We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Dodgeville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I traveled to Maui with my son and his family. The condo at Papakea allowed us to feel right at home with three bedrooms, two bathrooms and laundry facilities. This was the first trip to Hawaii for my 11-year old grandson and my 3-year old granddaughter. Even though we were right on the ocean, the pool was perfect for the grandchildren. Having access to grills was perfect. We visited a local fresh fish market and grilled mahi-mahi one evening. Like I said, I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    370
    158
    84
    49
See reviews for
403
385
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for a week in unit E403 after finding it on VRBO and booking it via Paradise Living Properties. At first I was a bit nervous since there were few reviews and little information on PLP, but everything turned out fantastic. E403 is a 3/3 unit on the 4th floor with an upstairs loft. The view was simply breathtaking. The unit itself had decent upgrades throughout and most everything was in working order. The resort is located at the very north end of Kaanapali Beach and while there is no beach directly in front, it's a quick walk next door to Aston Kaanapali Shores (which allows full access of amenities being a sister property). There is a convenient shopping center across the street with a Snorkel Bobs, L&L, pizza, grocery store, ect. The grounds are beautifully maintained full of mature trees and vegetation... Something you just won't find at newer condos such as Honua Kai. Customer service is minimal being a condo complex without a restaurant or bar on site (although they do serve complimentary Mai Tai's and snacks Thursdays at 4pm at the south pool). Interactions though with maintenance, security, and front desk were alright. Speaking of front desk, the Expedia girls located in the lobby are FANTASTIC. Their knowledge is endless. We booked Kapalua Zipline through them simply based off their recommendation. The BBQ's surrounding the pools were a big hit and used by many. They have just enough so we were never waiting. As for the cons: It appears only the south pool is heated which was a bit inconvenient being next to the north pool in January. The south spa broke mid trip leading to a packed north spa. The elevator in building E was broken for 2.5 days so we had to use building F which connected thankfully. Parking, while plenty, the spaces are extremely tight. I wouldn't be surprised if door dings are common here. All in all we had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

Room Tip: Units are individually owned. Some are upgraded some are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jetsgopro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

First trip to Maui and looking forward to going again and will likely book with Misty again. She emailed pictures of the actual condo we would be staying in which made our decision easy. The condo was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy but decent. The view and the grounds were amazing. Watched the sunset with a glass of wine every night. Beautiful. The location is walking distance to a few stores and eateries. We used the gas grills every night for dinner, they were always clean and available. We had a rental car to explore much of the island and drove to snorkel and paddle board but honestly would have been fine without one. Groceries, fish market, restaurants, gear rentals, convenient store, bus line etc...all in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spent almost 2 weeks at Papakea over Christmas in unit E109. The kitchen had been redone and was very nice . We loved Abington coffee on our lanai every morning especially when there were beautiful rainbows. We really enjoyed our stay, the grounds are beautiful and the resort is very quiet which we were very pleased about. It was so nice to come back to a quiet place after seeing how crazy busy the hotels were along kaanapali hotel zone. We were on the main floor which was perfect with kids, we were right across from the golf green and pool. We never had a problem finding a place to sit by the ocean nor by the pool. There is a grocery store very close by as well as an ABC store. There is also a farmer's market which you can walk to 3 times a week. The resort is about a 5 min drive to Whaler's village and kaanapali Beach and about 10 mins to Lahaina. The only down side is that although the resort is ocean front , it is NOT beach front so you have to walk down a bit to swim in the ocean. The bed was also very hard but not a deal breaker. All in all I would recommend Papkea especially if you have kids, great pool area!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway NJ
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had spent the Christmas Holidays at Papkea back in 2009! Condo Unit H301!
So, early in 2013, I booked our December 2013, 5 night vacation on Maui, with "Maui Dreams Come True" as I did in 2009. Same exact Condo Unit; H301! The price had gone up a bit but what hasn't in the past 4 years?
It is an Aston Property and their offices at Papkea handle almost everything you may need or want while there! They won't loan you "Pool Towels" unless you booked with them we found out! They did respond to Oceanic Time Warner Cable and Wireless issues; though I waited almost all day on 12/22/2013 and they never showed up as they had promised on the phone the day before.
I opted for Maui Dreams Come True again due to the fact that "Misty" had done a great job back in "09"! I asked her to include a car in our booking as well since they got us a better rate than I could have received last time. Not so this go round! After asking "Carly" at Maui Dreams to cancel the approx. $750.00 car rental they had arranged I went ahead and booked a Ford Fusion at Avis for about $445.00 for the 5 1/2 days. No biggie! I use Avis a lot and it worked out well! The Ford Fusion was "Brand New"; 7 miles on it when we picked it up on 12/22/2013.
Our total price with Misty for 5 1/2 days ( Extra 1/2 day due to a 10:00PM Flight on 12/27/2013 ) was $1,427.58. Reasonable for the Holiday Week in Maui I believe!
Papakea is a somewhat smaller Condo Property compared to some of the others as well as the many hotels in the area. Beautiful grounds and adjacent to Aston Kaanapali Shores which has a beach and many more amenities not found at the more "Residential" Papakea. Swimming is possible at Papakea but the shoreline is quite rocky. Walk the 100 yards to Kaanapali Shores. There you will find some shops, a restaurant and a small grocery inside the main building.
Acroos the street from Papakea is a shopping "Strip Mall", as we say in NJ, containing a very adequate Grocery Store, Snorkel Shop, Pizzaria and other stores. You can walk out the front "Gate" ( you need your room key to get back in! ) to an ABC Store and Gas Station. Ever been to an ABC Store? Quite unique and filled with almost anything you may need or want while there.
Condo Unit H301 is in "Hula" Building which sits back as far as you can go from the pool area. It is a corner unit which gives you Ocean Views, Pool Views, Grounds View", from the Lanai, and a "Mountain View" from the living room window.
It is a one bedroom condo with complete kitchen, bath room and dining/living room. There is a washer/dryer ( 110 volt ) stacked laundry in a closet. Great for not needing as many clothes on the trip we took. Many water toys as well. Snorkel gear, Boogie boards Putter and golf balls ( There is a terrific putting green ). Two putting greens I might add since I left out the fact that the Papakea Property and Buildings are layed out in "Two" identical settings, side by side! There were all sorts of spices in the cabinets which saved a little money at the Grocery. We actually bought most of our stuff at Foodland where we are members of their frequent shopper's club! That's hilarious since we only get there every 3 or 4 years! Foodland is closer to Lahaina, about 5 miles south of Papakea. Lahaina is one of our favorite places that we have ever been and the reason that, if we return to Hawaii, it wil only be to Maui!
Do your "Due Diligence" when planning a Maui Vacation and, then, contact Misty at Maui Dreams Come True. I think they only handle Papakea Condos but you may find that that is where you really wanted to be after all!!!
Mahalo Misty & Carly!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDWBILLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed on the 4th Floor of Koa with a water view in a 2 bedroom with a loft and 2 bathrooms and it was a great stay - i highly reccomend it. great location (North Kannapali) with a Grocery store across the street

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The view is unbeatable! However, the beach within walking distance is not good for swimming. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and the spa. It's close to a local grocery shop and restaurants. We had a rental car so location is not a problem for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Property: Aston at Papakea Resort
Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing