We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep looking, there are better places to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep looking, there are better places to stay!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed for 11 nights. The front desk staff were very unhelpful. The power went out due to a bad storm and was out for over a day. Nothing was communicated with the guests as to what the plan was and when we asked the front desk staff they appeared annoyed. We asked for a flashlight, but they said they ran out, so we had to go buy our own as well as candles. Housekeeping didn't come at all during the power outage. When we checked out, we were not compensated for the power outage and even had to pay the resort fee for that day when nothing was open. The pool was even closed. We couldn't do anything at the resort and went to neighboring hotels. Also, all of the creatures decided to desend on our room during the power outage, again, when the front desk was notified, they did nothing.
This resort also caters to the "older" group. If you are over 60 this is probably a great resort for you, but we were not and felt like we were vacationing with our grandparents. The people who own property there are also pretty rude to guests.
The restaurant is ok, but there are much better ones very close by.
We spent a lot of time at the Westin resort right next door and were very impressed with their hotel, and their service. We will stay there next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvTheBeach1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSands, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
Dear LuvTheBeach1973,

Aloha from sunny Kaanapali!

I thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Trip Advisor because it gives us an opportunity to truly gage how we are doing. In this case the service we were able to provide during the day of the power outage didn’t meet your expectations, and for which I apologize. It certainly was a challenging day for us because the storm that caused the power outage also closed the road between West & Central Maui. Consequently we had very few employees able to get to work that day which made it virtually impossible to service all the rooms, or to go door to door with updates. I sincerely apologize for this inconvenience and hope that we were able to get everything in your unit up to your satisfaction the following day.

I thank you for choosing to spend your Maui Vacation with us here in sunny Kaanapali and apologize again for any frustrations we may have caused you during the power outage. Please know that we would love to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves by serving you again someday. Until then I wish you and your family all the best!

Me ke aloha pumehana,

Michael J. Sands
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    402
    114
    70
    36
See reviews for
406
434
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B.C. Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed in Unit 260 in Coconut Bldg. It was myself, husband and nine year old son.
POSITIVES:
So...first I must say that the unit itself was very nice. It was modern and very clean with full size appliances.
There was a walk in shower that was very lovely.
Downstairs had a King Size bed and sofa bed. We didn't use the sofa bed. But the King...very comfortable. It also had a flat screen tv that you could watch from bed. If you wanted to sit on the couch it was a little further away but you could turn the tv.
DVD was also availalbe.
...Upstairs: OMG my nine year old thought he'd died and gone to Heaven. There was a queen sized bed in the loft with it's own flat screen tv and dressers etc. And...his own bathroom with shower...all upstairs. (I slept upstairs one night and the bed wasn't as comfy as the one down. but ok)
This unit is classified as a studio with loft. The only other way to get any better would be by gettin seperate bedrooms. This worked for us becuz we had our own space/privacy.
Our unit overlooked one of the pools and for us was perfect. It was very quiet--most of the time--and the foliage is so beautiful. For an ocean view it was about 60-80 dollars more per nite but we really liked the greeen.
If you go here be aware that each unit is individually owned and therefore decor will differ.
Overall, we were pleased with the unit and found it very quiet, peaceful tho pricey...
NEGATIVES:
Travelling during any winter months you need to be prepared for weather etc. While we were in Maui we had three days of torrential downpours and flash floods. This of course put a stop to all activities like snorkling, whale watching etc. No worries...we'll jsut kick back and relax....well...the power went out.
We found out it was just our hotel and that it would basically be fixed in Maui time...
So...with no a/c; lights; internet; pool access (filters etc stopped)....it was a bit of a drag. The Mgmt kept assuring us that it would only be a few more hours...Well..by late afternoon we asked to be moved to anothr hotel becuz we had work (computer) work that needed to be completed. They got us one night at the Whaler.
**here's where we have the issue** The Mgmt did nothing to assist guests with this 24 hr outage. There was no communication--We had to go to the front desk several times and were made to feel like bad people. With this power outage...all our food was ruined....they didn't care.
We were paying in the neighborhood of 250/night --they just didn't care.
When we ret'd from the Whaler the next day...the a/c was still out. Then the internet went out....and the proverbially straw was when on one of our last days there they began jackhammering right under our lanai...couldnt even sit out there it was so loud. We called...they said they'd have it stopped...an hour later I finally went to the front desk and complained again....Should NOT have had to. Such work needs to be done on OFF season. There was no apology-- nothing...
Communication is key in the service industry and it was sorely lacking here. Though circumstances may have seemed extreme that is when Mgmt must step up and take care of the guests...go knock on the doors and tell people what's happening...offer them some ice for their fridge....maybe offer them a free drink....Something! Very disappointed
...if you are going here...and it is nice...throw your own spices in your suitcase and foil/cling wrap...that sort of stuff isn't supplied in unit 260. Just your cooking stuff. I had to go out and buy all this stuff...that's a drag.
Aloha.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSands, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
Dear CanuckMama,

Aloha from sunny Kaanapali!

Mahalo for your very positive comments about this awesome property and its amazing attributes! I was very glad to read that you and your family were so delighted with the accommodations we provided for you and how much you enjoyed your stay here despite the inconveniences associated with the power outage.

I would like to apologize for the service shortcomings you describe on the day of the power outage, but am also relieved to know that you enjoyed the alternate accommodations we were able to provide for you at the Whaler so that you didn’t have to stay on property through the whole outage.

It certainly was a challenging day because the storm that caused the power outage also closed the road between West & Central Maui. Consequently most of our staff was not able to get to work that day and we just didn’t have anyone available to go door to door to keep everyone updated with the progress of the electrical repairs.

Please know that we did everything in our power to expedite repairs that day. We had the Maui Electric Company Emergency Repair Team as well as the top Electrical Contractor here on Maui (10 persons total) on property and working as fast as they could to make the necessary repairs. The lightning strike that caused the damage made a mess of our main electrical switch gear and considering the amount of damage involved it was an amazing achievement that they were able to get the power restored by 7:15pm that same evening. I guess the good news is that since lighting never strikes the same place twice… it’s safe to say that it’s very unlikely this will ever happen to us again!

I apologize again for any frustrations that the power outage may have caused you and am very glad that we were able to provide you with alternate accommodations at our Sister property (the Whaler) during most of the outage. I thank you for choosing to spend your Maui Vacation with us here in sunny Kaanapali and hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again someday. Until then I wish you and your family all the best!

Me ke aloha pumehana,

Michael J. Sands
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Walking distance to beach/water; seemed like spot for long term vacationers and not for short stay visits. Rooms were very outdated with pink tile in shower/bathroom. Decor was very old.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSands, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
Dear KatieB26,

Aloha from sunny Kaanapali!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review because it is through feedback from our guests that we can truly get a feel for how we are doing. Please accept my sincerest apology that the room we assigned you did not meeting your expectations. Please know that in addition to all the recent exterior renovations that have taken place over the past several years we also have a very aggressive unit interior renovation program and are constantly working towards upgrading our accommodations.

I apologize again for your unit not being up to your expectations, but hope that you were otherwise able to enjoy your stay at this awesome property. It truly is an amazing place! I thank you for choosing to spend your Maui Vacation with us and sincerely hope we have the opportunity to serve you again someday. Until then I wish you all the best!

Mahalo nui loa!

Michael J. Sands
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

The hotel itself is very nice. The location has beachfront access, 2 pools, an on-site restaurant, and the landscaping is filled with palm trees and flowers. We stayed in the Coconut building. Our room had a nice King size bed, a full kitchen (with refrigerator, stove, and microwave). We also had a lanai looking out at the smaller pool. The beach is awesome, very little rocks like the rest of Hawaii. We saw numerous whales right from the hotel beach! Whaler's village is a 15 minute walk down the beach, right past Black Rock.

The downside to the hotel we felt was the service. First and foremost, the power for the hotel was out for over a day. I know they can't control the weather or the time to fix it, but there was no communication from the hotel staff about the outage. I had to go to the front desk to ask. Also, the outage forced the cancellation of the free Mai-Tai social. I was very much looking forward to this, but it was not rescheduled, simply canceled. During the outage they didn't clean the room or provide fresh linens, either. Finally, during the outage the creatures of the jungle decided to come out to play. We found a huge roach in our shower (which we had to take by iPhone flashlight) and a small dead lizard in our entryway (inside the unit). Yuck.

Make sure you take into account the $9 a day resort fee. This covers parking and the internet.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EverydayKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSands, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
Dear EverydayKnight,

Aloha from sunny Kaanapali!

Mahalo for your very positive comments about this awesome property and its amazing beach front location! I apologize for our service shortcomings on the day of the power outage. It certainly was a challenging day because the storm that caused the power outage also closed the road between West & Central Maui. Consequently we had very few Housekeepers able to get to work that day which made it virtually impossible to service all the rooms. I sincerely apologize for this inconvenience and hope that we were able to get everything in your unit up to your satisfaction the following day.

I thank you for choosing to spend your Maui Vacation with us here in sunny Kaanapali and apologize again for any frustrations that power outage may have caused you. Please know that we would love to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves by serving you again someday. Until then I wish you and your family all the best!

Me ke aloha pumehana,

Michael J. Sands
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Vista, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Really enjoyed our room in the Banyon Complex. We had nice bamboo furniture, complete kitchen. Staff was great and very helpful! Would stay again! Only thing is that the back hotel rooms are near the road, so you do hear some noise, but most of the condo's have the same problem. We we're not on the ocean front, but for the price we really enjoyed our stay. If you can afford it, get the ocean front!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nrcalsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed on the property for over a month. It 's low density on the quietest spot in Kaanapali is truly desirerable. No running down to place towels on the chairs by the pool, lots of great sandy beach out front and lovely grounds surround the condos.
Each condo is individually owned and thus there is a wide variety of bedding configurations and decors available. Many units are upgraded with new cabinets in the fully equiped kitchens, granite counter tops, tiled floors, flat screen tvs, etc.
The front desk, maintenance and housekeeping staff are friendly and do a great job to make the vacation the most memorable.
It has all the amenities you need with two pools and twp hot tubs, spa, onsite Castaway's Cafe (best selection of wine anywhere), the free Kaanapali Trolley to visit other complexs and Whaler's village, beach shack (snorkel equip., paddle boards, beach chairs, sailboats all available to rent and no charge to watch the whales, dolphins and turtles going past in the water.
Does it get any better than this?? We loved it. Thank you MKV.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loveholidaysKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2011

So disappointing that management doesn't want to fire up the boilers on windy, cloudy days. The ocean is warmer than the pool by far. With such a large daily resort fee, would expect a heated pool.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSands, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
Dear Swimmer67,

Aloha from sunny Kaanapali! Please know that after reading about your disappointment with the temperature of our pool we took steps to increase the temperature to ensure it is kept warmer.

I thank you for taking the time to post your comments because it gave us an opportunity to learn from your experience and take steps to correct the situation.

Mahalo nui loa,

Michael J. Sands
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
3,998 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Property: Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9420 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing