We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui great location and style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Garden gate is a few blocks from the coast of Maui in the charming port of Lahaina. From here we could easily travel to every part of the island. The house has many room selections..some with a view, all attached bath. The house is painted a cheerful tropical coral color. The breakfast was plentiful with fruits, yogurt, granola, eggs, and pastries or bagels. Of course coffee too. It was served in a lush private patio area away from the neighborhood. A great way to meet others staying as well.
Our hostess Jeri, was welcoming and helpful providing an early packed breakfast the day we drove the Road to Hana. She also provided a map and CD with instructions for a great experience. Also lots of parking, one spot for each room, and complimentary beach chairs and blog is board's. We would visit again.

Room Tip: Our standard room did not have much visit we knew that when we booked. Don't be afraid of the st...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gumdrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I stayed with Steve and Jeri for 3 nights in November 2013. Our stay was lovely, despite the bad weather. Even Steve commented on how bad the weather was, and how unusual. Steve gave us wonderful recommendations for beaches, hikes and restaurants (check out Hanu-fabulous). We had the downstairs studio, with a private deck (couldn't use because of the rain) and a covered porch (thankfully!) as well as a huge apartment like room; full kitchen, huge bathroom, full sized living room, all of which was clean and well decorated. The breakfasts were wonderful, taking place outside on the covered lanai. The location is a bit odd-it's smack dab in the middle of a development and not within walking distance to town. But no biggie. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: although it does not have an ocean view, the king suite on the first floor is huge with every amenit...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jellicoesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed three nights. Jerri and Steve are the perfect hosts for a B &B! Jeri provided us with a lovely breakfast and some local advice.
The best is the recipe for her Mango Bread which she graciously gave me a copy. Plus, a loaf to go!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chisyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

we two stay here for 2 nights, it's our first time in hawaii.
the owner Steve and his family had been really really kind and helpful to us.
we are so thankful to meet them in Maui.
the room is lovely, cozy, and clean, especially the upper room.
Breakfast is nice!
we enjoyed Steve's hospitality in here, and we definitely would choose this b&B AGAIN when coming back to Maui! --Rosie

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed here 1 night, but would have happily stayed longer, as it was great however was booked up. I managed to get the room last minute, as we are traveling, so didn't have anything planned. We were greeted by Jeri, She was very helpful with advice on local bits and bobs to do and also about trips to the other islands. Breakfast is included but we were checking out really early in the morning to do whale watching, this was not a problem at all. Jeri packed us up a breakfast to go and left it in the fridge. I was well impressed as normally if you can't make breakfast its just 'oh well'. Bed was so comfy and rooms were well presented. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicNak89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My Husband and I stayed at Garden Gate for our honeymoon in November and it was amazing! We had the cutest little room with a balcony over looking the ocean! Our room was spacious, private and very well kept. Our bed was so comfortable it was hard to wake up every morning! The owners Steve & Jeri were amazing and honestly made our trip! (and we can't forget their adorable dog coco!) Every morning Steve was at breakfast mingling with his guests and giving us advice and suggestions on what to do/where to eat and we always took them and were never disappointed :)! My husband and I did not rent a car so Steve would drop us off in town and even encouraged us to rent a car for a few days and had a discount! We honestly had the most amazing time and cant thank Steve & Jeri enough for their amazing hospitality! This was a trip we will remember forever and hopefully can return! We definitely know where we will be staying when we return! Thank you again Steve & Jeri!!!

Room Tip: Lanai Room!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kacee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A beautiful place and excellent hosts. Would definitely go back and highly recommend! Old Town Lahaina is fun and the Road to Hana is exciting, especially on a Harley. Definitely do some snorkeling at Molokini.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.9 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#3 of 11 in Lahaina
406 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
#6 of 11 in Lahaina
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 67 Kaniau Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1836
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range: £48 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui B&B features the Lanai room with a private deck and panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing