We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very suitable”
Review of Hono Koa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hono Koa
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness and comfort of our first floor unit. It has a well stocked kitchen, a lovely lanai where we ate most of our meals when dining in and two great decks overlooking the ocean. It is so spacious that two couples easily have their privacy. It was also very helpful to have use of the Sands of Kahana on our move out day which allows to extend and enjoy the beach and then the shower facilities. I found a great gym next door and signed up for their yoga class. Awesome!

Room Tip: Initially we hoped for a higher floor given past reviews but we grew to love our unit second from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank deandebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dloera, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Thank you for staying at Hono Koa. We appreciate your visit and kind review. Your pleasure is our pleasure, and we are always happy to know when we provide a satisfying vacation experience. We have three two-bedroom floor plans to choose from, including our deluxe 1,419-square foot suite that provides plenty of privacy. The lanais are a great place to relax and look out over the ocean. We’re glad you enjoyed the view. Once again, thank you for visiting Hono Koa. We appreciate your generous comments and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

just got back fr a week at hono koa. it was a nice place for our large group. the concierge Darlynn was helpful in booking several trips for us. Only problem was someone was not there daily. and the woman behind the desk , darnette? was very nice. there was no air conditioning, but that was NOT a problem. the breeze was almost constant. it was perfect. the size was nice, but it was a little old. there was no direct beach access,but stairs leading to the ocean where we saw about 6 sea turtles daily. we didn't spend much time in the hotel, and it was in a good location, so we really did enjoy our stay there. it would have been nice if it was a bit more modern though. At least our countertops were upgraded, and they had nice TVs. Overall, it was a good place to stay in a good location. i would recommend it. they also have a room downstairs with a bunch of stuff you cn borrow: umbrellas, chairs, toys, boogie boards, etc... Great!

Room Tip: ask for a complete ocean view. Ours was partial view. Corner rooms are awesome with extra storage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank GlobeTrotter04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at the Hono Koa for a week in July. It is located just north of most of the major resorts in Lahaina. We had 4 adults and two children in our group. We all fit very comfortably in the 2 bedroom condo. This is not a fancy resort by any means, but it is adequate. We prepared many meals in the kitchen and cooked on the grills by the pool. The pool isn't huge, but it is nice. The property is on the water and when the tide is right you can actually take steps down to a little strip of sand. It's probably not big enough to sit out on, but if you like to snorkel, it's adequate. My husband went out there for an hour and saw 100's of sea turtles the size of cows. Another positive aspect of this small property is that it is very easy to park and get to your condo. When the office is open, they also have a room where you can borrow beach umbrellas, chairs and boogie boards for the day.

Now for the cons:

No air conditioning. It can get very stuffy. Make sure you get a condo on the upper floors so you feel comfortable leaving your back windows open at night. There are signs everywhere warning of theft, so we never felt comfortable leaving our front windows open, so it got hot in the front bedroom.

The maid service was lacking. They came once during the week, as expected, however, the only replenished the towels in one bathroom and didn't make the bed in one bedroom.

If you want to go to the beach you have to drive. We loved going to the beach by the Sheraton. It was a little difficult to find parking, but definitely doable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bound4NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Just spent a relaxing week with a friend here. Always able to secure a lounge chair by the clean pool [small but not many users; always a close-by parking space. No sandy beach, but there is a deck over the water and sandy beaches nearby. [All beaches are public and provide access.] There are just 27 units. All have 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. This is not a high-end resort... no snack bar, gift shop, water slide or poolside bar, But you are not paying the $$$ those add to your cost. Pool toys [kickboards, noodles, etc.] and beach mats can be borrowed for free from the office. I found staff to be very friendly and helpful. Everything you could want in the kitchen including full-size fridge, cooktop/oven, dishwasher; even an icemaker and blender for Margaritas on your lanai, from which you may see breaching whales or turtles, depending on the time of year. Appreciated having a washer/dryer [detergent provided] in the unit so we could pack less. The lack of AC would be an issue in hot July and August. In May, the breezes and fans kept us comfortable. I have been here several times and have stayed at other places. I always come back to Hono Koa.

Room Tip: Request 3rd-4th floor unit closer to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jill280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

If you're spending your presious time and hard earned money in Maui, choose a resort that won't disappoint you. Hona Koa is not it. This is an old condo style building with limited grounds and tiny pool area. On our recent stay we were kicked out of the parkling lot for 2 days while it was re-paved. The staff did not provide an alternative parking option until asked. We were instructed to park at the resort next door, which could not accomodate all the guests. So we parked on the street where the paving contractors parked. We got a ticket, the paving contractors didn't. We asked the Hona Koa management for assistance and refused any help whatsoever. Quit rudely in fact.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gotravin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dloera, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

We apologize our paving project caused an inconvenience. It was necessary to the maintenance of our resort and occurs only every five or so years. We’re sorry it happened during your stay with us. We did our best to inform guests of the disruption, posting notices on doors in advance. The notices identified alternate parking area options, which the majority of our guests deemed sufficient. Our records indicate you requested us to pay your county-issued parking ticket. Unfortunately, since we outlined appropriate alternate parking options and your car was parked in a no-parking zone, we were unable to assume that cost. We are sorry you took this as unhelpful, and apologize once again for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I loved going to Maui and am anxiously awaiting my next trip there. Hopefully I will be able to get a suite at this resort again. I like smaller places and appreciated having no one try to sell me anything! From the Lanai I could see nothing but the immediate property and then the vast ocean. The lanai was large enough to take a nap on the lounge chair and just enjoy being away from the business of mainland activties. I suggest you get any room available at this resort above the 1st floor, even Maui has some bad people and on the 1st floor, keeping your window open at night could be dangerous.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank robwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Hona Koa is a nice quite resort perfect for Families and people looking to relax. The pool is small, but was never busy and all the rooms have a oceanview from the balcony. The place was just big enough for the 6 of us (4 adults, 2 children). The rooms have been recently updated and have a washer/dryer in the unit which is very helpful when traveling with children. There is no beach access (they even closed the stairs someone mention in an earlier review), but there is a great beach and park within walking distance. There is also some shops and markets nearby to walk to, but that is about it.

The only thing we did not like is that the railing on the balcony had a large gap that little legs can slip through and get hurt.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jconnors222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.7 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,605 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#22 of 43 in Lahaina
149 reviews
19.6 mi away
Maui Beach Vacation Club
23.0 mi away
Maui Banyan Vacation Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hono Koa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hono Koa

Address: 3801 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: £204 - £502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hono Koa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hono Koa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hono Koa Hotel Lahaina
Hono Koa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing