We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hawaiian Feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Hawaiian Feel”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The majority of the property only has 2 stories allowing you to get away from that typical city skyscraper type hotel and get that Hawaiian feel. The main building does have more floors for those who seek that. Each condo unit is quite different. Some may be somewhat dated and some are nicely renovated. The grounds are well maintained and has 2 pools. The beach is steps away. Go see Pat for Mai Tai Wednesday between 3:30 and 4:30 and be entertained by a local Hawaiian musician while you sip your drink. If it's a lavish hotel you seek then this is not the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coconut62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    403
    114
    70
    36
See reviews for
406
435
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Located right on one of the best beaches in the world, this is a more affordable option than many of the other resorts that share that real estate, but this place has just about all of the same frills as the others. The staff was nice, the rooms were spacious and comfy with fully stocked kitchens, and it was close to all the great attractions in the area.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view in the towers, do it, but the suites on the ground are nice too an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Whereas the inner hotel grounds have all to make this a nice property, the street side creates a cheap motel feel. The pool and beach are great. Some of the staff made us feel as if we should be thankful we could stay there. Household services are a joke.
We were unaware that smoking was not allowed on the large balcony of our room which was open on 3 sides. Apparently someone on a higher floor had complained to the management because we received a rather rude phone call from the hotel staff two mornings in a row. Upon check out we were charged USD 150 "Smoke Elimination Fee". I fully understand that smoking in a non-smoking room would incur costs to remove the smell. But how can the hotel charge for costs to eliminate smoke from an open air area? I asked the receptionist and he said it was a fine. Now, as far as I know, a hotel can charge for damage, but cannot slap customers with fines.
I would recommend anyone wishing to stay in this area to look for hotels left and right of the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas and give this one a berth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatFlinn, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Aloha-
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your stay. I would also like to say mahalo for the positive comments you made about our property. I would like to apologize for the challenges with communicating the smoking information about our property. Our property is a smoke free property with designated smoking areas and this should have been presented in a straight forward and easy to understand format. Clearly, we were not successful in communicating this info and I am sorry for the confusion this caused. I hope you will try our resort again if you return to Maui.

Mahalo
Pat Flinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

The resort itself is very nice. Great location. Pool is great. Grounds are nice. The beach is awesome. They just gave us the most horrible room in the whole resort. The AC never worked, the toilet kept malfunctioning, the sink would back up. All of this happened on the first day. The front desk hardly answered the phone. And they always seemed annoyed. They were supposed to move us but never did. We made the most of it. We were in Maui after all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blissfulhappyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatFlinn, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Aloha-
Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to provide our team with feedback on your stay. We review critical responses as a group and discuss how we can use this information to improve our delivery of services. I especially would like to thank you for
corresponding directly with me on some of the specifics. I am glad to here that you your holiday was enjoyable overall. I hope that you will contact me personally so I can assist with your next visit to our resort.
Mahalo
Pat Flinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We couldn't ask for more at the Villas. We booked a studio with garden view, but we ended up with a room with a partial ocean view! What a treat! The room was clean and the kitchen was ideal. We used the kitchen for breakfast and lunch, which saved us a lot of $. The grounds are well kept and we had a pool adjacent to our room. Few people used this pool because most were at the main pool by the bar. Thus, we practically had the pool to ourselves almost every day. The little restaurant within the property was very good. The beach was within a 5 minute walking distance from our room. Parking was also very convenient. Overall, great clean, quiet, beautiful place to be and great location, with easy access to food and ocean. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Great room: studio 256 in the Coconut Building. The second pool of the complex is right next door a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McPhisto02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

rented a one bedroom with a king and sofa bed. the room was reasonably clean, the sofa bed was chinese torture. I am allergic to polyester, and all linen in the hotel is polyester. In the morning we complained, and the front desk politely answered that the person in charge was not available. We spent the next two hours going to stores to look for cotton sheets ( yes , I would have paid) with no luck. I spoke to the desk manager later, who said nothing could be done. I suggested she get from another hotel, she refused, I then suggested she borrow from the spa, and she hesitated, finally she supposedly asked then and came back with a negative. I thensaid that as i couldnt sleep, would hve to check out, and she came right back and said " I can help with that sir" Talk about attitude. Please tale to the desk manager and tell her hotel needs guests!

Room Tip: bring your own sheets, apart from being of polyester, they are old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaz574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatFlinn, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Aloha,
I read your review today and wanted to thank you for taking some time to give us feedback about your stay. I am sorry to hear that you have an allergy to polyester.
This definitely provides us another opportunity to have an internal discussion about how we can serve our guests better. It clear we should consider purchasing some linen to address this. Our standard bed linen is 60 percent cotton and 40 percent polyester.

Please allow me to apologize that our Front Desk team was not able to find a quick solution to your challenge. I hope we will get another chance to make a better impression next time you visit Maui.

Mahalo
Pat Flinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in a studio unit in the Banyan Building for 9 nights. We had never been to Maui before, and we were very happy with our decision to stay at the Maui Kaanapali Villas.
Our room was clean, had a fully stocked and refurbished kitchen and shower. Maid service occurred daily.
The beach in front of the resort was beautiful and much less crowded than the Westin up the beach. Great snorkelling at Airport Beach and Black Rock.
We loved the location along the Beach Walk and walked every morning in one direction as far as the path allowed.
The main pool was very nice, and we usually had the smaller pool to ourselves in the afternoon (both with spas). Fresh towels can be exchanged through out the day.
We ate at Castaways three times, and had lovely meals at each time. Breakfast was large enough to split between my husband and I.
We enjoyed Happy Hour, and the Mai Tais and Lava Flows.
Staff was friendly and helpful. We took the Trolley to Whaler's Village once, but preferred to walk along the beach walk.
We always could find loungers on the grass beachfront and at the pool.
The grounds were immaculate. What we loved most about the Kaanapali Villas was how uncrowded the property felt. There was plenty of room for guests to spread out.
Overall, a fabulous place to stay. I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,032 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Property: Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9420 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing