We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2009

My husband and I had a perfect honeymoon in Maui! The hotel was perfect and we loved our one bedroom suite it was a home away from home. Having a washer and dryer in our room was great! The hotel room was cleaned everyday and the staff was great. We only had to call for towels once and they came in 15 minutes. There is so much to do in Maui. We went ziplining, did a helecopter ride, spent a day in Oahu, snorkeled and more. The location of the hotel is peaceful and quiet. There is a grocery store across the street which was great for picking up food and drinks. The prices in Maui are not as expensive as they are made out to be we ate out everyday. One tip RENT A CAR!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdolezar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,118 - 2,124 of 2,636 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2009

This review portains to the ability to change dates. My wife and I booked a vacation at the Kaanapali Shores a few months back. We booked both the hotel and flight with the resort for the reason of convenience. My wife got a new job and was not able to take time off til September. In the past I had switched flights at no cost as long as it was 24 hours notice. To make a long story short I was on the phone talking to ResortQuest, NorthWest Airlines ( the biggest crooks of them all), world wide travel, and expedia for 7 hours over the span of 2 days. The change ended up costing just under $800! including $250 to change the dates (not the type of room, just the dates) for the hotel. If you need a vacation with the ability to be flexible for unforseen events DO NOT BOOK HERE! The change cost a 1/3 of the trip!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Choked09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Management at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2009

We were disappointed to read of the issues these visitors had to contend with related to their vacation date changes.

We would like to clarify that the charges related to that date change were not assessed by the Aston Kaanapali Shores Resort and therefore must have been related to the other parts of their vacation package arrangements (i.e. airline, car, etc.).

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We stayed in a privately owned condo at Kaanapali Shores last week and had a fabulous time. (www.Islandstay.net) The amenities in the condo as well as at the resort were awesome. The condo was clean, the king sized bed was very comfortable, the shower was always warm and the WiFi always worked. Great ocean view! The grounds were well kept, nice landscape, BBQ and tennis court onsite. There is a nice restaurant/bar if you want to grab something, both food and drink were good. Property is close to Kapalua, Kaanapali and Lahaina. Local grocery store across the street and Safeway 5 minutes away. We had a fabulous time and did not want to leave! We will definitely go back to Kaanapali Shores and highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SacFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kaanapali Shores. This condo resort has been around for a long time, but I was pleasantly surprised at the beautifully renovated room we had. We booked an oceanview one bedroom suite with Resortquest. Nice tropical furniture, new carpet & floors, modern kitchen and bathroom with granite countertops. The best part was that we had a gorgeous ocean view from every room (except the bathroom). We could see the whales from our lanai. The king bed was very comfortable, and my son had a good sleep on the pull out sofabed in the livingroom. He was disappointed that there was no DVD player in the room (not all the units have one). We bought some groceries at safeway and enjoyed having breakfast on the lanai. There is a grocery store across from the Kaanapali Shores as well, but it is not as nice as Safeway. Also, we went to the Mexican restaurant in the small plaza across the street and was not impressed at all - food was mediocre, served on paper plates, and very small portions.
The beach in front of the Kaanapali Shores was good for snorkelling. For sandy access, just walk to the left a bit to get away from the rocks. There are 2 pools - we swam in the pool by the beach and it was nice and warm! (not all of the hotels heat their pools). We did not eat at the restaurant by the pool but it looked very nice and was usually quite full.

I would recommend only booking the oceanview one bedroom suites (or higher category) at this resort, or you may get stuck overlooking the parking lot or the garden pool which is very noisy with birds.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelbyViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

The one-bedroom suite we stayed in is very spacious and well equipped. It even has its own washer & dryer! The kitchen has enough utensils to cook a full meal. Decorated may be a little dated, but otherwise clean and comfortable. Efficient staff lets us check-in in no time. The beach front is a bit narrow -- it'll be too crowded if only 50 people shows up tanning at the same time.

The corridors to the rooms are outside which is fine on a sunny day. You'd get wet if it rains, and at night it's too dark. They should install lights, motion sensitive if they're energy conscious.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueWhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We stayed for 11 nights in a 1 bedroom suite with an ocean room. We had our 8 month old with us and the size of the suites, along with a kitchen and laundry made it so much easier for us.

The hotel is large, but it never seems crowded and the visitors and owners staying at the hotel are very nice and talkative. The service was great overall.

The hotel is almost connected to this great boardwalk that you can walk all the way up to Whalers Village on. You can connect near the Mahana from the beach.

It was hard to swim in front of the hotel on the beach, but Kaanapali is so long that you don't have to walk far to find a nice spot, and it isn't very crowded at all.

The restaurant was pretty good and it had a nice look and feel to it, including a great view. The poolside service bar was under construction when we were there so we heard some renovation noises while at the beach pool.

Some of the suites are undergoing renovations as well, so sometimes you hear some noise. There was a large skip below our room where we could hear tradespeople dumping old toilets and whatnot into. At first I was a bit annoyed, but it wasn't noisy all the time and I understand that renos are needed at this hotel.

I saw two cockroaches but they were both already dead so no big deal.

The ocean view was ok... not as great as I expected, but I guess you pay for what you get. Most ocean view rooms at other hotels along Kaanapali cost a lot more. We stayed in room 612.

We didn't rent a car until the last three days of the trip from Budget down the road from the hotel and found that we didn't really need to mostly because of the baby and not wanting to go too far.

It was a very child friendly hotel and very safe. I enjoyed the pizza place across the way very much.

Not sure if I would stay here again, but that is only because I don't like to stay at places more than once in most cases.

Maui was also very windy when we were there. I wish it had been a bit warmer but oh well, better than back home!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashesval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Kaanapali Shores is the perfect mix of location, affordability and beauty! We had purchased a package from a travel site, were originally booked in another property, and then blessed with an upgrade to Kaanapali Shores upon our arrival! We were greeted by bellmen to help with our luggage and checked in quickly. The lobby is open and breezy, with a view to a bubbling waterfall and beautiful tropical foliage. Tiki lamps are lit nightly to the sound of a shell horn. The grounds are neatly kept, with a variety of flowers and foliage, and the two pools and two spas are pristeen clean. The larger and very spacious pool and spa are right on the beach, with a glass wind wall, a walk way and just a few steps separating them from the sand and ocean! The restaurant was a little pricey for every day, but great for our first breakfast and a treat, with pool and ocean views from the table. The one charge that surprised us was the $9.00/day parking fee--not mentioned in any printed or spoken information we received. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable, with sliding doors and screens so we could not only feel the breeze but hear the surf and smell the wonderful ocean air. We took pictures of rainbows and saw whales spout and one breach and roll, all from our bedroom window. We needed a crib for the 1-year-old, and it did seem a bit too small for him, but would work for a younger child. We would definitely return to this property!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikernanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £189 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing