We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good if your only option” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
ALBUQUERQUE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good if your only option”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you have no other option, this is well located, right on the beach and with amenities of the Royal Lahaina Resort, however the rooms are extremely outdated. Our room smelled and the bathroom was not clean. We (like most that try to stay here) upgraded to the Royal Lahaina and had a pleasant stay--clean rooms with gorgeous views.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISHA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    63
    39
    37
    28
See reviews for
38
95
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Comfort, location, and cleanliness A+
Rooms are out dated and worn but I didn't mind... The price was right for the perfect location... Beds are comfortable and showers are hot... What more do you need!
It's right next door to the Royal Lahaina Luau which is nice if you plan to attend.. We had a great time!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crisssymariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We were scheduled to stay here for 10 days (booked thru Travelocity). This property belongs to and is on the grounds of the Royal Lahaina Resort. They should not be renting it out. It either needs a major overhaul or demolition. We arrived late at night and were advised by the staff at the registration desk at the Royal Lahaina (RL) that they had water damage at the Ocean Inn and put us in one of the tower rooms of the RL. The next morning I was taken over to the Ocean Inn to see our room. Had to step over an extension cord and hose to go up the stairs, carpeting in exterior hallway had absorbed rain like a sponge and was wet all the way to the end of the hallway. Upon entering room, it smelled damp and musty. Carpet in front of the sliding glass door was quite damp and I believe would have caused problems for anyone staying in that room that suffered from asthma or allergies. There are only 3 floors and the bottom floor is used for office space and storage. Windows are either covered with brown paper or you can see condensation buildup on the inside. All in all, not very welcoming or appealing. After numerous trips to the registration desk of the RL, we were put in a handicapped room in the tower for the duration of our stay. Fees they charge are: $10/day parking; $15/day for valet parking; $10/day for wifi. They have free wifi in the lobby so there were always a lot of people in lobby using wifi. 2 pools that we
found; evidently there is a third one with a spa somewhere. 2 bars on the premises. Beach activity center by main pool--need card to get towels and are charged $2 if you don't return the card at checkout. All pool/beach equipment available here has fees. Grounds are nice and right on the beach. 2 golf courses. Luau also held on grounds.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachbunny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We just spent 7 nights here. The location is very good and access to the Royal Lahaina amenities was nice. We had a garden view which was gorgeous and a view of the ocean if out on the lanai. Every morning we woke to the sound of waves and birds. It is an old building and has not been updated but our room was clean. A little noisy but nothing major. The beach was so close. Literally a minutes walk. Never had a problem with parking. As long as you go into it knowing that this is not a luxury establishment it is a great bargain for the location. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen292014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is part of the resort which I guess is way better. The room are great and big facing the ocean but did not seem to have been refurbished since it was built. It seems clean but with furniture and walls etc... from the 50's it's hard to be sure. The only regret to not have improvement of this property for the price we pay is just very sad and make me feel just like a wallet instead of a guest that woulb be considered.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sostraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Room was dirty, walls were rotting. Mould was visible on the carpet. There were bugs crawling on the bathroom counter. Not renovated since the 70s. Other guests at the wedding got a nicer room here, but 3 out of 4 of us ended up upgrading to the Royal Lahaina Tower for $800 more. Totally disappointed - the travel agent who booked us should be fired.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at this place for one night in March of 2011 because it was cheaper to fly in earlier for our timeshare in Kihei. It was great. Got a really cheap price and they even upgraded us to a nice cottage. Saw a little hula show, dancing and singing and that was good enough for us to go to our little condo the next day and just do our usual low key stuff. Now we are booking this place again for three nights before we can get into our condo in Kihei. So looking forward to this and I will let you know how it goes. So excited and hopefully will give another great review. Bill Pate and Karen.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riolindakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.0 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
4.5 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
14.6 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Property: Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Address: 2780A Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1927
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaanapali Ocean Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kaanapali Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Ocean Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing