We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond Dream Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
New York State
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Diamond Dream Trip”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This trip was our "Diamond Dream Holiday" which we recieved as part of our purchasing an ownership through Diamond Resorts International. This was a 5 night stay. We had just left the Ka'anapali Beach Club next door after 3 nights to continue our trip. AKS is an affiliate resort for Diamond Resorts. The setup is different from KBC, but it was nice to experience the 2 resorts. Even though there really weren't any issues with AKS, given the opportunity to stay next door at KBC, we would prefer to stay there. We were on the 9th floor closer to the beach than the mountains, facing north. The view gave us a different perspective as compared to our south facing room the 3 nights previous, but the views were more obstructed given the layout of our suite. We had an oceanview room but the building wasn't flat on the sides, so the other rooms jutted out and limited the view. Balcony was nice, but small, and only goes off of the living room, and not the bedroom as well. Suite was large with a great kitchen and eating area, but the bedroom was quite small with not much drawer space for clothes. Bathroom was effecient, but small with 1 vanity and a tub/shower combo with very little water pressure. There is a parking garage adjacent to the resort, and the parking attendants were very friendly. The staff was nice, but not overly wonderful. There are 2 pools, which we only went in 1, the one closest to the beach. Kinda small in my opinion. There are beach chairs here, which was nice as the beach is pretty decent size. There is a restaurant on property, but we did not eat here. The 2 gift shops are very nice with a great selection of things from groceries to souvenirs. All in all, we had a great stay here, with no major complaints. We just thought the KBC was nicer and had more to offer, with better, friendlier service.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the interior of the resort have to deal with a ton of birds who go nuts with noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parli32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very muh for your feedback.

We appreciate it and hope to see you back on a future visit to "paradise!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    852
    289
    120
    43
See reviews for
1,047
792
46
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The location is great with 2 of the best "hole in the wall" restaurants in walking distance, The Fish Market and Honokowai Okazula. Best take-out food. Hotel has 2 pools and 2 hot tubs, tennis courts and shuffle board plus a restaurant with a view. Hotel staff is very friendly and the grounds are impeccably groomed. Offer a camp for kids on site.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very muh for your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you back on a future visit to "paradise!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Indiana
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Aston Kaanapali last year for our visit to Maui for our 16th wedding anniversary. Upon check in I was surprised to find that we were given the Penthouse suite. We had an incredible view from our balcony. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you might need and service replenished our coffee supply daily. The resort had two pools and was located right on the beach. There was a great little bar right by the pool area that had daily drink specials and the staff was very friendly. You could also rent snorkeling equipment at the pool area for use in the ocean at a reasonable daily rate. The location was fantastic with only a short drive from all the local shops, restaurants, and water attractions. We attended a Hawaiian Luau at the Royal Lahaina which was just a 15 minute drive from our location. I would highly recommend this luau to anyone interested in a true authentic luau. We found the Aston to be a restful and beautiful place to stay for our Maui vacation. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a higher level room or the Penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexuslady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very muh for your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you back on a future visit to "paradise!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family stayed for a two night get away from the big city of Honolulu. Everything was awesome! I can't tell you how great it was to have a washer and dryer in the unit when you're travelling with an 11 month old. (parents....you know what I'm talking about)
Everyone there was super friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCTraveller210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very muh for your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you back on a future visit to "paradise!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My family (2 kids and 2 adults) and I stayed here for 10 days this summer, and we really enjoyed it! Everyone who worked with us (from front desk, to pool area, to housekeeping) at the Aston Kaanapali Shores was friendly and helpful. We absolutely LOVED our condo, which was a ground-floor, 2-bedroom ocean view. We had a beautiful view of the ocean from our kitchen, living room and master bedroom. We were just steps away from both the ocean and the pool. We appreciated the daily housekeeping that kept our condo clean and refreshed with extra coffee, towels, dish soap and laundry detergent. It was a perfect location for our family, and we hope to come back again someday (hopefully soon!).

Room Tip: We had the choice between a garden view and an ocean view. We chose to spend more and go with the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very muh for your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you back on a future visit to "paradise!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My family and I have stayed here several times over the years, and it's gotten progressively worse, to the point where I'm hoping this review will actually be noticed by management. So listen up: your housekeeping service is doing you no favors.

Checked in last week for a ONE NIGHT stay, and they put my wife and I in room 321. Bed sheets were torn and stained, so called the front desk for a change. Housekeeping promptly showed up (yea!), so rather than awkwardly watch, we stepped out and went downstairs for a few. Upon returning, we find the bed made, but no change in sheets. Same tear, same stains. Called the front desk, and are told the housekeeper (only one on duty, evidently), has gone home for the night. Really?!? Fine, just give us a room with clean sheets, and we're relocated to room 438.

Upon entering 438, we find a half full water bottle on the floor next to the bed, but the sheets are clean, we're tired, so we give it a pass and crash for the night. Next a.m., hop in the shower, only to realize its not actually draining, and by the end we're in ankle-deep water. Ugh. It takes over 30 min to drain, and there's an actual ring around the tub I can scratch my initials into.

Upon checking out, we inform the front desk, and request to speak with the housekeeping manager. A trip is made to the back room, and after a few minutes, we're told the manager isn't actually back there, but they will dutifully relay our concerns. And will waive our $18 hotel service fee, as if that will magically rectify their problem, which they think is us, but is actually the product they sell you.

That was one night. I shudder to imagine the horrors one week would produce, and the lack of concern management would demonstrate. Good luck to you braver souls than I.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We're very sorry to learn of this guest's experience and certainly apologize that they had to contend with any of this. Clearly there was a failure on the part of our housekeeping team to notice the condition of the sheets. In trying to accommodate the guests with an alternative accommodation a mistake was made in providing a unit that had not been completed and inspected yet. We appreciate these loyal customers sharing their feedback with us while they were here. We have reviewed the situation with our team and are providing them with additional training to ensure against similar, future occurrences. As readerswill notice, this experience was not exemplary of what is normally a friendly and efficient service team. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed two weeks here. The place was clean and the grounds were spotless. The staff was very helpful. We were there when the hurricane hit and the staff kept us updated. We felt safe the entire time. The rooms are big and the bed nice. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mackey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very muh for your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you back on a future visit to "paradise!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing