We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were moved here by Diamond Resorts and it was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were planning to stay next door, but because of booking we stayed here. Rooms very
modern, we had a one bedroom so nice and roomy looking onto the garden. Staff extremely helpful. Grocery store across the street had everything we needed. Had a massage that was from heaven thankyou. Our room overlooked the gardens and the most spectacular thing happens at sunset - the local birds tree themselves; what a racket until they are settled for the night. Just added to the entertainment. Had lunch and dinner at the beach club by the pool. Food was excellent and the atmosphere very sophisticated Beautiful resort, nice pools and beaches.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daphne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 2,655 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

I was in Maui the week of December 4th with two girlfriends and had a wonderful time there. The staff was very accommodating and we thoroughly enjoyed staying there Our suite had everything in the kitchen that we could need. Enjoyed the view from the suite all day and all night. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawaii927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights at K Shores and it was very good for what we were looking for. We are a family of 3 and got the studio with kitchen. It was great because saved us money in breakfast and dinners. They have the children camp that my daughter loved it- so did we- it has a grocery store a cross street which is very convenience. The grounds are pretty, pool is good, beach is nice, the cont.is they do no have umbrellas for sun protection in the beach..., I guess the palms tree are good enough..... Sun is strong so be prepare, I love it but it is strong. All and all I will recommended.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Krysia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife, son, father, and I all just returned from Maui on 12/20/13. We arrived on 12/12/13 in the evening so that day didn't really count. We chose to stay at the Aston Kaanapali Shores again this time. We stayed there in May, and yes, it is a bit dated, but much of the resort has been renovated, and it is beautiful. We stayed in the same room, 701, an Aloha Suite, as we did in May 2013, when we visited with my wife's parents for out 20th Anniversary and their 50th. The Aloha suite has ~1,500 square feet, 2 bedrooms, full kitchen dining area, large living room, and an unmatched wrap-around lanai that is nearly 500 square feet itself. They had put in new carpet from our last stay and it was very nice as are the furniture and the beds. They also had put new fixtures on the sinks in the master bed/bathroom.

The view from the lanai (which by the way, the resort is designed so most of the lanais have a great view of the ocean) is incredible. No kidding we averaged viewing about 10-20 whales every day we were there -- and no kidding one morning we saw at least 8-10 whales breaching out of the water -- these were closer to Molokai, so we could see the splashes without binoculars, but we got a much better view with binoculars. We even saw 3 large sea turtles swimming near the shoreline from the lanai this trip. It was interesting to see how much the sun had moved for sunset versus in May, although the sunsets were still fabulous.

The staff at the resort is tops. No complaints at all about the staff -- many kudos to the management for hiring such a great staff. Please pass on our thanks to the entire staff for their wonderful service. The only issue (not really a complaint) was that we didn't care for the restaurant -- the Beach Club -- as much this time as last. It was still good, and maybe our expectations were too high based on last time. The food was still good, but not spectacular for some reason, and the drinks were very weak this time (but we found this to be true throughout the island). And we were sorely disappointed they got rid of the pineapple cole slaw, which was to die for before. Now they have a creamy cole slaw, and it is not the same. Even my father-in-law asked if the pineapple cole slaw was as good as last time, and he was shocked to hear they no longer had it. PLEASE bring back the pineapple cole slaw. But once again, even though there were still some disappointing things, the food was still good enough that we ate there at least 5-6 times on the trip.

Speaking of food, if you have time to go to the Times (or Tymes) grocery store across the street, get the egg salad -- both my father and I loved it. Also, buy yourself a Maui Gold pineapple for every day. I cut up two of them while we were there (very easy to do) and you will find no sweeter pineapple anywhere -- I wished I had done one every day.

Very Happy with AKS again. Will be back someday, but we have promised our son a couple of Disney vacations for 2014 and perhaps 2015 (Disney World and a Disney Cruise) -- so it will be at least 2015 before we get back to Maui, but when we do, we will most likely be staying at AKS again.

Room Tip: If you want quiet in the morning, you want to stay away from the garden area near the back of the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at Kaanapali Shores (Room 744) for 5 days in December as part of an incentive package with Diamond Resorts International. The resort is a bit dated, although quite comfortable (& they are in the process of renovating). There were two pools and two hot tubs. We had a great view from our room and the resort was designed in such a way that most rooms had a decent view. The balcony was fairly large and spacious. The kitchen and living room were nice. The utensils, pots and dishes in the kitchen were adequate but pretty basic. Pool towels were supplied and replaced easily at a kiosk by the pool.
Parking was $9.00 per day but we had that covered by Diamond. Our towels were replaced once but we generally were responsible for our own garbage, cleaning, etc. It was nice having a full kitchen and the Times Supermarket across the road was very convenient. However, Safeway in Lahaina had a bit better section.
The air conditioning and ventilation were poor and we were usually a bit too hot for comfort. Otherwise, things were comfortable.
The area just below our room was a bit of a jungle - very beautiful. It was full of birds all night. We liked this but the noise might bother some.
If you plan to swim in the ocean bring beach shoes. It is a bit rocky.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Good place to stay, but the hidden cost and fees are excessive. Amenities fees are now $18 per day, and the High speed in any thing but High speed. Just another way to charge you. The fees are not of any value

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itravelveryoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Very nice resort and enjoy the area very much. We stayed in unit 706 and it unfortunately showed it's age and what they called a remodeled kitchen was very poorly done. The views were wonderful as well as the resort grounds. We rented from a private property management company and would recommend either staying with Aston direct or deal directly with a VRBO owner. The management company "Kaanapali Beach Rentals" are not easy to deal with and very much represent the owner, not the owner. Any inquires made were responded with an rude and abrupt take it or leave it tone. If your planning a visit you will enjoy the resort, just avoid Kaanapali Beach Rentals / Properties

Room Tip: deal with responsible individual or organization who desires your return business
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbowers49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,341 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
5.8 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £193 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing