We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our room on the 2nd floor, above the house, had a very nice deck and view. The Continental breakfast of fruit, yogurt and light pastries was really fresh and good. Just a little ways out of Lahaina, we were sorry they didn't have any more than the one night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aloharitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    52
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
18
126
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St Francis, Wisconin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Steve & Jerri were great, we stayed 15 days-12-22-2011 to 1-6-2012. Always pleased with our stay. Plan to go back again with our kids and grandkids. We have always stayed in the room with the full kitchen-do most of our cooking onsite.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I stayed with Steve and Jerri for five nights around new years and we absolutely loved it. It was our first stay in a B&B and we were pleasantly surprised. It really felt like we were staying at a nice home. The pooches are great, the breakfasts are outstanding. The rooms are clean and provide everything you need but if you're not springing for one of the larger rooms, expect a tight squeeze. Of course, you're in Hawaii, so you really shouldn't be spending too much time in the room anyway. The location is great as well, a couple of blocks off of front street and all of the shopping and dining options. It also offers easy access to (and it's lovely beaches) to the south and to Napili (and it's lovely golf courses) to the north. We're already planning our return trip.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoulderLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This b & b is tucked away in a quiet part of lahaina away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist strip. Friendly hosts who are very helpful and informative with plenty of suggestions of places to eat at and see. The continental breakfast was quiet good and served in a terrific outdoor setting. Our room (Ginger) was the smallest and cheapest available and was much like a small hotel room. It was however well presented and cosy.
Overall we enjoyed our experience here and would happily recommend this b & b to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thommo_Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We dropt in very desperate, cause it's not easy to find a cosy, good value and nice furnitured B & B when you havn't book in advance.It's located near the nice Town Lahaina on the sunny side of maui life. Your hosts Jeri & Steve can read your mind in your needs & wishes and make your stay a rembering one, thanks for all Claudia & Tim from Germany (Berlin)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superhenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We just spent 3 days at Garden Gate B&B before Thanksgiving.

This was our first trip to Hawaii. I was not sure which kind of lodging we should get. Usually I don't like big resort, I prefer B&B, with more local contact, while traveling in Europe, finally I decided to split our 6 days vacation into 2: 3 days in a B&B and another 3 days in a big resort (recommended by many co-workers). I booked Garden Gate B&B trough booking.com.

We were very pleased our stay at Garden Gate. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Jeri helped us to book a dive lesson for my son at near by Sheraton. It's very convenient to have snockel gear beach towels available.

Only suggestion is for the breakfast, if the breakfast can be a little bit better, than it would be a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celine z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We spent a week at Geri and Steve's B&B in Lahaina and were thoroughly delighted with our choice. From the moment we arrived we were warmly greeted and shown to our suite overlooking the ocean and surrounded by luscious gardens. Our room was large and had a great ensuite with a jacuzzi and his and hers sinks. There is a lot to do in Maui and we were a bit overwhelmed with the choices but Geri helped us to sort out the most worthwhile activities and made all the arrangements on our behalf. We couldn't have asked for more. Everything we wanted to do in Lahaina was easy to get to from Garden Gate and we looked forward to returning at the end of each day to the quiet tranquility of our veranda for a cool drink and to watch the sun set behind the mountains. Breakfasts of fresh fruit, pastries, POG, coffee, tea etc. was served each morning under the shade of the tropical plants. We had done extensive travelling over the past three months and have to say that Garden Gate is one of the places we would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean View and would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.9 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 67 Kaniau Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1836
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui B&B features the Lanai room with a private deck and panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing