We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Luau on the Island!”

Drums of the Pacific Lu'au
Ranked #6 of 17 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience exciting lu'au entertainment right at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. The sound of the conch, the beating of the drums, and the echoes of the Hawaiian chant signal the start of Hawaii's most exciting Lu'au. "Drums of the Pacific" Polynesian Spectacular takes you on a journey through the islands of Polynesia, complete with a traditional imu ceremony and the exotic flavors of native Hawaiian cuisine. We feature authentic dances and music of the old Hawaii, Samoa, Fiji, New Zealand, Tahiti, Tonga, and Rarotonga in the hottest Lu'au Show in the Islands. See a preview of our lu'au here. Our Drums of the Pacific adventure includes:•Greeting with a shell lei and fresh mai tais or fruit punch for each guest •A delightful performance of Hawaiian music •Traditional arts and crafts demonstrations •Impressive torch lighting ceremony •Authentic imu ceremony - the unveiling of the main dish, Kalua Pua'a. •Friendly greetings by Royal Polynesians, followed by a Polynesian fashion show featuring the islands most exotic pareaus (sarong) in creative styles. •An all-you-can-eat generous buffet including Kalua Pork, Huli Huli Chicken, Grilled Fish, Polynesian Rice, Vegetables Makamaka, Tropical Fruits Anuenue, Soba Noodles, Lomi Lomi Salmon, Pacific Ahi Poke, Tossed Green Salad, and Poi (taro). •Lavish dessert bar featuring Macadamia Nut Lu'au Cream Pie, Haupia with Toasted Coconut, Pineapple Cake and Bread Pudding. It's a great Hawaiian Lu'au Feast served throughout the first half of the show. •Open bar featuring beer, wine, mixed cocktails, mai tais, and fruit punch. Join us for an unforgettable experience on your vacation. We'll see you there. ALOHA!!!
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was my third time attending the Drums of the Pacific Luau and it does not dissapoint! It is very exciting and the Fire dancing is a must see! The food is excellent and the service is also very excellent! If you are in Maui, you must see this show!

Thank ADAMSNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSST, Manager at Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Wow Adamsnv, I'm flattered you have attended our Drums of the Pacific Luau 3 times! We are so proud of our recent $1M renovation, the additions to the buffet and the new dances and costumes that have been incorporated. We strive to constantly update all aspects to keep the luau fresh and exciting. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your time! ~Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,344 - 1,348 of 1,685 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

We have been to several luaus on all the Hawaiian islands and this one is truly wonderful! I personally don't like any kind of luau food, but I gotta say theirs was good. We also enjoyed the Polynesian show, in that you get to see ALL the South Pacific dances, not just Hawaiian. Lastly, the fire knife dancer was the highlight! This would be a luau we would come back to!

Thank Indygirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSST, Manager at Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Aloha Indygirl! Thank you for your response and the rave review! I also love that our luau represents the many Polynesian cultures that make up Hawaii nei! Hope you're able to visit Maui again sometime. Mahalo! ~Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Nice fire dancers and a great location in the magnificent Hyatt. It had a more broadway feel to it than other luaus but the food was the best by far.

Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSST, Manager at Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Mahalo Heather! Glad you enjoyed it! ~Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This Luau is AWESOME all the way around. The music and performers were better than other luaus we have attended on Oahu and Maui. The service was excellent and the food was incredible - even by Hyatt standards. Our family's favorite food items were the Kalua Pork, Ahi Poke, and Lomi Lomi Salmon. Make sure you leave room for the desserts - also delicious. The Hyatt Regency Maui is very easy to find and the location of the luau is right on the beach. You may be able to find a luau that will cost you a few dollars less, but you will NOT find one on Maui better than the Drums of the Pacific Lu'au at the Hyatt Regency Maui.

2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSST, Manager at Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Aloha John,
Thank you for your rave review! I love our mix of cultures and that our performers want to so proudly share their ancestry with our audience. Glad you enjoyed the food also. I agree, it is the best luau food around!
Mahalo, Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful time at "Drums of the Pacific Lu'au". The first thing we noticed was the beautiful sunset location, and its convenience to our hotel in Kapalua. The dinner was a traditional Hawaiian Luau including unlimited beverages. We enjoyed a fine wine with our dinner. The Polynesian review was fantastic, a great mix of pacific cultures, and the the fire knife dancer stole the show. We bought the beautiful souvenir photograph to remind us of our visit. We're glad that we came, and we had a great time.

Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSST, Manager at Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Aloha Nathan,
So glad to hear you and your friend had a great time and have a photo for a remembrance of the evening. Hope you can come again sometime. Mahalo for your review!
~Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drums of the Pacific Lu'au also viewed

 

Been to Drums of the Pacific Lu'au? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing