We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, however...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hono Koa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hono Koa
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value, however...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

The condo is very spacious, with two bedrooms, a living room, dining and full-service kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a washer/dryer. We thought we hit the jackpot with this very affordable condo. However, on our first day, we found a mouse running through the kitchen. Supposedly, this type of thing is "unavoidable and little can be done to prevent it" is what we were told. The staff set a trap and caught it, and then two days later caught another one! Couldn't believe it, this place was too good to be true. If it weren't for the mice, I would've given this place an "excellent" rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We apologize for the uninvited guests. According to our pest control technician, your stay unfortunately coincided with a minor varmint outbreak that impacted other properties in the area as well. Yours is our first reported sighting, and we have not had another since the incidents in question. Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope you will give us another opportunity to earn an excellent rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    27
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
50
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

These were good value for the money.The units were clean enough, well stocked, the hot tub was great- there was NO beach what so ever, but access tot he water for snorkeling. The water was choppy and a bit murky as there was a lot of wind, there were no fish or corals, but there were MANY turtles! We saw about 25 our first day here, right out front of the hotel, to the right- there is a spot where they congregate to eat. We weren't even in the water when we saw them, you can view it from the deck.

The building is very quiet, and we mostly had the pool and hot tub to ourselves. There is a grocery store within walking distance, and coffee shop ( It was GREAT coffee). The front office has puzzles and water toys to borrow, which was nice.

We were in a ground floor unit, with pool access. No View. If we had a water view, I would have given this five stars. If there was a beach to walk on or lat out on, I would have given this five stars. I'm not a huge fan of the Kahana area- this is our third week here, and we seem to get less sun, and there is less to do. We spent our second week in Kihei where we had an ocean view, a 4 mile walkable beach, and much better weather. but we did enjoy our stay here,

The units have one bedroom facing the parking lot and one facing the pool/ocean- I happened to stay in the parking lot room, which meant we were woken up around 7:30 by people getting up, garbage trucks, etc. Not a big deal. The second bedroom also had two single beds, which were a bit short. My partners legs extended over the bottoms by quite a bit, and he didn't get a good sleep. If you are only using the master bedroom or you have kids you'll be fine, but I thought I should mention this.

Room Tip: The 01 units (101,201,301,401) are larger and have AMAZING views. We were in 105, which was outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Misty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for visiting Hono Koa, home of the sea tortoise. We are happy you found our accommodations and amenities satisfactory. We are able to accommodate room change requests based on availability and would have placed you in a more favorable location if were possible. Please note a room preference on your next reservation. We will do our best to get you in a room with an ocean view. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Had a great week. Felt like home. Grocery store, coffee shop near by. Easy parking. Basic pool, hotub and bbq to use. Can snorkle out front but a little choppy. Would go again! Can book some units on Expedia now!

Room Tip: Its a condo building there are really no services here. Make sure you rent a car. Full kitchen every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Beautiful room, very comfortable... Lots of provisions with a fully equipped kitchen. Pool and hot tub, washer/dryer & dishwasher. Great value for the price. Close to the beach and not far from Lahaina!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Aloha, Angela! Thank you for your generous review. We are happy you consider us a home away from home. It is our goal, first and foremost, to make your time with us as comfortable as possible. Our spacious two-bedroom suites range from 1,150 to more than 1400 square feet and, as you mentioned, come with numerous convenient amenities. Our proximity to Lahaina is an added bonus. We appreciate your comments and hope you will consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was our 4th trip to Maui and we stayed at resorts the past 3 times and I really wasn't sure how I would feel about staying at a condo. Well, it was wonderful. On most days, we had the pool to ourselves. This is so much nicer than being packed around the pool at a resort. The space was plenty big for the 4 of us and had everything we needed. The unit was clean and the property was well maintained. The neighborhood was great for walking and we found a great Sports Bar - Dollies - a mile away. The people we met were so friendly and the office staff were very nice. We will definitely stay here when we return in 5 years. If I had to list a drawback, the only thing I could say that was lacking and would be nice is a business center where you could use a printer to print out boarding passes, The gentleman in the office was too busy to do that for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Thank you for visiting Hono Koa. We are glad we could justify your decision to stay with us. Our spacious two-bedroom, two-bath units can comfortably accommodate four people. They range from 1,151 to 1,419 square feet and include a full kitchen. We take pride in the care and maintenance of our resort. Thank you for commenting on our efforts. It is good to hear our resort staff displayed plenty of Aloha spirit during your stay. We only wish you were coming back sooner. Five years is just too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Just returned from a great week at Hona Koa. This was our first time to Maui and we were looking forward to a relaxing time with a good view. When we arrived at 7:00 PM we picked up our key from the lockbox in front. Went to our room and were blown away. It was a huge 2 bedroom and very well stocked. There were ceiling fans throughout and screens on the doors. WIth the breeze, and the sounds of the ocean it made sleeping quite pleasant. In the morning our view was breath taking. we overlooked the pool and the ocean. There were turtles swimming all week within 15 feet of the beach deck. There was no real beach but you walked right down to the water. There were no rocks just sand and swimming here was awesome. There are several stores within walking distance, from supermarket, to convenience store. As well as several great and inexpensive eateries. On our first morning we chekced in with Jim, who was great. Added bonus of staying here was there was no sales pitch to buy a time share!

We went to the supermarket (they sell wine and liquor there as well) and stocked up. Spent the day exploring the island, came back for the first of 6 spectacular sunsets on the deck overlooking the ocean, as well as Molakai, and Lanai. Some days we had the deck to ourselves, and others there were others from the resort sitting to watch the suset as well. Everyone was nice and we had cocktails from our room which is always a bonus. Our room had an ample supply of plastic drinking glasses for poolside drinks, which was great. There are fruit trees all over the property and the pool deck was cleaned daily and never crowded. (in fact most times there were no more than 3 or 4 people there. The hot tub and pool were quite refreshing and we took full advantage of it. Only down side was it would be nice to have some umbrellas or other form of movable shade for the pool deck. They had several chairs with covers but some were broken.

This is not a multi activiity resort, and there are no frills. This worked out great for us, as we had no kids with us, if you come with small kids it will probably be boring for them, and there were really no other people with kids there either, which was also a bonus for us. Of course we were there in early October so I dont know how it is during the summer. We spoke to other people who were there, and who came yearly, they said the whales come in November and you can see them right off the beach. The smoker areas were far away from the pool deck and building so we never had an issue. Quiet hours were from 10 PM to 9 AM and we had no issues with noise. In fact you could not even hear any noise from any other units. There is no fitness center but we knew that. There is no AC, but we did not ever need it with the steady breeze. We did not use the daily maid service, but did enjoy the mid-week towel exchange. They provide ample beach towels as well as bath towels and the washer dryer was a great amenity. This allowed us to just pack carryon for the flight.

This resort is located just north of the major resorts, which in my opinion would be great to skip the traffic and crowds once you get up here, but again this was not high season. It is only a 5 minute drive to Lahaina and Kaanapali. There are several beach parks within a short distance both north and south of the resort, if you want to sit on the sand. We swam with the turtles just off the beach here a few times, with out having to go elsewhere, and people were snorkling here as well.

We had a great time there and will definately return.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean. We were in 302 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Obrien2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We have been to Maui six times now and have been hoping to exchange for this resort and finally did and did not regret it one bit. The condo was very big and well stock. Hono Koa is a smaller resort one the west side of Maui but for my wife and I that made are stay even better and would stay here again when ever we can. Jim in the check in office was a lot of help.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Makani Sands
Makani Sands
#24 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#17 of 42 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lokelani Condominiums
Lokelani Condominiums
#14 of 42 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#25 of 42 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#10 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands
Maui Sands
#23 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hono Koa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hono Koa

Property: Hono Koa
Address: 3801 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hono Koa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hono Koa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hono Koa Hotel Lahaina
Hono Koa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing