We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a stay in Hawaii should be like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Excellent condominium hotel with relaxing atmosphere, quiet beach, kitchen facilities, a terrific restaurant on site, and wonderful people working there to help you.

I was looking for a room on the West side of Maui that reminded me of what old Hawaii was like - not too "hotelly" but with modernized facilities and amenities that reminded me of the feeling of old Hawaii - that is that you know that you are in Hawaii and not some other resort. This condominium hotel really fit the bill. The grounds are beautiful, the experience is relaxing, and much of it has been renovated recently. This is an excellent place to get away, relax and enjoy the experience of Maui.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2010

Maui Ka'anapali Villas is a truly unique and restful place in an area abounding in faceless highrises. It maintains its low-key charm and unhurried pace - the staff are wonderful and genuinely warm. It vies with the high end market with its beautiful landscaped grounds, expansive beachfront, and fully appointed condominium rooms. The one I stayed in was newly remodeled and gorgeous. In January, I saw whales off the coast as I dawdled over breakfast on the Castaway's Restaurant lanai. The Ka'anapali trolley (free!) is great fun as it transports you to Whaler's Village for shopping and dining. But a highlight is to go the beach and watch the sunset.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank writer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed in one of the the 2nd floor condos, nice but a bit dated and the bed was a murphy bed that was not very comfortable. The grounds were very tropical and exquisite. The restaurant is right on the beach and was a nice place to go for sandwiches and drinks. The pool was clean, a good size but it was very cold. The fitness center looks like it was a afterthought so if that's important to you try another resort. Now for the location, it doesn't get any better when you're on a beautiful large clean beach that you can take long walks on without being crowded. If you're on a budget and looking for a good value I would recommend the Maui Kaanapali Villas.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itsmejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

My friend and I stayed in a studio apartment at the back end of the Maui Kaanapali Villas. The room was perfect, well furnished and clean. The value was great, centrally located on Maui to get to the various parts of the island. We appreciated staying at the back of the property as it was cheaper but still had a great resort feel. We liked having the small kitchen, so that we didn't have to find a place to eat breakfast everyday. The beach was beautiful, and was not too far from the room, even at the back of the resort. I would definitely visit again, and try to stay in the same room!

Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
Thank corycory19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This hotel was quiet, spacious, clean and in a great location. The staff were great and the restaurant served some of the best food I had on vacation. True the entire facility could use some paint and updated decor but my only real complaint was the work out room. I was pretty disappointed to discover the workout centre was a SMALL old shed converted into a gym. I would go back in a second if they put some money into a decent workout centre. The grounds were amazing and the pool was great.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon. We were both very happy with everything. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was neat and clean and the facilities were great. Having a small kitchen was great for tea and coffee and snacks so we didn't have to eat out constantly. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the room overall comfortable and relaxing. The grounds were lovely and we were well able to get around to the places we wanted to see. The place was quiet and the pool and beach were beautiful. The cafe on the grounds was great for basic fresh food and the convenience store on the property was great for necessities. Overall we wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place to anyone and we would certainly return!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PercyKittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Beds were basic and furnishings were simple; OV studio was spacious, clean and had a full kitchen with a full size coffeemaker, blender, etc. Buy large jugs of water at Safeway as Hawaii hotels tend to have heavily chlorinated water and it does not make for good coffee. Huge bathroom lined with mirrors with excellent lighting. Prices were around $140 per night less than the hotel hosting the event I attended. Floors in the Aloha tower from 3rd-6th have rudimentary balconies but you can open the glass doors and put your front legs of the chair out. Still a very lovely sitting area even though you can't actually sit on the balcony. Ask for a quiet room and you won't be put too near the highway which runs next to the ends of the wings of the Aloha Tower. This is a quiet resort, not a party-style place with loud rowdy drunks. Ocean Side rooms have a substantial lanai or patio although they are only 1-2 floors in the two bldgs nearest the ocean (with pool/garden view). The restaurant was nice and service laid back. Sit at the most remote table by the beach outside and watch the wall geckos. Great snorkeling up the beach north (short walk on the beachwalk path) and you can walk though the resort area on the beach walk from this hotel through the south end of kaanapali beach, although it is easy to lose the path as it goes through the Sheraton hotel that is built on the Black Rock. Grounds are pretty and parking was pretty easy. $12.50 resort fee covers parking, phone calls, and internet ($25 per day at the fancier resorts).
Staff were very pleasant with one exception and not a terrible one (guy just seems too tired to move from his position leaning on the front counter to accomodate customer requests).
If you want luxurious mattresses and four star treatment, pay the extra bucks. If you are a relaxed independent traveler, you will get your money's worth here. The kaanapali trolley stops right in front of the lobby and covers the entire resort area including the Fairway shops.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DynamicDuo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4,222 reviews
1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9420 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £188 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing