We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckshutem
1 review
“Wonderful hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

A beautiful place and excellent hosts. Would definitely go back and highly recommend! Old Town Lahaina is fun and the Road to Hana is exciting, especially on a Harley. Definitely do some snorkeling at Molokini.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    52
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
18
125
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Thank you so much Jeri and Steve for a wonderful stay at the Garden Gate. This was our first time- referred by a friend- and we are for sure coming back next year! Great location, super clean, beautiful property with lots of fragrant plumerias and flowers, lovely breakfast, quiet, plus everything you need to enjoy Maui! We literally fell in love with this spot. Jeri and Steve are the best host and are always making sure you've got everything you need. Highly recommend!! Thank you!

Room Tip: if you can afford it the lanai room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eve marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Me and my friends planned to stay at this place for three night but extended it for additional two nights since we enjoyed it so much. The place ist just beautiful. Nice big rooms, excellent Service, good breakfast, very clean and super comfortable. The Location is great and the host very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Thanks again to Steve and Jeri for another wonderful stay at the Garden Gate. This was our 3rd year in a row staying at the GG and as always, it was fantastic. It has become a home away from home. Can't beat the location, cleanliness, local knowledge from Steve and Jeri, and the grounds. Steve and Jeri are super friendly and always happy to share their experiences and guidance. Breakfast's are very good, especially the fresh pastries picked up every morning. Thanks again Steve, Jeri and off course the mascot of the joint, Coco.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed just 3 nights, but it was a very nice stay. Jeri and Steve are very friendly hosts. On my second day, Jeri prepared a healthy and tasty breakfast bag for me as I would drive the famous "road to Hana" that day. More than once they offered to take me to the city. In every situation they were very helpful.
You must know you are in a B&B and not in a resort, so accommodations are nice but not luxurious. It is really like being home away from home.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank VGS_Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is in a great location in Lahaina. The owners were exceptional hosts, very friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. They helped get us around the island and reserved a few tours for us as well. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, with all the comforts of home. Can't say enough about the owners or thank them enough for all their hospitality. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone on a budget or wanting the feel of home instead of the bustle of commercial, expensive hotels. Through this place you will truly understand Hawaiian hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodhisottva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My stay at this B & B was great...Great view from our rooms facing the ocean, spacious, clean, comfortable with mini-fridge for drinks. Friendly staff, ask Steve the owner for snorkeling spots, beaches and things to do, he knows!!! They even supply beach chairs, towels, umbrella and coolers for your perfect day at the beach! Continental breakfast on the patio every morning looking at the ocean, What a nice place to stay, by far the best bang for your buck in Lahaina!!! The almost perfect come from the fact that I usually enjoy my happy hour time by the pool after a beach day with an Ice cold beer but Garden Gate has no pool...That said, it's the only thing I can say that didn't cut it for me. Last but not least if you are some high maintenance people looking for high end luxury, this is not your place. If you are the average joe looking for a nice place to stay and have fun away from the big resorts crowd, this is definitely your spot in Lahaina!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.9 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 67 Kaniau Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1836
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui B&B features the Lanai room with a private deck and panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing