We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Garden Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Gate Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our 1st trip to Maui. We spent a week here. It's about 45 minutes from the airport. Our room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was excellent. Jeri our morning hostess was very pleasant and helpful. Since we had a very early flight, she put together a breakfast for us to take with. My only complaint would be not serving breakfast on Sundays (which is known at time of booking) . This is a hotel after all and if breakfast is to be provided then it should be 7 days a week. Other than that I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hausl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked last minute but they were beyond accommodating. Never been to Hawaii and they told us exactly where to go and what to see. Super clean rooms and incredible view. The taxi service they have is very fast and fair. Overall incredible place.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsucoug72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Garden Gate. Location is excellent. Midway between Lahaina and ka'anpali. Rooms are clean. Bathrooms have clearly been updated. We decided on a B&B to save some of our hotel budget for luxury accommodations in Weilea and it worked out beautifully

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TedinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Staff was great-the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a treat!-especially the homemade breads and all the fresh fruit. We had EVERY little thing we needed including tips on restaurants, beaches, and shopping. We loved it.

Room Tip: Climbing a few stairs is def worth the breeze and the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KikiB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Good location close in between Lahaina and kaanapali areas. Very short drive either way.
Jeri was very pleasant to deal with. She had corresponded with us over email and phone and got back to us quite quickly. She also gave us some great suggestions for what to do around Maui. Her banana bread is amazing and true to what the other reviewers have said! She packed us up a nice breakfast for our early morning drive to Haleakala and for road to Hana.
Housekeeping was ok there were tiny little beetles around the edges of the room but I guess it's hard to keep them all out. Room was comfortable but the bed was a bit too firm for my personal preference. We stayed in the island view room. Great view! Huge old tv and older decor was the only downfall but it felt very homey.
I was told by Bill that Jeri doesn't live there anymore she is def the one you want to be dealing with so make sure you catch her while she is there in the morning if you need anything or have any questions!
Makes it an affordable option on ur stay while on maui tho. I would go back and stay there again. (As long as Jeri is there!)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Kim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This B & B is situated in West Maui, on the north side of Lahaina, only minutes from town or to the resort beaches at Kaanapali. The coral-colored building with lush green landscape makes for a delightful place to eat a delicious breakfast with homemade granola, yogurt, hardboiled egg, homemade mango bread, other sweetbreads, and fresh fruits. Jeri, our hostess, was welcoming and helpful with advice for activities and sights to see. Beach towels, boogie boards, beach chairs, and other beach things were available to borrow. She even loans a CD for the drive to Hana.
We had been told by friends at home that the drive from the airport would take more than an hour to Lahaina, but it never took us more than 40 minutes.
It's a quiet and peaceful setting. We had enjoyable breakfast chats with couples from various states in the US and from European countries who have discovered this lovely place to stay.
We highly recommend you stay at Garden Gate on your next trip to Maui.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 2Historybuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just a great place/ Steve and Jeri were great. Would definitely recommend this place to
friends and family. Very Very Happy !! We would go there again. They gave us great
advise on what areas we could check out . Jeri made home made delicious mango bread and gave me the recipe .

Room Tip: top floor with the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
19.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
#4 of 11 in Lahaina
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
472 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#3 of 11 in Lahaina
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Inn

Address: 67 Kaniau Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1836 (Formerly Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range: £48 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Gate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Garden Oasis offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui home features decks with panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing