We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We want to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My family (2 kids and 2 adults) and I stayed here for 10 days this summer, and we really enjoyed it! Everyone who worked with us (from front desk, to pool area, to housekeeping) at the Aston Kaanapali Shores was friendly and helpful. We absolutely LOVED our condo, which was a ground-floor, 2-bedroom ocean view. We had a beautiful view of the ocean from our kitchen, living room and master bedroom. We were just steps away from both the ocean and the pool. We appreciated the daily housekeeping that kept our condo clean and refreshed with extra coffee, towels, dish soap and laundry detergent. It was a perfect location for our family, and we hope to come back again someday (hopefully soon!).

Room Tip: We had the choice between a garden view and an ocean view. We chose to spend more and go with the o...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you very muh for your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you back on a future visit to "paradise!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,565)
There are newer reviews for Aston Kaanapali Shores
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 2,565 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

My family and I have stayed here several times over the years, and it's gotten progressively worse, to the point where I'm hoping this review will actually be noticed by management. So listen up: your housekeeping service is doing you no favors.

Checked in last week for a ONE NIGHT stay, and they put my wife and I in room 321. Bed sheets were torn and stained, so called the front desk for a change. Housekeeping promptly showed up (yea!), so rather than awkwardly watch, we stepped out and went downstairs for a few. Upon returning, we find the bed made, but no change in sheets. Same tear, same stains. Called the front desk, and are told the housekeeper (only one on duty, evidently), has gone home for the night. Really?!? Fine, just give us a room with clean sheets, and we're relocated to room 438.

Upon entering 438, we find a half full water bottle on the floor next to the bed, but the sheets are clean, we're tired, so we give it a pass and crash for the night. Next a.m., hop in the shower, only to realize its not actually draining, and by the end we're in ankle-deep water. Ugh. It takes over 30 min to drain, and there's an actual ring around the tub I can scratch my initials into.

Upon checking out, we inform the front desk, and request to speak with the housekeeping manager. A trip is made to the back room, and after a few minutes, we're told the manager isn't actually back there, but they will dutifully relay our concerns. And will waive our $18 hotel service fee, as if that will magically rectify their problem, which they think is us, but is actually the product they sell you.

That was one night. I shudder to imagine the horrors one week would produce, and the lack of concern management would demonstrate. Good luck to you braver souls than I.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We're very sorry to learn of this guest's experience and certainly apologize that they had to contend with any of this. Clearly there was a failure on the part of our housekeeping team to notice the condition of the sheets. In trying to accommodate the guests with an alternative accommodation a mistake was made in providing a unit that had not been completed and inspected yet. We appreciate these loyal customers sharing their feedback with us while they were here. We have reviewed the situation with our team and are providing them with additional training to ensure against similar, future occurrences. As readerswill notice, this experience was not exemplary of what is normally a friendly and efficient service team. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed two weeks here. The place was clean and the grounds were spotless. The staff was very helpful. We were there when the hurricane hit and the staff kept us updated. We felt safe the entire time. The rooms are big and the bed nice. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mackey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you very muh for your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you back on a future visit to "paradise!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were here in July and had a fantastic time. We had the 2 bedroom Suite and loved having a full kitchen and washer/dryer. Our room had a great view of the ocean and close to the pool. The location of the hotel was great. You could get groceries at the Times Market and you were a quick drive to everywhere. The resort fees is a pain but it seems like you have to pay that everywhere you stay in Hawaii. We stayed at a big resort on the Big Island after we stayed here and we really missed being at the Aston. I would recommend this place to everyone and hopefully someday when we come back to Maui we will stay at the Aston.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamtrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you very muh for your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you back on a future visit to "paradise!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed 1 night at this location before heading to another resort for full week. This was a very pleasant surprise, great value directly on the ocean. The resort and the grounds were in fantastic shape and extremely well taken care of, the staff was friendly and you could not ask for a better experience. Great pool side restaurant and reasonably priced, so much so that we returned twice just for breakfast while staying at the other resort. This was our first time staying at this resort but I am sure we will return.Great value

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mark3800_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you very muh for your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you back on a future visit to "paradise!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here last week and loved it! There's lots of room and its very clean. We had an ocean view 1 bedroom suite. The balcony was so nice. We'd sit out there and have breakfast then walk on the beach. We loved hanging out at the pool and beach everyday. Our bed was very comfortable. I loved the shower too. We loved having a kitchen to cook in so that we didn't have to eat out every meal. We'd stay here again and plan to in a year and 1/2.

Room Tip: ocean view is awesome! The garden is beautiful too.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you very muh for your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you back on a future visit to "paradise!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The resort was gorgeous, clean, well-maintained, and staff was friendly. It has access to a beach (not crowded -- July), but a crowded pool. It has a fitness center, its own coffee cafe, and beautiful oceanfront rooms. The room is like a small apartment: dining table, bar, living room with a balcony view, kitchen (stove/oven, microwave, full-size refrigerator/freezer, and dishwasher), spacious bathroom, a double-closet with safe in the hallway (full mirrored doors), a half-closet in the bathroom, and your own washer/dryer combo with detergent.

They provide you with shampoo and soap, but no lotion. You get dishwasher cleaner and dishwashing liquid as well. Lots of glasses, plates, and cookware too.

My only complaint is that they charge $18/day for Internet, DVD rental, and video games -- even if you don't use any of them. They also charge a $9/day parking fee. This adds up quickly.

Aside from the extra fees, this was an excellent resort, and I was very pleased with all the comfort and amenities.

They also have a very nice shopping area with several stores on the main floor level.

Room Tip: I asked for an ocean-view room. The rooms are at a diagonal, so I got kind of a side ocean view, but...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Aloha Christi,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we'll have a chance to share our Hawaiian hospitality with you again in the near future!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,096 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,071 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £170 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing