We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views from clean budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed 27 July 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in june this year and although the hotel is really in need of a facelift, decoration wise, it is a good value hotel compared to others in the area. The location is ideal, at the quiet end of Kanaapali beach and you can use all of the facilities of the Royal Lahaina hotel which is right next to the Ocean Inn. The rooms were extremely spacious and the bed linen was really clean and the bed comfy. We weere on the second floor and there was no lift so this could pose a problem for those with walking difficulties. We had a view of the car park from our balcony but spent very little time in the room so this was not a problem. There was a coffee maker and refrigerator in the room which came in handy if you wanted a hot coffee or tea late at night or early morning or a cold beer. If you are looking for a budget hotel with a really great location set right on the beach this hotel is for you. The poor decor is a small price to pay for the most stunning breathtaking scenery all around the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wholelottaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2007

My cousins were staying at the Royal Lahaina and invited us over from Oahu for a night. We flew in, drove a convertable over and planned on spending one night and attending the Luau (slightly cheesy but alot of laughs and the pork is unreal) and visiting Front street and Maui and spending time with my family who live in Santa Barabara. I am from Virginia Beach and was traveling with two young adults and a seven year old.

I am a very picky traveler when it comes to hotels but my cousin was very generous and was picking up the tab for the room and booked us in ocean view---two queen beds. I thought I would be staying at the Royal Lahaina. We came over last minute and this was the only room available on the property. The popcorn ceiling was falling apart and the bathroom had mold and mildew. This is not a room to stay in if you have asthma or allergies. The hotel is really really dirty (cobwebs in the hallway) and half of the rooms look out on the luau (yikes)--but you could watch it for free....ha ha ...there is a smell of warm trash in a dumpster as you walk in the place. The doors to the rooms and the balconys are old and dirty. The shower head sprayed water up on the ceiling which made big drops of condensation that landed back on your head as you showered and the shampoo was horrible----tangle shampoo. The shower experience was the worst--I should have just rinsed off at the pool. Our ocean view looked over private massage tables and the line for the luau. Imagine a line of luau goers outside your room as you get ready. Our balcony was old and the railing wiggled.

My cousin called the front desk (he is picky too) and we were upgraded to the ocean view--which had a nice clean ceiling, normal shower (small) and okay beds. (hampton inn blows these beds away) and slightly upgraded shampoo. The room was cleaner also. I opened the door and the view and the sounds of the ocean at your bedside did make sleeping a dream. So for oceanfront sleeping in Maui this was not a bad nights rest. (The door was off the track mind you).....

This is not the Royal Lahaina--but a good deal for a night or two--my time at the resort with my cousin and in town was really fun and I am glad I was upgraded to the nicer room. However, if you are on a honeymoon or something special stay at the Royal Lahaina instead, Those rooms (oceanfront) are really nice. They have wonderful upgrades to make you feel special. My cousins did that on their own.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank adelais1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

We were extremely dissapointed with this hotel. Here's the worst of it: there were cockroaches in the rooms, the ceiling was shedding dust/debris, the shower was moldy and the shower head was about 4ft off the ground. Also, the sheets were very scratchy.

I should qualify this review by mentioning we stayed at the garden terrace (2 story structure), not the tower -- I have no idea if the tower is any better.

We complained to Hotwire since this hotel was at the time considered 4-star, according to their ratings, which wasn't even close. I'd say 1 star, assumming no cockroaches. If you have ever used bidding sites like Hotwire you know that the star rating is extremely important, as the rating, price and location is the only information you have beforehand. Btw, Hotwire didn't do anything for us except issue lame apoligies -- I will never use Hotwire ever again. The hotel staff did replace the bed sheets after we complained, which was nice. Also the breakfast was actually quite decent.



  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank e90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

No worries. We were a little apprehensive about booking one of the "budget hotels" (such as they are on the Maui economy - this ran us $175 a night for the Ocean View room), but it was a wonderful experience.

The worst things I can say are that the building doesn't have an elevator (No biggy unless you have mobility problems), it does show its age a little in the hallways, and that the shower fixtures looked old and cheap.

As you may have read elsewhere, this is an older (I'd guess '60s)three story building on the grounds of a really lush, swanky modern resort that charges close to double the price for it's other rooms. The grounds are simply beautiful, everywhere you look. The employees treated us cheapskates in the old building just as courteously and respectfully as the folks staying elsewhere on the property. The porter really worked his butt off running our bags up to the third floor.

Other than the older style, the room itself was clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. The furniture appeared fairly new. The bed was comfortable. The shower water was hot and plentiful. And the room was spacious. In-room fridge and safe at no extra charge. Nice balcony.

Definitely do a Mapquest to get directions, especially if you'll be arriving after dark. And absolutely, positively pay the extra $25 per night for the ocean view. We had a beautiful view of garden, beach, water and Molokai across the water. The non-view rooms get to look at a fence, and a bunch of folding chairs and tables where they bring people in for nightly luaus.

I'm sure the guide books rate this as a two star place because of its age. It's fine. I'm giving it four stars because the quality or our experience was excellent and I reserve five stars for places that are exquisite in every way. It's not quite that, but we'd come back in a heartbeat. Very satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 66Champs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2007

For $175 a night the Kaanapali Ocean Inn was just ok. Everyday I called the front desk @ Royal Lahaina because none of our keys would open the door properly. After 3 days of fighting with it, I was glad to be on my way to Oahu. This is owned by The Royal Lahaina and everything is very expensive. We ate next door at the Castaway Cafe which sits on the Maui Kaanapali Villas property. A very nice condo which is where I will stay at next time. Everyone we talked to loved it there. Very frendly people work there and food and beverages are alot cheaper. A tropical drink is $2 less for example. Visit the village of LaHaina down by the boat harbor and do some shopping. You can also buy a boat tour to do some whale watching. The whales are in Hawaii January-March to give birth. Alot of shops and eating is good there also. The road to Hana was alot of winding roads and is pretty but the road was closed coming around the other side so we had to go back the same way. My teenage kids were both car sick. I would check on the roads first before you drive it. Allow yourself extra driving time from Kahului airport to the Kaanapoli Beach are. Traffic gets pretty heavy. Otherwise Maui has beautiful golf courses.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Itzabitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: オーシャンフロントがおすすめです。できれば3階をリクエストすると良いと思います。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank シェーちゃん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Unbedingt "Ocean-Front" Zimmer im ersten oder zweiten Stock nehmen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolf_Gabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.1 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
14.5 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,083 reviews
4.5 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
4.3 mi away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#23 of 32 in Lahaina
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Address: 2780A Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1927
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £111 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaanapali Ocean Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kaanapali Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Ocean Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing