We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome 9 day stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed 23 June 2014

L-205 We rented through VRBO and i am pretty sure that the condos vary greatly. It appears that they are independently owned and updates, quality and supplies depend on that owner. Ours was GREAT.

We awoke every morning looking up to a beautiful sky and waving palm trees, sometimes singing birds and of course sounds of the ocean, which was great for going to sleep to as well. Our unit was a 2 bedroom/2bath on the 2nd floor. Wonderful views, and although it is on the ocean our owner specifically told us that a swim-able beach was a short walk to the left (it really is a SHORT walk). Snorkeling is possible right in front of the building but I would recommend it for more experienced snorkelers with appropriate gear.

This unit was supplied to the roof. We went grocery shopping, to come back and find that we "doubled up" on a few things. Yes they even had mayo, ketchup and jelly in the fridge. Bathrooms had everything you needed and it appears that everyone that comes leaves something to replace something they used. It didnt stop at regular supplies either. There were boogie boards, snorkel gear, pool and sand toys ect. Kitchen had best amount of kitchen utensils/cookware as anywhere we have ever stayed (and that is a lot).

As far as the rest of the property, I had no idea that it had the "Aston" name on it. The are 2 pools, one heated, one not; a hot tub/jacuzzi at each and grills (really nice and clean..gas); beautiful grounds; and very helpful, friendly front office/main desk staff.

I would recommend a car. There are tons to do on Maui, even if you dont drive all they way across or around. Lahaina is about 10 or so minutes away for a wonderful luau and shopping. Hana Rd starting point is about 45 min away. Like to snorkel? There are tons of great snorkeling beaches in this area in 5 to 25 minutes away.

On the immediate road in front of the property is a grocery store(Times), it was actually cheaper than the store in Lahaina. There is a famers market on MWF from 7 to 11am to get fresh fruits, veggies and really good fresh bagels home made jellies and the like. On other days and later in the day the market is still there just inside and the people are very friendly and attentive. Walmart is about 25 min away. Between the three places you should be set, especially for a family of four like us.

Room Tip: L 205, great views and owners that care, worth what they charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank creekbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were very pleased with our time at the Aston at Papakea...I booked two rooms for a 5 night stay, a two bedroom for family, and a one bedroom for our adult daughter and her boyfriend..booking online is always chancy, but everything was great...nice view, clean and convenient to all the attractions. Our adult kids enjoyed renting mopeds to explore, and the concierge was informative during the morning orientation, and when coordinating ziplining, snorkeling, luau and parasailing for all of us. The daughter and her boyfriend did run into a problem with their room soon after checking in, and when I went to the front desk to ask to move them, this was accomplished with 45 minutes, to our great satisfaction. We will definitely be staying there again...

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to the ocean seem better than those further..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovestodrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We took this condo for 6 days in May and were generally happy. A little surprised however by the hype on Trip Advisor. It's fully equipped without being luxurious. The best features are the view of the sun set from the lanai, the garden access, proximity to a nice pool and the water front. Although there is no beach on this property walk south a couple of properties and you can access the beach - especially nice in the mornings. The condo facilities are fine - a few things missing like bread knife, cork screw that works, electric kettle, ironing board that folds without needing an engineer. There are plenty of bath towels although no pool towels which we had to get via the booking agent - something of a hassle. There is major renovation happening in the next building (D) although that didn't cause as much trouble as we had initially imagined - inclined to reduce day time sleep of toddlers. There is plenty of take away food - recommend the pizza in the car park immediately behind the property. Apparently the tacos there are also good.

Room Tip: Building G seems well located to pool and sea. Ground floor (or 1st in American English) iu\s good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We live in Canada and this was our first experience with VRBO. We talked and corresponded with Kim and Mary several times prior to booking. After a long day of travel, we were pleasantly greeted with that "touch of Aloha" that was promised in the VRBO ad for J-102. The place was clean as a whistle, updated from top to bottom, and while in the back of the building, had a great view of the ocean and other islands from both the living room and the master bedroom. It was hard to send that much money to total strangers but I would not hesitate to do business with this owner again. The resort grounds are absolutely gorgeous and we could hear both the ocean waves and the gentle noise from the koi ponds just outside this beautiful ground floor residence. We did not use it at all, but there was recently updated air-conditioning with a large remote control fan that looked like it could easily cool the whole house (not the typical window units we noticed on so many other units). These owners answered every question we had and did it in an honest and straight forward way. Our only issue was that there was no beach directly in front of the resort. A 1 minute walk across the lawn/beach to the resort next door and we had a beautiful beach to lay on and swim...just like the owners told us. I do research for a living. Compared to everything else I looked at, this unit was a bargain.

Room Tip: We were told to ask if the condo was remodeled and when it was remodeled and what was remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We recently spent a long weekend at this resort. Loved the beautiful view of the ocean and Molokai from our ground floor lanai (patio) where we ate breakfast each day. We were in unit A103. Some parts of the resort are still having upgrades, but there was no work going on by the time we checked in late Friday evening. The air conditioner unit we had was OLD and made a tremendous amount of noise the first night. My husband told the people at the desk the next morning and they sent some maintenance guys soon after. The old AC unit was removed and replaced by a brand new unit before lunch time. MUCH quieter and actually cooled the room. They also replaced a missing bulb in a lamp. The unit is a bit outdated, but was clean. Overall good value for the money, since you can snorkel right in front of the resort and walk a short distance to the next resort for a sandy beach. I recommend water shoes as there are rocks in the water. There are 2 pools and 2 spa pools as well as shuffleboard and a little putting area. The small kitchen has a stove, fridge, microwave and dishwasher.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great if you don't mind closing the curtains in the afternoon since you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konakine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is an older condo complex that has been well maintained and has beautiful grounds. It's quiet and family oriented. They are divided into two sections and each has a pool, spa, koi pond, shuffleboard, and putting green. We have stayed here 5 times over 30 years and it has been a great experience each time. In fact, our daughter was married there in 2009 and it was lovely! They were married on the grass by the sea wall at sunset, then we had the reception in the gazebo. The only complaint is the beach. There is a sea wall along the beach front, with some sand, then a reef beyond that. There is a walking bridge over a canal that connects you to the next beach and we walk over there or drive to the nearest park when we want beach time. The weather is usually a bit cooler than the town of Lahaina and you can feel the trade wind kick up as you get closer. This is nice and we don't use air conditioning, just the fans. We had a couple of issues with the unit we stayed in last time, but the workers were there within a very short time to fix them. They DO have very loud bull frogs that live in the koi ponds and we use a white machine to help cover the noise. There is a nice grocery store practically right across the street which is very convenient. If you stay there, be sure and try Slappy Cakes right by the store, the food is excellent!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face West and they can get really hot. We had a north facing room last time and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvergreenDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We rented from Maui Beach Properties and stayed in unit G-207 from April 18-25/14. We dealt with Bree & Dave who are both very accomodating. Before I tell you about the unit just let me say that the resort grounds are impeccable, and the resort has 2 pool areas with a hot tub in each area. There are little creeks stocked with Coy with little bridges crossing the creeks. Just walking around the grounds makes you feel good. Parking on the grounds is not an issue.
As far as the unit tiself, you could not ask for more from this unit. While the lino & carpet has seen better days (it is a rental after all), everything was clean and the view of the pool, hot tub area and the ocean from our 2nd floor lanai was nothing short of spectacular. The appliances looked new and pretty much everything was supplied for cooking your meals. I don't think anyone would find the kitchen lacking. The bedroom had a king size bed and was very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and about the only drawback was a small tub the size of a shower (we were told later it was the original and the owner was thinking about replacing it with a more modern shower stall). However, water pressure was good and we took showers in it. The unit also had an apartment sized washer & dryer which worked well. As a real bonus there were 2 beach chairs in the closet (which we used almost every day at the many bays & beach areas around). The resort itself does not have a beach area, but it is a short walk to one. Also left for our use were float boards, noodles and other assorted beach parafanalia. It seems that whatever is left behind by previous renters and is of any use, is left for someone else. We found that really handy.
There is a small mall within a few minutes walk which has a grocery store as well as various shops (pizza shop, souvenir shops, Snorkel Bob's which we frequented). There is also an ABC store within a couple of minutes walk which has pretty much anything you might need in a pinch late at night.
Anyway, I could go on & on but this unit definitely made our vacation very enjoyable. We would not hesitate to go back to this resort.

Room Tip: Units not facing the ocean would have a view of the pool area also. Depending on unit & building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe-Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,583 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,164 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £155 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing