should be a concern.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Arlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 night. Nothing fancy but very near a great beach. We ended up with an ocean view. I would say it was worth what we paid. We spent most of the time taking in the Maui sites as we were spending 5 more nights at the Westin.

Room Tip: Ask for side that faces the condos and ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.1 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
14.5 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
542 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Address: 2780A Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1927
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £105 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaanapali Ocean Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kaanapali Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Ocean Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing