We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location & comfortable B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Castro Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good location & comfortable B&B”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We just spent 3 days at Garden Gate B&B before Thanksgiving.

This was our first trip to Hawaii. I was not sure which kind of lodging we should get. Usually I don't like big resort, I prefer B&B, with more local contact, while traveling in Europe, finally I decided to split our 6 days vacation into 2: 3 days in a B&B and another 3 days in a big resort (recommended by many co-workers). I booked Garden Gate B&B trough booking.com.

We were very pleased our stay at Garden Gate. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Jeri helped us to book a dive lesson for my son at near by Sheraton. It's very convenient to have snockel gear beach towels available.

Only suggestion is for the breakfast, if the breakfast can be a little bit better, than it would be a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celine z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    52
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
18
126
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We spent a week at Geri and Steve's B&B in Lahaina and were thoroughly delighted with our choice. From the moment we arrived we were warmly greeted and shown to our suite overlooking the ocean and surrounded by luscious gardens. Our room was large and had a great ensuite with a jacuzzi and his and hers sinks. There is a lot to do in Maui and we were a bit overwhelmed with the choices but Geri helped us to sort out the most worthwhile activities and made all the arrangements on our behalf. We couldn't have asked for more. Everything we wanted to do in Lahaina was easy to get to from Garden Gate and we looked forward to returning at the end of each day to the quiet tranquility of our veranda for a cool drink and to watch the sun set behind the mountains. Breakfasts of fresh fruit, pastries, POG, coffee, tea etc. was served each morning under the shade of the tropical plants. We had done extensive travelling over the past three months and have to say that Garden Gate is one of the places we would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean View and would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The only sad part is leaving....you are welcomed so warmly, the room we had, the Garden Studio, had its own lanai with comfy seating. The kitchenette was helpful esp. travelling with a 3.5 y.o. (who eats constantly); the continental breakfast was a DELIGHT! Lovely, lovely eating area provided an oppty to meet other international travelers over a healthy and fancy breakfast. The coffee, soooo good! The pastries from a local shop - delicious! All under a canopy, outside, light breeze and just barely 78. It IS a gem and can't beleive it's in the middle of a residential area....and SO quiet, except for the exotic birds you hear. I did hear the Sugar Cane Train choo choo by, which was almost muted. OH, and PERFECT location! Directly across the street from the stop sign at bottom of street, is a park/beach. The B & B is literally a 5 min. drive between Whalers Village and Front St. Lahaina....you cannot go wrong with this location! ALSO: bonus - they provided beach accessories - chairs, noodles, snorkle gear, beach mats, coolers, AND towels! God Bless Steve & Jeri!!! Mahalo for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Garden Studio has a King size bed with a fold out sofa, which was SO comfortable. This could easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bzmaletic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Even prior to my arrival I had already felt very much "at home" and thrilled that I was staying with a fellow "foodie" in Jeri! I had one week at the Garden Gate B&B in the Lanai Ocean View Suite and it was just perfect! My stay coincided with Farid and Andreas, so breakfasts were delightful, as you were meeting other guests from all over the world and swapping information of trips and things to see and do. Jeri and Steve are your consummate hosts; nothing was ever too much trouble and they are a wealth of knowledge. The guesthouse was very clean and tidy and my Lanai Suite was very comfortable - waking up to that ocean view was very special. If you are looking for that personalised service I can highly recommend the Garden Gate B&B.

Room Tip: Go the Lanai Ocean View Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I just finished a week (Oct 20-28th) with Jeri and Steve at the Garden Gate and it was a wonderful experience. The property is stunning, comfortable, and with all the amenities one needs, without the crowds. The breakfasts were a delight- beautiful fresh fruits, delicious baked goods from a local spot, tasty juice, granola, boiled eggs, yogurt and and fresh coffee. Starting your days with this spread on a beautiful lanai is a real treatwe will surely miss. We stayed in the Garden Suite, a very spacious and comfortable room. Far and away the highlight of this stay was the hospitality extended by Jeri and Steve. They were both warm, friendly, eager to share their intimate knowledge of the area, Maui and the Hawaiian Islands in general, but also very respectful of our privacy. Andrea and I both recommend this spot if you are fortunate enough to make it to Lahaina. The Garden Gate pooches, Coco and Nicky were a real treat and Randy the gardener was a great person to meet and chat with as well. All around great place we hope to see again. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast in Lahaina, Maui. It was a beautiful setting with very private rooms and a charming garden. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and offered recommendations for food and activities that were both very enjoyable. We were upgraded from a standard room to a beautiful, spacious studio because of a cancellation, at no extra cost. I highly recommend this accomodation for its location (off the main drag but still close to all the attractions), its affordability, its charm and its owners. Overall a very satisfying experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erica g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Steve and his wife Jeri are very friendly and helpful. We got a great price and our room was clean, updated and had everything we needed. We had an upstairs room and a deck/porch where the view was stellar. The B and B is tucked away in a residential area where you will find peace and quiet, yet a short drive to local attractions, restaurants, beaches, etc... No you are not ON the beach, but close enough. They loaned us an ice chest to use for our picnics, free of charge....how nice! Jeri printed our boarding passes for us which was one less thing we had to worry about as we were island hopping and when we had to go home. Breakfasts consisted of bagels, muffins, hard-boiled eggs, fresh, delicious pineapple, strawberries, papaya, grapes,coffee, juice, yogurt. We enjoyed breakfast with other couples from all over the world. (We were there for 8 nights.) If we are ever lucky enough to return to Maui, we would stay here again. We think it was a great value. Thank you Garden Gate!

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs room if you want an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.9 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,078 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.9 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
405 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
#6 of 11 in Lahaina
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 67 Kaniau Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1836
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui B&B features the Lanai room with a private deck and panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing