We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice with a caveat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice with a caveat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

Good resort that they are in the process of improving but be warned the main building is under construction and will be for months. Noisy from 8am to 4:30pm weekdays so there will be no napping. Most of the one bedrooms are in this main tower so they will put you in a 'loft' instead (and call it a one bedroom) in one of the smaller buildings which doesn't work with young kids. No discount offered so I will complain here instead. They will not warn you about this.
Should be a great value once complete but prices will likely be hiked up.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    392
    113
    70
    35
See reviews for
393
422
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Conway , New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Still here for 2 more nights. The studio garden view is absolutely gorgeous. Clean, great view of smaller pool. Love the tiki torches each night, all over the property. This owner really did a great job decorating, wood floors and tile, real sweet , instead of rug. Being a motel owner myself I'm a little picky. Now the disappointing part. On day 1 we did not need housekeeping so we put the privacy sign up. On day 2 we needed at least a change of towels. We put the SERVICE please sign in the key slot at 9am. At 5:30 I called to ask if the maids were done. They said they were done by 4:30 each day. I mentioned the towels could become an issue. The front desk offered to send some up. We returned at 9PM to find still no clean towels, I called again. Someone did come up 10 min. later. Being a motel owner, we would of cleaned the room ourselves within 1 hour, if my maid had missed it. It has happened to us only once in 5 years of ownership. Guess it was just not my lucky day at a beautiful resort in paradise.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schoolhouse20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

The Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas deserves 1 star in my opinion but only because of its location. The main lobby and other parts of the main building are completely sealed off and under construction although they don’t share this bit of information on line. There was construction noise. Parking was taken up by constuction vehicles. They charge an additional $13/day facilities fee. Basics like the coffee maker and screen doors were broken. I was looking for a cutting board and finally found it in the dishwasher with a bunch of dishes (at least they were clean). Housekeeping finally left a box of tissues on day 4. Cheap cabinets and dirty carpet were part of their premium service. The bed had 2 completely different levels, one side of which was unusable. The "business center" consisted of 4 pay-as-you-go computers hooked up to 2 printers. You had to go though the torn up, under construction lobby to get there. I was in Hawaii primarily for scuba diving and so wasn't in the room much of the time. I'm a typical guy and so wasn't that bothered by the subpar accommodations but would like to warn others about this poorly run hotel that has a real problem about open disclosure.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiveNomad666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

I actually got married here on April 24th and everything was awesome!!! We are local residents and were so impressesd with Craig, Francis and the rest of the staff here to make our wedding day perfect. This resort is one the the best deals on Kaanapali. You can't beat the beach and location and they are currectly making renovations to update the resort. The rooms are big, spacious and clean. We were married on their ocean front lawn and had our reception onsite at Castaway Cafe. Thank you everyone at Maui Kaanapali Villas for all of your hard work to make our special day PERFECT!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leenie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKVguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Aloha Leenie,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize this beautiful property and our wonderful staff! We all appreciate your very kind words. We are happy to know that our Team at the Maui Ka`anapali Villas took part in making your special day unforgettable! We hope to share many more special days with you and your family for years to come!

Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
(With Warm Aloha)

Your Aston Maui Ka`anapali Villas `Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed in a studio with kitchen/garden view which was AWESOME. We could pick 5 different types of fruit on the grounds. Pool OK, great hot tub at pool. Grounds were gorgeous. We liked garden view better than ocean view, because people walked in front of ocean rooms patio to get to water so we had much more privacy. Great fully equip. kitchen with EVERYTHING. close to grocery stores so we cooked most meals ourselves. They also have very nice gas grills on property you can use.One great advantage was being able to park right outside our room {ground level} instead of a multi level. Close to everything. Very accommodating staff. Third trip for us, and can't imagine staying anywhere else. Very nice property at a great price, other comparable resorts showed age, not here. If you go, get the book about hidden secrets of Maui at ABC store, very very helpful. If water is flowing GO TO TOP OF 7 POOLS. AWESOME. This is a fabulous resort for the family. You won't want to leave. Also the best things on Maui are FREE, get the book !

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaguche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKVguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Aloha Zaguche,

We are always excited to welcome our return guests back to the Maui Ka`anapli Villas! Being in the “Happiness Business” it warms our hearts to know that staying here has contributed to many memorable vacations for you and your family. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our wonderful property and our beautiful island! We appreciate your kind comments regarding our updated facilities and amenities, our owners and staff work tirelessly to make this property a special place for all who come to visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maui Ka`anapali Villas in the near future.

"A Hui Hou, Until We Meet Again!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed here from April 20-27 Iam writing this while Iam still here relaxing the reason iam writing this review while Iam still on vacation is because of the service we recieved when we checked in they gave us room 145 at the banyan which was beatiful and newly renovated but was far from the pool the next day (Craig and Stephanie) upgraded us no charge to the water front and next to the big pool and didn't charge us a dime. This place will be our new home away from home thank you Aston kaanapali for giving us a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al_yesiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

Sadly this is my last night's stay at the Villas.
We were greeted warmly at the temporary reception desk (it resembles a motel reception desk, only because they're renovating the lobby).
The room is nicely equipped with a microwave, coffeemaker, and kitchen items, has a nice outdoor seating area, wonderful pool, and great access to a fantastic beach.
I'm so glad we took a chance with Priceline and got such a great place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyInCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.0 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Property: Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9420 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing