We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kaanapali Shores”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Kaanapali Shores”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We spent a week at Kaanapali Shores hotel. The hotel room (room 425) was a 2 bedroom/2 bath condo type room. It was well appointed and had a beautiful garden with partial ocean view. My only complaints would be that the pool is nothing special... at all. It was basically a rectangle. Nothing special, nothing like you felt like you were at a resort. The beach house cafe was okay, the food is basic and the prices are a bit high. The happy hour was nice for drinks but they never had any hors d'oeuvre specials! The ocean was okay, the beach is small but we got to swim with 2 HUGE tortoises about 2 feet from shore!
All in all I would rate this hotel as a very good place for families but not the resort feel we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendybird23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    861
    292
    121
    44
See reviews for
1,065
800
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Our Family absolutely loved this place, Great Service, Clean.
only downside was the pool but other than that great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Loved the resort - we had an ocean facing condo which was fantastic. It was very clean and well decorated. The property was well maintained and landscaped beautifully. The option to sit at the pool or on the beach worked well for all. The staff was very friendly and helpful - we had two minor housekeeping issues which were resolved within 15 minutes of our phone call. I would definately stay again and recommend highly.

Room Tip: choose ocean facing - it is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KimB112956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were greeted by beautiful landscaping and an open-aired lobby that gave an up-scale feel without feeling pretentious. The staff greeted us warmly and had even upgraded us to an ocean-view room. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the kitchen was stocked with dishes, cooking utensils, pots, pans, pitchers, dish soap, dishwasher detergent, and more. Everything you need but the food, and that was just a short walk across the street at a reasonably priced (for Maui) grocery store in a strip mall, which also had several gift shops and restaurants. The kitchen was a huge money-saver considering restaurant prices in Maui. And having a washer/dryer in the room was perfect after spending many days on the beach, and allowed us to pack much lighter. We utilized the pools (clean), tennis courts (good condition), restaurant (reasonably priced with good portions and beautiful view), and the beach (beautiful!). We really appreciated the Expedia concierge desk located right in the hotel lobby. They were really helpful when we were planning excursions, and pointed us to the best snorkel and boogie boarding beaches, telling us when to tour the road to Hana and Haleakala, and where to get the best rental prices. The housekeeping was perfect, and they helped us out with a couple of "incidences" very promptly. It was so hard to leave! Mahalo Aston Kaanapali Shores! I really hope we can stay again in the future.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms with the full kitchen and ocean view. The kitchen saved us so much mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paragould, Arkansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Loved Aston Kaanapali Shores condos. would recommend spending a little extra and having a ocean front room. beautiful sunset views every night and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony every morning before starting our day. the staff was helpful and friendly. the condo had the feel of a luxury hotel but the room of a condo. we also loved the free dvd rental card. the restaurant associated with the condo was great also. (especially breakfast) the beach was a little rocky but we didn't mind. sea turtles were off the shore every day and we snorkeled with them. most guest used the pool so we basically had the beach to ourselves. we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: get an ocean front room. not much more money but great views. we were on the 7th floor and loved i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have just returned from a 10 day stay in Maui. We stayed at the Aston Kanapali shores for 10 nights and had a fabulous holiday. We used trip advisor comments to help chose our hotel as we were traveling with 2 small children and really needed to get it right. The large full kitchen with dining room and separate bedroom is the reason we chose this hotel. We spent all our days walking 2 mins to the lovely sandy beach or to either of the 2 hotel pools. It was all the little free extras that made our stay most enjoyable - free DVDs every night (great for us and the kids), unlimited replacement of clean beach towels, sunbeds on the beach, newspaper every morning and little things like replacing the dish washing liquid when needed. There's a big supermarket across the road however we stocked up in Safeway, 10 mins away on our first day. Our own washer and dryer in the room was a huge plus for us, we used it every day. There's a playground 10 mins walk to the left of the hotel and a lovely beach boardwalk starting 10 mins to the right of the hotel. We ate a few times in the hotel restaurant and were pleased each time, kids eat free before 4pm and they actually have healthy food for kids which was a plus! If your looking for a relaxing holiday with children I would certainly recommend this hotel. Only negative comment of the trip was the strong wind every day which was a bit annoying but I can't blame the hotel for this! Coming from a hotel background myself I'm not normally so generous with compliments but I have to say this hotel really got it right.

Room Tip: If Booking an ocean view room ask for one with balcony facing the sun, our balcony was not so it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We would definitely stay here again. Check in was a breeze. The desk folks were very nice; laughing at our jokes. The lobby is open air – nice. Are the birds singing for our arrival? The bellman showed us up to our two bedroom two bathroom suite. I could live here. We were in one of the penthouse suites with a beautiful view of the ocean. We spent more time on the balcony than in the living room. It’s a large balcony…just what you want in paradise.
The kitchen was filled with all the dishes we could ask for. Washer & dryer in the room…WOW! A really nice plus. Three flat screen tvs. Not sure if they all worked. I turned on the bedroom tv while brushing my teeth. The furnishings were nice & tropical. Can you have too much bamboo? A large grocery store across the street so we could easily purchase all our drinks & snacks.
The hotel is on the beach…ok, the beach is a little rocky, but a short walk down to more sandy beaches is not a problem. two large shiny pools with lots of chaises to lay around.
My one negative: parking. Why do hotels insist on charging? Please add it to the cost of the room. It’s a pet-peeve, but I really do hate the add-on charges. Very annoying.
Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michaelluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,004 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing