We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Dump” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

Although I expected an old, run down, not updated or maintained property, it exceeded (negatively) my expectations. Maid service was inconsistent, wifi in the main resort unreliable, the front desk not helpful, the guest laundry "closed for renovation", Don the Beachcomber not open, the Barefoot Bar not open, etc. In short the Royal Lahaina Resort (of which the Kaanapali is a part) looked like they were cutting every corner possible. There must be at least a thousand better places on Maui to stay. Oh, and as for their Luau, very tacky!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRHDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    63
    39
    37
    28
See reviews for
38
95
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

If you want to experiance the flavor of the island - this is the place - from the "welcome home" as you enter to Ahola every time you see someone - visited to give my daughter away in a beach front wedding - what you didn't have in furnishings you more than made up with in service and welcome - I happen to work as an EC member at a 4 diamond resort in Puerto Rico and would love to have your staff. Simple, welcoming, and sincere - what else do you need -

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiancraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

We stayed at the Kaanapali Ocean Inn (which is on the Royal Lahaina property) for only 3 nights but it was absolutely amazing! To start it only costs 10 per night to park versus $25 and up when you stay on Oahu. Our room over looked the garden and was very nice for the price (I am an agent so I paid about $70 a night but there are always great specials). The staff was on top of making sure our room was clean and we always had towels. The property has a nice restaurant overlooking the pool & ocean where we enjoyed a wonderful, moderately priced dinner (I had a 4oz filet with risotto) for about $16 while the live entertainment played for only a few tables. It was very nice and romantic. The stretch of beach this property is on is just absolute Heaven! Miles of beach over looking Lanai & Molokai and the water is 3 colors of blue. Perfect for swimming & snorkeling. Where the water meets the sky is a white light that looks like Heaven... Maui is amazing and I would absolutely reccommend anyone to stay on this property or anywhere on Kaanapali Beach. The only small issue was with the room... we could have used a microwave and maybe some comfortable pillows but you get what you pay for ;-) all in all it was fantastic for us and would say its very suitable for all ages!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed at the hotel from October 19 - 26, 2010. Upon arrival we were upgraded from Garden View to Ocean Front (this was our anniversary). The location was excellent. Having access to all the resort amenities was great. We had buffet breakfast twice and it was very filling and a lot of choices. We also enjoyed dinner while watching sunset. The beach was never crowded. First three nights we stayed out on the beach until 1am and enjoyed swimming in warm water. Weather was great during our stay. It rained for about an hour and for us it was nothing (we are from Vancouver, BC).
The housekeeping was great. I just feel sorry for them cleaning all the sand, since we are so close to the beach.
We're checking flights for our stay in September 2011, this time for 10 days as it was hard to leave from such a beautiful and peaceful place.
Thank you for your hospitality.
Kashka
PS. Elenore we'll see you in September

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashka70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

This place is a throw back from the 50s and I don't think it has been updated since then. Close, real close to the beach but there is no way this place should qualify as a two stars. Motel 6 is a upgrade. Sad, because the first impression one gets from the security guard and the front desk is very positive and welcoming but then you have to go your room at some point. There weren't any bugs but the bathroom was a little scary and the particle board cabinets were falling apart.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galapagos_hombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

Hiawatha, IA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

We did a lot of research before booking this hotel. We were told the decor was outdated, but the hotel was clean and the staff friendly. That is correct! I travel a lot for business and gross out easily when it comes to hotel rooms. I didn't have any freak out moments the entire week :) My husband and I loved that the beach was just steps away and we had access to all of the resort amenities. We took one of the free pilates classes offered. It was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeLuIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

This hotel would be the greates if renovated and with new housekeeping staff. The room was spacious but very used. A lot of things needs to be renovated here. If renovated, the hotel would be very very nice!!! But what the hotel requires even more is to fire the present housekeeping staff - they are really bad at doing their job. Really bad. Our room had not been vacuum cleaned properly for a very long time when we got there (e.g. behind the TV) and the hallway did not look clean at all.
The staff at the front desk was, however, great! Very nice and very helpful. And they are honest with you (about what to do in Hawaii and how to do it not in the mos expensive way).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OP255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.0 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
4.5 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
14.6 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Property: Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Address: 2780A Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1927
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaanapali Ocean Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaanapali Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Ocean Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing