We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hawaiian Experience:)”
Review of Hono Koa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hono Koa
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Hawaiian Experience:)”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We didn't know what to expect and it turned out to be a real gem. First, this is a destination for the seasoned, Hawaiian traveler - for those of us who've done the lei greeting, swim up bar and had orchids strewn across our pillows. Now we just want to appreciate island living. Yes, this complex is situated among the, what I call "70's strip" along Lower Honoapiilani Rd., but don't let that fool you. It is extremely well maintained. The units are spacious. And the views are 'to die for'. We traveled with 2 teens and there was plenty of space for all four of us.

We were in unit #402, which was amazing. We opened the front door and there was a constant breeze blowing at all times. This resort has a strip of beach, probably about 15 ft. wide at low tide, but perfect for a private swim. My girls loved the fact that they could swim in the ocean away from lots of people. For several days, we had 2 or 3 turtles who regularly circled the waters out front. We watched the daily afternoon, misty rains of Molokai and thoroughly enjoyed the privacy.

We would absolutely revisit this resort! Here are my tips:

1. Fabulous location -- every morning we walked down to Bad A** Coffee and on M,W,Fri. at the farmer's market you can get fresh, bagels, fruit, etc.
2. The ABC store is just down the street as well - very convenient. Their prices aren't that different from the grocery store, also super close, so if you need just a couple things, go there instead.
3. Up the way in the Kahana Gateway Center, the Hawaiian Coffee Co., has the best smoothies - or so I've been told by my girls :)
4. Guests can check out beach gear for as long as they want so keep that in mind. Don't keep checking. If you want something, just go rent it. It may not show up all week.
5. There's a little gift shop jammed full of souvenirs right next to Bad A** Coffee. I saw some things in there that were selling at very high end boutiques in Makawao so don't feel like you're going cheap.
6. North Kaanapali beach is just south one exit. Snorkeling near the Westin is as good as any snorkeling venture minus the exhausting boat ride. Plus you can plop down on the beach in between swims!

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Aloha! We are delighted you had the perfect Hawaiian experience at Hono Koa. We are happy you found our property well maintained and our accommodations spacious, and that you enjoyed our proximity to the beach. Watching the sea turtles circle the waters must have been amazing! We appreciate the tips you have shared, along with the feedback you have provided. Your comments will help to ensure a pleasant experience for all guests. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    27
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
51
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked this place through Interval International and saw some less than glowing reviews and while the photos looked good, you never know until you arrive

directions were excellent and our Tom-Tom found the place no problem, but its not in Lahaina town, which fooled me at first, but the place was/is easy to find.

I can understand if you were expecting a 5 star resort, that you might be a little disappointed, but this place was pretty nice. our unit was right at the front and because we had the windows open all the time, there was some noticeable road noise. I guess the best location might be towards the back, but then you would get noise from the pool.

They have a nice pool and a hot tub and there is a stairway to the beach. The beach is small but I went snorkelling and saw some fish, but turtles every day I went.

The unit itself was well stocked

Location was great a short walk to a small market, which had a farmer's market on some mornings (not sure which days)

The staff was very friendly and best of all there is an Expedia concierge on site to help book activities. The Expedia lady was great and arranged our tours and activities, most of them below the cost we could book it ourselves. We like getting deals and I highly recommend tthe Expedia folks. She also had restaurant advice

While we didn't use them, the resort had things like beach mats and other things you could use ( I think it was an honour system, but because we didn't use them I'm not completely sure)

The beds were very comfortable (we had a king and the other bedroom had 2 singles)

Not the newest place, but far from run down.

Why not a % rating? Well if it had A/C, it would be perfect, but because there was always a nice breeze, the place was quite comfortable.

Overall, great location, extremely helpful staff and very comfortable place to stay

Room Tip: We were in 307 right on the end. You might to try something in middle, between 1&7 or ask for un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenji56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for exchanging into Hono Koa. We are happy our resort was easy to find. We are glad you were pleased with our condo-style accommodations, and that you enjoyed the pool and hot tub. It sounds like you had a great time exploring the beach and the surrounding area. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keystone Heights, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have owned my unit at the Hono Koa since 1989. The condo has about 30 units total on three floors and is older, but well kept. The units are large and comfortable for my family (three kids plus my wife and I). The staff is very helpful and the pool is never crowded. This is a very good choice as a relaxing, slower paced type of lodging. You need a car to get places, but you are close to everything in West Maui. The office has pool toys and other items to loan out for free. There used to be a way to walk down to the water's edge, but a deck has been built over the stairs that led down. It made me sad when they cut off our access to the ocean. Overall, I've spent about one out of every two years there, trading the off year for a vacation somewhere else.

Room Tip: For the best view of the ocean, try to get a unit on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Aloha! Thank you for continuing to spend your valuable vacation time with us here at Hono Koa. We truly value your ownership. We also greatly appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback. We are happy you find our accommodations large and comfortable, and our staff very helpful. Your comments about the surrounding area will be helpful for those planning a stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Hono Koa for two weeks in April, 2014. The resort was older (as most are in this area) however our unit had been updated with granite countertops and nice appliances. The room was super clean, and the office staff were very friendly and accommodating. The grounds and pool were kept in excellent condition, thanks to a very hard working maintenance crew. The resort is close to great beaches, restaurants and shopping areas.

Room Tip: All the rooms have identical furnishings and all have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hono Koa Resort. We are happy you were impressed with our newly renovated accommodations, and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My family absolutely loved this resort! Its not a huge fancy hotel but it has everything you need. The condo had updated granite tops and appliances and was very large inside. The pool is right outside your back door. Almost everything you need is supplied, from coffee (which was delicious) to soap, dishes, utensils etc. We saved a lot of money cooking in our room. There is a excellent market down the road, a coffee place is super close, a park within walking distance, Kapalua bay to snorkel and the list goes on. There is no beach which is ok. There are plenty close by!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We are thrilled your family loved Hono Koa. We are happy you had everything you needed during your stay, and that our location and condo-style accommodations were a convenience. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

nice place, great location. only complaint was the landscaping crew that would run the leafblower for what seemed like hours in the middle of the day. we have a 2 year old who desperately needs naps in the middle of the day and we like to nap ourselves while on vacation. well not a chance with the guy running the stupid blower all the time. we paid good money to stay here and were very disappointed with this. i would recommend the crew maybe switch to a broom instead of this obnoxious blower.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank seanhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Please accept our apology for the disturbance. We know how important it is for the little ones to get their afternoon nap. We schedule this particular landscaping task for midday ironically because it would interrupt the sleep of too many people in the morning. Brooms unfortunately are not a viable option. Once again, we apologize for the disturbance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Loved our stay in this resort. We have two kids-11 and 7. They both enjoyed swimming in the pool and the ocean front location. We enjoyed viewing whales from the balcony! The resort is well stocked with everything you need to enjoy your vacation. it is close to everything - Lahiana, Kapalua, Kaanapali, supermarket. JHM airport and car rentals! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the higher level with ocean front view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmaInUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We are thrilled you loved your stay at Hono Koa. We are happy you and your family enjoyed our pool area and ocean front location. Watching the whales right from your balcony sounds like an amazing experience. We love knowing our guests have everything they need while staying with us. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Makani Sands
Makani Sands
#23 of 41 in Lahaina
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#16 of 41 in Lahaina
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaleialoha Condominiums
Kaleialoha Condominiums
#13 of 41 in Lahaina
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lokelani Condominiums
Lokelani Condominiums
#21 of 41 in Lahaina
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Polynesian Shores
Polynesian Shores
#8 of 41 in Lahaina
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#20 of 41 in Lahaina
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hono Koa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hono Koa

Property: Hono Koa
Address: 3801 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hono Koa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hono Koa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hono Koa Hotel Lahaina
Hono Koa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing