We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Garden Gate. Location is excellent. Midway between Lahaina and ka'anpali. Rooms are clean. Bathrooms have clearly been updated. We decided on a B&B to save some of our hotel budget for luxury accommodations in Weilea and it worked out beautifully

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TedinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    52
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
18
126
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Staff was great-the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a treat!-especially the homemade breads and all the fresh fruit. We had EVERY little thing we needed including tips on restaurants, beaches, and shopping. We loved it.

Room Tip: Climbing a few stairs is def worth the breeze and the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KikiB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Good location close in between Lahaina and kaanapali areas. Very short drive either way.
Jeri was very pleasant to deal with. She had corresponded with us over email and phone and got back to us quite quickly. She also gave us some great suggestions for what to do around Maui. Her banana bread is amazing and true to what the other reviewers have said! She packed us up a nice breakfast for our early morning drive to Haleakala and for road to Hana.
Housekeeping was ok there were tiny little beetles around the edges of the room but I guess it's hard to keep them all out. Room was comfortable but the bed was a bit too firm for my personal preference. We stayed in the island view room. Great view! Huge old tv and older decor was the only downfall but it felt very homey.
I was told by Bill that Jeri doesn't live there anymore she is def the one you want to be dealing with so make sure you catch her while she is there in the morning if you need anything or have any questions!
Makes it an affordable option on ur stay while on maui tho. I would go back and stay there again. (As long as Jeri is there!)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This B & B is situated in West Maui, on the north side of Lahaina, only minutes from town or to the resort beaches at Kaanapali. The coral-colored building with lush green landscape makes for a delightful place to eat a delicious breakfast with homemade granola, yogurt, hardboiled egg, homemade mango bread, other sweetbreads, and fresh fruits. Jeri, our hostess, was welcoming and helpful with advice for activities and sights to see. Beach towels, boogie boards, beach chairs, and other beach things were available to borrow. She even loans a CD for the drive to Hana.
We had been told by friends at home that the drive from the airport would take more than an hour to Lahaina, but it never took us more than 40 minutes.
It's a quiet and peaceful setting. We had enjoyable breakfast chats with couples from various states in the US and from European countries who have discovered this lovely place to stay.
We highly recommend you stay at Garden Gate on your next trip to Maui.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Historybuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just a great place/ Steve and Jeri were great. Would definitely recommend this place to
friends and family. Very Very Happy !! We would go there again. They gave us great
advise on what areas we could check out . Jeri made home made delicious mango bread and gave me the recipe .

Room Tip: top floor with the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a clean & very charming home with fabulous views from the upper floor. We only stayed one night, but I would have loved to have stayed longer. The hosts are gracious and kind and you can tell they love their home. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. And Coco (adorable pup) and the kitty made it feel like a true home away from home. It's nice to be so close to Lahaina town, yet not in the midst of the hustle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Jeri helped us with reservations for dinner, recommendations on activities and restaurants months before and during our stay in Lahaina. She prepared breakfast to go for us on the day we left by 6:30AM on the road to Hana. Very generously, she also kept our luggage safe, such that we were able to take only the essentials to Hana, where we camped outdoors for a few days. She provided us with beach towels and snorkeling equipment as well as beach chairs and umbrellas free of charge and also allowed my daughter to take with her a novel she picked up at the B&B. The rooms were clean and modern. While she is not often physically around during the day, she is readily reachable on her cell phone. We definitely plan to return when back in Maui!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.9 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 67 Kaniau Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1836
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui B&B features the Lanai room with a private deck and panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing