We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good stay for the price”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights here on the 3rd floor in a one bedroom suite before staying 2 nights in Waikiki (Oahu) before heading for the mainland. Honestly, we miss the room we had at Aston and Maui! We paid more for a tiny room in Waikiki than our spacious suite at Aston. The suite had a wonderful kitchen with dishes/supplies and good living room which was enough for 2 of us. The bedroom was tiny but comfortable enough.
Resort cons: a little dated, no swimming beach since waves are strong here and rocky area, pools are jammed with little kids
Resort pros: spacious suite, good kitchen to allow us to cook many meals, nice place to call "home" since relaxing atmosphere.
Overall would stay here again and definitely stay ONLY on Maui rather than island hopping!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jrschultz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Aloha Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    855
    290
    120
    43
See reviews for
1,053
794
46
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Price is right but when you open the door, you'll see why. Extremely DATED rooms like from 1960's. Very little view from 2nd bedroom. Such a long way from Lobby to your room!! Pay a little more & stay somewhere nicer nearby.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Domino3800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Aloha! All units within the main Aston rental program are updated in design and furnishings on a scheduled basis. They currently feature a tropical (Tommy Bahama) theme that is far from dated. Based upon his/her comments, it would seem highly unlikely that this guest stayed within one of these suites. This feedback is not an accurate representation of the resort's condition overall. We enjoy a large percentage of return visitors each year because folks enjoy their visits and the comforts of our clean, contemporary, well-maintained suites.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had an 8th floor room with an ocean view that allowed us to see the neighboring islands. Staff was friendly and the service was very good. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Nice grounds and pools. Some great local beaches and eateries are nearby. Check out a local gift, crafts and jewelry store called Binky's, about 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Aloha Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

9th floor 2Br with pretty good views of the ocean. clean and functional with a very usable kitchen and lots of counter space. bring basics like salt/pepper/spices as none are provided. (Costco near the airport was a great first stop for booze and basics) Good deck with lots of birds visiting especially if you have chips to share. good beds, lumpy pillows. beach was disappointing with rocky water and very narrow strip of sand but we drove to various beaches every day so it didn't matter that much. java jazz coffee shop right across the street was our home away from home and there is a good supermarket and assorted shops in the same strip. up the street (north) are a variety of great, inexpensive (for Maui anyway) fish and taco shops. all in all a good value in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Aloha Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Aston Kaanapali Shores is a very nice resort. This last visit was our third visit to this resort. It has two nice pools, one fenced in by the beach (oceanfront), and the other one further away (garden pool) in a nice grass/tropical area. We booked the one bedroom ocean view suite which included a full kitchen with dishwasher. Somewhat disappointed in the ocean view, since on our previous stays we had a 7th floor ocean view overlooking the pool areas and tropical gardens, however, this time the 7th floor ocean view looked out over their back parking lot. Not included in their room pricing is a daily $18 amenity fee, which includes WiFi Internet access and cable TV. There is also an additional $9/day per car parking fee. Within a short walking distance there is a small shopping center across the street that has a Grocery store, Subway and Pizza restaurant. The staff was very polite and friendly.

Room Tip: It appears to be the luck of the draw when booking a one-bedroom ocean view suite. Check at the desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Aloha Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry the view from the unit wasn't what you had expected this time around. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very good condo. We had a two bed and two bath. The staff are excellent and very helpful from groundskeepers to front end. We like the location just minutes to Lahaina and nothing is too far on Maui. There is a gym available at extra cost. The two pools and two hot tubs are well maintained. The on-site restaurant has good food and staff. There is free entertainment through the week at the resort.
The condo was very nice, roomy and comfortable. Good kitchen facilities.
The resort is well maintained and has very nice grounds and gardens.
For an entertaining evening see the Elvis impersonator. He is as close to the real thing you will ever see and hear. He was giving a free show at the resort on Sundays when we were there.

Room Tip: Ground level condos garden view give you easy access to the garden area but all rooms are well appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twayneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
276 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Kaanapali Shores beautiful view of the ocean. The garden with two pools was eloquently landscaped and provided a beautiful setting to relax. There is a pool bar (nice) which is attached to the restaurant which has a very good menu and excellent service. We had a room on the 7th floor so the view was nice. The resort has bell hop service to assist with luggage. Our room was nicely furnished but the kitchen utensils were not sufficient for any real cooking. More like camping out; no measuring spoons, no coffee measure, etc. I am sure if we had queried the front desk we could have gotten the items but it was easier for us to purchase them when we bought groceries at the conveniently located grocery store across the street (Tim's). The bed in the MBR was very comfortable but cramped in the room with the bookshelf with the TV at the foot of the bed. We were told the units are individually owned so all this may be owner dictated. However, I am still giving the resort a great review because most of the nuances listed are nits and may not apply to all rooms.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a ocean view room on a high floor for the best views. Most rooms have ocean views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,957 reviews
2.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing