We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good time”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Aston Kaanapali Shores was a great choice and and a good location.We stayed five days and we had a one bedroom facing the ocean.The hotel is about 45 min drive from the airport so you should use the shuttle which is about $32 one way a person or rent a car if you like driving on mountain roads which I don't,Hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly but the only thing I didn't like was our bedroom was a little smokey but other than that it was great.Two pools and two hot tubs,club house type restaurant by the pool with free entertainment at night.The good thing about this hotel is that their is a strip malls across the street from the hotel with a Subway,Pizza place,Mexican restaurant and the best of all a hug grocery store which we stocked our kitchen with a few things when we didn't got out to eat.Tours to take is Road to Hana,Helicopter tour,Sunset dinner tour and the Sub tour all cost $85 and up but well worth the price.You will spend some money on this trip but for the wonderful time you will have I wouldn't have it any other way.

Mahalo Maui.

Room Tip: Room facing the ocean is what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,192
    860
    292
    121
    44
See reviews for
1,063
799
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed 10 nights at Kaanapali Shores and we were very pleased. Neither my husband or I had ever been to Hawaii, and this resort was exactly what we had always imagined Hawaii would be like. It's right on the beach (the beach directly in front of the hotel is fairly small but you can easily walk a few hundred feet to a roomier area). We had reserved one of the less expensive rooms, but upon check-in they gave us a free upgrade to an oceanview suite. The room was very nice with a full kitchen and spacious living area, plus laundry facilities in the suite. The view from the lanai was spectacular! Everything was clean and the lobby and grounds are beautiful. There is a grocery store right across the street. The parking lot was sometimes rather full and the resort is located on the far north end of the Kaanapali area, so you have to drive a ways to downtown Lahaina where many of the activities are located (shopping, restaurants, Old Lahaina Luau, etc.). If not for the location, I would have rated it even higher.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an oceanview room....it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsbabygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

People have shared some horror stories of this place. I have no idea where their room was, but ours was on the 9th floor/penthouse and we had no problems whatsoever. We had a kitchenette one bedroom suite. It overlooked the courtyard and the ocean. There was not one bug in the room ever! The room was always cleaned. We got new towels every day. The bed needed some updating. It was a king size with two twin mattresses as the top mattress. That sucked, not gonna lie. But other than that there was no problems with noise, dirtiness, or bugs. I was very, very happy with our room. Believe me I have an eye for bugs and dirt and there was none of that. I was pleasantly happy with the hotel. Would definitely stay here again. I'm guessing the lower the floor, the more bugs there will be considering it's an island and there are bound to be bugs, just sayin!

Room Tip: Get a room as high up a floor as possible. Get an Oceanside or oceanview. You will get beautiful su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Christmas in Hawaii was just heavenly here, compared to the snowy Midwest. The 2 bedroom unit was ideal for the family, allowing for privacy. The bathrooms were nice and clean. This was the perfect, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonni27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we loved that there was a shopping complex right across the street because we were able to buy anything we ran out of, or beer and wine, a great coffee and mexican food place was there as well. you could rent snorkel gear through the hotel and right outside on the beach was a person you could rent stand up paddle boards or buy a surf lesson , everything was at your finger tips. They also had a nice beach out front in case you didnt' feel like going to Kaanapali beach everday.

Room Tip: we rented a unit through VRBO, just a plan studio with kitchen but it was all we needed. the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmacpitt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rialto
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was our second stay here in July! The place was very relaxing and the staff was very helpful. I made the reservation for a one bedroom with a fold out bed and we did not like it so we went to switch to a two bedroom and they went out of their way to help us. The two bedroom was great! Lots of room for 4 people and even if you had some kids it would be fine. The restaurant on site was good for all meals with views of the pool and ocean. probably the biggest down side of this hotel would be the beach. The beach is fine except when you go into the water the sand disapears and all you have are rocks to stand on. Very hard to walk out into the water. Also it would be nice if they had some chairs on the beach itself. Good location, a short drive to town and other parts of the island. We would stay here again, the price is very resonable compared to some of the other places near by. Very, very kid friendly hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnot face the pool area. You will feel like your the only ones on the island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jostryjewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stayed here for 4 days and then rebooked for another 4 days as my trip here involved staying longer. Front desk staff couldn't help me during the early morning and told me to come back after 10am...that seemed very odd! House keeping only brought towels during the 4 days and never vacuumed up sand or gave us clean linens on the beds. After rebooking for 4 more days I was told to stay in the room I was in(which was fine, but I would have loved to have fresh bedding and cleaned floors). I called down on the 5th day to have a full housekeeping job done. After being gone all day I arrive back after 4pm to my room to find nothing done. I called Housekeeping and they sent a house keeper up, she was in a rush as it was time for her to go home. So need be the room wasn't fully cleaned on the 5th day. I would suggest to not stay here on a holiday that involves drunk people as we were woken up at 3:30am to a huge fight in the parking lot of the hotel with ladies yelling vulgarly. I called the front desk 3 times and finally spoke to someone who said he just heard the fight going on...during this time 15 mins had passed so Im not sure how he just heard the fight. The restaurant was not impressive one bit. The hotel promotes a $6.95 breakfast meal in which we thought we'd try. We went down one of the mornings and were told they weren't serving it, even though they were promoting it?! Went down another morning and they said we missed it by a minute? seriously a minute? So we got a meal for $10 that was well worth $4 if your lucky. Seemed odd that we were not said 'good morning' too or a simple "Hi" or any acknowledge when encountered by a hotel staff member. I work in a hotel as a reservationist, so I know the ropes. I know how you treat Guest and this hotel definitely could use some pointers on guest service!!! Ive stayed in a share of Aston resorts before and this had to be the worst one ever.
Also the dust/lint accumulated on the bedroom ceiling by the air vent and in the bathroom above the shower was absolutely disgusting and being hung up by the front desk while on hold to speak to a manage was absolutely the rudest thing to do to a guest who payed good money to stay at your resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeTHut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
2B Fair is the name on the response, because we try to view all postings with an eye toward using constructive criticism to help improve where we can. In some cases, the postings leave an impression with readers that isn't a complete or accurate representation of an occurrence. In such cases, we try to share a little background so readers can better understand circumstances.

As an example, in this case the writer shares that the FD couldn't help them in the early morning. This was not a case of incompetence or an unwillingness to help. The early morning in question was when the service agent was dealing with the unruly guests in the parking lot (eluded to later in the posting). Unfortunately, these folks came to Kaanapali to partake in the Holloween festivities and apparently went a bit too far. This kind of thing is not in our control, but the response is, which was to have them removed by local authorities, which is what was done.

I'm a bit perplexed as to the housekeeping and restaurant comments, and will be looking into this further to determine what happened. Our housekeepers are usually efficient and very pleasant and our restaurant staff typically are recipients of positive feedback. What has been shared here is very uncharacteristic and atypical. It is disappointing to read a "hotel" person sharing this kind of feedback relative to our guest service levels, as it certainly goes against everything we believe in and instill within our teams and as our "history" on this site will show, it is not what the overwhelming majority of our guests experience.

In the end, whether accurately representative or not, we take all feedback seriously and will look into areas that might provide us with some opportunity for improvement. We thank these guests for their input.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4,001 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing