We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The room was nasty”
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Do not stay in room 924. It is like a 1980 Days Inn. The cabinets are patched, the molding is cracked, The tile in the shower was stained.

Out second night we came home at about 10 and there was a note that we had to move because of a leaky pipe. we moved down the hall to a very nice room.But they should not try to rent out that room especially when the place is not crowded.

The next night there was no hot water. and the next night there was no water at all (broken water main).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontheroadagain97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Management at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 9 March 2009
We apologize for having erred in not identifying the condition of this room prior to it being assigned. It is currently under contract for a renovation, which is scheduled to take place shortly (awaiting the shipment of Granite , cabinets, etc.). It should not have been assigned for use until the completion of the renovation work.

I'm glad to read that you moved into a "nice" unit, in a condition more in keeping with our overall inventory.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    861
    292
    121
    44
See reviews for
1,065
800
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We just returned from a 10 day stay at this property. The location of the property is relatively well situated, with a short drive to Lahaina.

We found this property to be very windy, it appears to be on a point of sorts and the wind howls alot of the day. We were at different properties closer to Lahaina during those windy days, and it seemed to be distinct to the Shores as the other locations weren't nearly as windy. As is well documented here, the birds at this resort can be unbearable and you can almost set your watch to them daily. However, when we moved to a 2 bedroom unit closer to the ocean, they didn't seem to be as bad.

The pool area is mediocre, it fills up very quickly during the day with lots of kids and families. The beach here while close, is very rocky and swimming isn't great here either. The restaurant was ok, but nothing to write home about. However they were very accomodating when we needed to store a large cake in one of their fridges.

It was great to have bbq facilities on site, and we made good use of the bbq area on a few nights - a nice touch.

The fee for parking is outrageous and quite ridiculous really. Not sure why that would be and seems like a total cash grab.

The rooms were nice, it was enjoyable to have the use of a large, (and in our case - updated) kitchen with most amenities. The two bedroom provided enough room for the 6 in our party. Only thing i would change for the rooms, would be a bigger couch in the living room. Not that one watches a lot of TV in Maui, but there were a plethora of channels on the tv here. Nice large changing area in the master bedroom and quite comfortable beds.

Overall, after a few days here, we realized the resort definitely caters to families and to seniors. Our group of twelve were 4 50-somethings and 8 25-35's. This resort lacks a good bar to enjoy a late evening cocktail in, it seems everyone retires to their rooms after dinner, and it would have been nice to have a place to go instead of the room for a drink.

The bus service into Lahaina is great, but the concierge doesn't really seem to be well versed on the schedules or much about it...this was frustrating. It was somewhat annoying to have to transfer at Whalers Village and pay yet another dollar to get into Lahaina, I realize this doesn't have much to do with the resort itself, but more about it's location. A one way taxi into Lahaina is about $22 - a little steep for a short 10 minute ride.

We were able to visit other properties closer to Lahaina, and when we return to Maui, will most likely give them a try. We enjoyed the large, open pool areas of the Marriott, Westin & Hyatt, and the varied bars also offered at this location. We realize the price will certainly reflect these amenities at these specific properties, but after staying @ the Shores, we realized we were looking for more of a ''resort'' feel versus what is a strong family oriented resort at the Shores.

Mike from Scorpion dive school was excellent and the free pool side daily lessons was a real plus. He was a pleasure to learn from. We paid $79 for a walk in sea dive, which was good value for money.

We enjoyed our time here, and overall good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegCityGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We stayed her from Feb. 20 until Feb. 25. We had a ocean view suite on the 8th floor, and it had a great view of the pool and ocean. The kitchen was great and we used it each morning to make our breakfast to save a little money. We stopped at Costco upon landing and that worked out great. We did eat two different times at the cafe on property and enjoyed it both times. The pool was nice too. The hotel staff was attentive to anything we needed. We went in to eat in Lahaina and loved Bubba Gump's, Cheeseburger in Paradise, BJ's Pizza. We also went to the Old Lahaina Luau which was worth every penny. Loved it! You must drive into Napali and go to the Gazebo restaurant for breakfast. Fabulous mac banana nut pancakes! They are huge though, so only order 2 not 3! We also did the Road to Hana which was very interesting. It is about 5 hours round trip! We did a lot of souveniur shopping at the Whale Festival in Kihei, and also the Hilo Hatties and ABC stores. We did the Whale watching with the Pacific Whale Foundation, and loved it! Also went to Maui Ocean Center. For relaxation, we went to Maui Zen Day Spa and had a fabulous hot stone massage. We would encourage anyone to visit there! It's right in Lahaina. We loved Maui, and would definitely go back again, but maybe try a different section of the island like maybe by Makena.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JJESeattle_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los altos,ca
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

When we stayed here the first time, we felt the same way as another reviewer - it was nice, but we wanted to try somewhere else. Now that we have stayed at one of the fancier resorts on Kaanapali Beach, I really appreciate this place for what it offers. No, it's not on the greatest beach (it's narrow). No, it doesn't have a fancy water slide. But it is a great, low-key place. The service is friendly. The one bedroom suite has a king bed, and a pullout sofa in the living room. Central A/C, a nice big lanai with a table and chairs and a chaise lounge. The kitchen is nothing fancy but great to have. If you have kids, they eat free at the onsite restaurant for lunch, which is nice.
The pools are kept warm, we even swam at night. Quite unlike the huge pool at the megaresort, which was beautiful but icy. The space in the condos is quite nice, and i never heard my neighbors (also unlike at the fancy resort). There is a big lawn in the middle away from the 2 pools, which is nice to run around on if you're a kid. There is a nice feeling of space because of that. There is a grocery type store, and a beach supplies store, both well stocked and convenient.
The other great thing we discovered on this trip was the Honokawai Farmer's market, which takes place just up the road on Mon,Wed,Fri. You can pick out a coconut and they will cut it open for you so you can drink the water (very fun for kids). They also sell local fruit, awesome guacamole and other treats. It is not something you will find in Kaanapali. When we shopped there, we felt like locals. The other new thing is that due to the construction of the Westin Villas, there is now a boardwalk/path that you can use: I was able to take great walks every morning, with a beach view, stopping to whale watch. It was really nice.
In short, I would totally recommend this to anyone wishing to stay in the area. It's a great value!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aspalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We stay at the Kaanapali Shores from Feb. 14 - 19, our room was excellent although we did not rent through Resort Quest or Aston but through VRBO. The grounds where excellent but we found much nicer beaches in other areas of the island. The location was okay, luckly we had a car rental the entire stay and where able to check out other beaches. I would return for the room we had but not the beach in front. We also where traveling with other family members that had a room on the north side of the hotel, there lani had no sun and was very windy I would not recommend staying on that side of the hotel, they did have a mouse friend but only saw it once, we did not.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wally181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We would not probably recommend this hotel to our friends, nor will we likely stay there in the future. Our stay was 12/21/08 to 12/31/08. The resort was not full during Christmas probably due to the economy. The staff was cordial and pleasant when we encountered them and the overall grounds were well kept. We had a mouse in our condo on Christmas day. The Manager on duty Lauren indicated housekeeping would be up to remove it. I did not make a stink when I reported our issue as they had 3 newly arriving couples at the front desk. (We understand things can and do happen…) I expected the front desk to call and say we are sorry or acknowledge the issue that night or the next day. I actually felt the need to leave a light on at night for the remainder of our stay so as not to step on another unwanted guest. I am not sure if the management did not care because the room and trip had already been paid for in advance or if the management simply just did not care. Maybe finding mice in the rooms is a common occurance on the islands.
When we checked out someone asked how our stay was, so we told our mouse story and that gentleman did comp our parking fee for the week.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elementcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Management at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 22 February 2009
We were so very sorry to learn of your pest control experience. We have an aggressive pest control program in place, the service for which is provided by a nationally recognizsed pest control company. Unfortunately, even with such a program in place, because of the abundance of flora and lush tropical landscape, even the 4 & 5 Daimond/Star properties experience this from time to time. Even more disappointing was what you perceived to be less than a sense of urgency on the part of our team. I can assure you that this is quite atypical, as these folks are known to be normally very responsive and caring. They are trained to understand just how important the guest experience is to our overall success. We will revisit this with them and provide additional coaching as necessary. I was pleased to learn that they did provide a gtoodwill gesture in recognition of the inconvenience. We do hope you'll change your mind and give us an opportunity to provide a more positive, pest-free experience on your next visit to Maui. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

I booked this resort through a travel agent as package. First of all, you need to get your expectations in order. This place is not the Ritz- Carlton. Some people expect it to be and then get disappointed. This is a first rate resort, but it's not priced or advertised to compete against the luxury resorts.
Having said that, this resort is very nice indeed. It has all the amenities you would expect from an upscale resort. There is a gym (for a fee, unfortunately), 2 pools that get somewhat crowded during the day, a sauna, a decent restaurant, a beachfront location, tennis, and barbecues available for grilling your own food.

Rooms: We had a 2 bedroom condo with a kitchen. The rooms were owned by someone else who rented it out while they were not there. I would say the rooms were on par with a Hilton Garden Inn or that type of hotel. Some rooms were upgraded with granite counters but ours was not. The rooms are comfortable and spacious enough by most standards and came with a washer/dryer which was convenient.

Service: Service at the resort is very good. Housekeeping was responsive to our requests and we were greeted by staff members if we saw one in the hallway. The front desk staff were courteous, helpful, and cheerful. We're not demanding travelers so I guess that's why we were so satisfied.

Location: Fantastic. The resort is in Honokowai, just north of Kaanapali. Across the street is a super market and some decent but not spectacular restaurants. It was a quick 10 minute drive to Lahaina. The hotel was set back far enough so that you couldn't hear the street noise. I really liked this location a lot.

Value: If you can get a package deal and the 2 bedroom condo, it's perfect for families. Cooking in the room and doing your own laundry will save a few dollars for a nice night out later on.

Overall, we had a great time and would recommend this resort to others. I don't give many five stars except to Four Seasons, Ritz-Carlton, etc. so this says a lot of about how I feel.

Pros: Location and value. Internet was free, but it wasn't high speed.
Cons: Service can be slow at times. Pool occasionally gets crowded. Quite a bit of nickel and diming, but it was expected so I can't complain much. Ex: parking fees, gym fees, room safe fees.

Note: The reviewer has a family with 2 young kids. They travel twice a year and have stayed in the full range of resorts from crummy to five-star so they generally know what they are getting into. We have tried to be honest.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalSD_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,004 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing