We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for family getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2009

The stay at the Kaanapali Shores made our family vacation made more speical than we planned!
Since we had a 6 month old baby, we wanted to make sure that our stay, especially with baby, is comfortable.
The room was generously spacious and clean. Because room has kitchen and all the utensil we needed, it was so much easier to prepare the baby food.This was the main reason we didn't want to go to a hotel, but decided to stay at a condo.
Also, the housekeeping staff was very friendly and their timely response to our request impressed us. Their service level was 5 star hotel level!
Although the weather was too cold for us to go into the water, because of the ocean front location, we could enjoy the ocean view and beautiful Maui.
Overall it was a perfact stay for adults and babies.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainbow1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,082 - 2,088 of 2,617 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2009

This hotel has proven to be an excellent "getaway from it all". The room was spacious, clean and quiet with all the amenities of being at home. This hotel is not only located on a fabulous white sand beach, but it's also close to nightlife, shopping and dining. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

i had a person i work with recommond kaanapali shores hotel and i stayed a week on spring break with my wife and daughter and her boy friend in a 2 bdrm 2 bath.
i felt like i was at a 4star hotel in Paradise.
the staff and facilities were excellent and i can't wait to go back again. of course Maui was fantastic also.
strongly suggest the Merriman Restaurant in Kapalua

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcbPortland_or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon trip to Hawaii. We stayed in a 1 bed condo. We had booked a basic 1 bed but were upgraded to an ocean view condo and were given a lovely bottle of champagne to congratulate us on our marriage. The condo was very big, every need covered in the kitchen however we were a little disappointed by the size of the beach. On the website the beach looks about twice the width if not bigger - personally I think it was a camera trick to make it look bigger! Also the restaurant and bar in the complex closes at 9.30pm. There is nothing else for night time within walking distance i.e. restaurants or bars. The Whalers Village is a 10 minute bus ride away and this has a few restaurants and bars and there are other hotels close by to the Whalers Village where you could perhaps have a bite to eat or a drink, however most bars close at 10.30pm. The bus is only once every hour but it is always on time and has you to The Whalers Village in 10 minutes but it finished up early so you have to get a taxi back. Alternatively you can drive somewhere but we both wanted to relax with a drink so we found the Aston Kaanapali Shores a bit isolating for night time.

We would recommend it to families as opposed to singles or honeymooners who want a bit of a night life.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Management at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2009

We were very pleased to read of your general satisfaction with your Kaanapali Shores experience. We did want to add that as is true with all of Maui's beaches, their size (the amount of sand) fluctuates throughout the year. Storm weather tends to wash some of the sandy area away, but shortly afterward it washes back in and returns to its more normal size (as shown in our picture). Not a camera trick...I promise! Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Our family stayed previously at the Kaanapali Shores in December 2007 and at that time a only gave it three out of five because there were issues with the room maintenance and appliances.

This time we stayed in a two bedroom oceanview room for 10 days in Aprill 2009. The room had been renovated, all of the appliances, fittings, TV's, plumbing, etc. were in good working order.

We cooked all the meals for us and 4 kids and the kitchen was quite practical and usable for a long stay with a family.

The beach was nice. What we hadn't realized with our last stay was if you head to the beach and go left 50 yards you will hit a nice sandy coral-free area that is great for swimming.

We snorkeled right off the beach and were in the pools every day. We had quite a good view over the pool beach and ocean.

Several times while on the beach in front of the hotel we saw Humpback whales spouting and breaching.

The only downside was the towels were not well stocked at the pools. The kiddie pool never had any towels stocked. The adult pool was often out of towels. We had to trek to the front desk to get towels for the pool. Other than that everything was great.

Overall this is a very nice place for a family with small kids to stay.

We will stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trilinearmipmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We stayed here for five days (after five days in Waikiki). Room was basically a condo setup. Living/Dining room combo. Full kitchen with dishes, pots, pans, utensil etc.
Grocery store across the street. View from 7th floor "garden view" was great. We could watch the whales from there. Beach was small but enjoyable. Only a ten minute drive into Lahina which is a great little town for eating and shopping. Be sure to eat at the Aloha Plate behind the Cannery Mall - a very short drive. Took Pacific Whale watch tour too. A truly relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggiepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We traveled with a grandparent and an 8 yr old. Stayed in a 2bd/2bth with Ocean View. When we arrived we were offered an upgrade to the Aloha Suite, #801 at a 40% discount. We decided to take the Suite for days 2-7. The first room, was fantastic. After staying at hotel rooms in the past, this condo was wonderful. Granite Countertops, all new appliances, very nice decor. Look at the hotel's website for room location. Not all rooms have been updated, and per the reader reviews, I was sure to ask when checking in. I was pleased to find out our room was. From our balcony, there was a beautiful view of the garden pool, all the beautiful plants, grassy area, and of course ocean view. Keep in mind, you are not steps to the ocean, but just a very short walk away. This room was heaven, I thought until we move into the Aloha Suite the next day. The Aloha suite was well worth the extra money. It was over 1500 sq feet, with 498 sq ft of Lanai and all beach front. It was great to sleep with the sliding glass doors open hearing the waves crash. From the bed, all you see out the door is ocean. You are so close, you dont even see the sand. What an awesome view too, we even saw a few whales. This room too was fully stocked with pots/pans, everything you need, even a blender! We ate many meals on the balcony. Go to Star Market, walking distance from hotel. Take the shopping cart back to the hotel, not a problem. We found prices better than SafeWay even with club card. In the same shopping center with Star Market is Maui Dive shop where you can rent snorkel gear. Its cheaper than at hotel. If you plan on doing many days of snorkeling, get the weekly rate. You can check the Maui Dive Shop website too. As far as attractions, we opted to listen to the Expedia attraction orientation the first morning there. They give away two of the attractions, one in which I won! It was a trip to Hana. 11 hours guided tour. It was worth $98 a person. We bought the other 3 tickets for our group, and it was well worth it. My husband enjoyed not driving, and was able to enjoy the trip as much as us. At points in the drive, the roads are very very narrow, and at some points are around windy cliffs, with nothing but a small guardrail between your car and the ocean below. The information provided by the tour was great, and we stopped in many places to take photos. Lunch was fully included, and very very good. Better than I expected. Lunch was in Hana, in an open air restaurant that is even one of Oprahs favorites. Another favorite was the "Reef Dancer". Its sort of like the glass bottom boat, where they take you out on a sub like boat to the reefs and you see the sea turtles and beautiful fish. They have 2 divers go down and point things out as well. Its well worth the price. Very nice people, and great with kids. There are several great places to snorkel for free, go by Black Rock beach, just a short drive. We saw a huge sea turtle there, it was so exciting. Great picnic tables for lunch, and free parking if lot not full. Otherwise parking under $10. The WiFi is free at hotel, however very weak. Parking $9 day, but plenty of parking, and covered and safe. Hotel restaurant ok, pricey for quality. All the fish and chips are made from Mahi Mahi, (I prefer Cod myself!). A favorite is the famous Pork Nachos. Yum. Eating out gets really expensive, so doing a little cooking saves alot of money. The kids eats free is only for lunch, not for dinner, which was disappointing. Lots of flies at this restaurant too! Oh, we saw so many rainbows, almost every day! The weather was cool, in low 70's, was hoping for mid 80's, but they were experiencing below normal temps for a while. Favorite restaurant was: Hula Grill in Whaler's Village. Very nice atmosphere, eat outside, take your shoes off, and dig your toes in the sand! Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeloveSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £181 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing