We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff here serve "aloha" everyday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The staff here serve "aloha" everyday!”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I are still staying here, tonight is our last night. This place is the reason I am writing my first review! The staff here is super friendly, and aim to please! The grounds are very nicely kept, pools and lounge area never seem to crowded, and Gary will bring ya drink at the pool! Rooms are clean and well kept, with a great belle staff aswell. The beach is great and very easy to access, turtles right of the shore. The Expedia agents are well trained and don't try to up sell their tours! One small negative is the BBQ grills are not near enough to the room, grilling poolside, or near the beach was nice on some of our other trips.Overall it was a super,We loved the Aston and can see ourselfs returning in our near future!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JUSTIN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    852
    289
    120
    43
See reviews for
1,047
792
46
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was our 18th visit to the Aston Kaanapali Resort. As usual the staff was friendly and accomodating. I love the facilities especially the pools, beach, and the Beach House restaurant. We will be back for number 19 next May. Mahalo.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Our room 148 was a great remodel the bed was so comfortable the people treated us well. We took our kids this year and we felt safe with letting them pair up and roam around the hotel. The staff helped them and made their stay fun.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 71angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Kaanapali Shores from May 6 to May 16, 2012 to celebrate our "babymoon." Initally we were in a studio condo which was compact yet functional. As most hotel/condos go, style is subjective so even though our travel companions stated that the decor was "dated" and "old," my wife and I really didn't mind. Also, when we made our reservation we mentioned the purpose of the trip and we were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of champagne with a congratulatory note in our room the next day after the first maid service. Granted, an alcoholic beverage for a pregnant lady isn't the best gift, but then again, not everyone knows what a babymoon is. Regardless, it was a very nice touch.

The pools were well maintained and were not overly crowded while we were there with plenty of chairs available. Of course, one doesn't go to Maui without going to dip their toes in the ocean, so thankfully beach access if fairly convenient being just in front of the resort. Although relatively narrow in spots, it is functional. Just be forewarned that there are rocks as mentioned in other reviews, but not the extent that would impact your enjoyment of the ocean/beach. There are tennis courts, shuffle board and pickleball courts available with no charge for the equipment. As well, a BBQ area with 3 seperate units is available for those who want to grill. A word about the BBQ area though, it smelled like garbage from time-to-time (out of 6 BBQs we did, we experienced the smell twice), likely due to a nearby, yet unseen dumpster and/or garbage area.

Things to be aware of are the extra fees that are mandatory (amenities fee of $10 at the time of our stay) and optional (parking @ $9 per day and gym for various costs depending on day access or weekly access). The onsite restaurant, the Beach House (?), was not to our liking and the food we were served was not very good at either breakfast or lunch. We obviously didn't want to press our luck with dinner.

Now to the point about customer service. On our eighth day, we discovered a number of small bugs in/on our food we had left in the condo kitchen. Upon investigation, we found that a large number were emanating from two small holes along the baseboard in the kitchen. Although I had noted a few of the same bugs throughout the first part of our stay I had attributed them to the tropical locale and accepted that there would be some insect activity generally speaking. What we saw on that 8th night would not be considered typical by most (in my opinion) and my wife was entirely creeped out and demanded we move. She was further agitated that we had to discard a large amount of food we had purchased for our stay due to the bugs being physically in the containers. We notified the front desk and they addressed our concerns by moving us to a 1-bedroom condo on the other side of the complex and sending the security guard to help us move our belongings and refrigerator contents that same night. To compensate for the discarded food and the trouble of moving us, the amenity and parking fees were removed from our final invoice, which we felt was reasonable and appropriate. Overall, the way the situation was handled, although annoying at the time, made us feel that customer satisfaction is important to this resort. In the end we would likely stay at the Aston Kaanapali Shores again, but would probably do a more vigorous search for bug portals in whatever condo we end up in.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
We were pleased to read that these visitors had a positive vacation experience overall during their stay and that our response to their needs successfully imparted how seriously we take customer service. We do have a professional, nationally recognized pest control company contracted to respond to any pest control needs that arise (it is the tropics) and called them in as soon as we settled our guests in their new location. Though rare, we do have an issue from time to time and when such a situation does arise, we apologize, respond quickly and effectively and make it right.

We thank these visitors for sharing their feedback and look forward to seeing them back on a future visit. Aloha....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

At check in, we were offered a discounted upgrade to ocean view that I'm sure made a big difference in our stay. So beautiful and relaxing!

Loved the beach, the restaurant, and the pools. The gardens were gorgeous.

We will definitely return to this hotel.

I have only 2 minor complaints:

1) Our room was a little run down in terms of carpet, doors, etc. Time for a little face lift.

2) Surprise! There is a $10 per night mandatory "amenities fee" that pays for a bunch of features in which we had nearly zero interest. That just rubs me wrong. Let people choose to purchase what they want instead of forcing us all to pay for what comes with most hotel rooms anyway, or for some items we will not use. Alternatively, they could jack the price of the room up by $10 so that we know the true cost before booking. The fee covers: newspaper we didn't read, dvd movies and playstation we didn't watch (what a waste of Hawaii time), in-room safe, local calls (who doesn't have a cell phone these days?), vacation portrait, fitness center discount (note- not free usage, but a discount - you still pay extra to use exercise room) coffee & tea in the room (seriously? even the cheapest hotels give you coffee), and a weekly "Polynesian Show," which occurred on a day of the week we were not staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goodlife100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teton Village, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at the Kaanapali Shores Resort from May 1 to 10 (room 911). This is our third visit to
Kaanapali Shores, and we have always been very satisfied. Our 1-bedroom unit was spacious,
had a beautiful ocean view with lanai, and was well equipped. The elevators were very fast
[which we appreciated from the ninth floor]. The gardens and pool were well maintained, and
there were always chaise lounges available. Perhaps the only drawback to the room was the carpets.
It seemed that throughout the entire facility they needed to be replaced or thoroughly cleaned.
Other than that, everything was in working order.

We took the free scuba lesson [from Scorpion Scuba] in the pool, and signed up for the subsequent
ocean dive which we enjoyed very much. Mike, the instructor, was excellent. There are many reefs
right at the hotel that are great for scuba or snorkeling. The available fish, etc. for viewing
there were even better than the Molokini trip!
There is a convenient Times grocery store across the street, and the beachwalk to Whaler's Village can be
accessed by entering the Kaanapali Beach Resort across from the grocery store. The on-site
"Expedia Local Expert" concierge gave an excellent presentation in the morning, and helped book our
various activities for the week. Go to the meeting early though or you will not get any treats!
We only visited the on-site restaurant a few times, and it was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeewinotTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo. After staying in hotel room for a week in Honolulu it was nice to come to Maui with a full kitchen with access to a grocery store directly across the steet. Location was great. Furniture was a bit low end but comfortable.

Room Tip: Would find out where the Wifi is located, was difficult to get a signal in our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kber82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing