We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I am currently staying here for a week on my honeymoon. The first shock I received was the "additional " charges I was to pay when we arrived. $15 a day for "incidentals" such as golf clubs and tennis rackets which we do not even play. An additional $26 a day for I don't know what, along with a $50 deposit. I protested but had no choice but to pay if I wanted a place to stay. The room itself was a shocker! Dirty carpet, molding missing from baseboards and an overall used and old apartment feel. I will NOT return to this establishment. Cannot even walk to "beach"; it's all barricaded off and unable to even touch water. I stayed in Maui 5 years ago and that is the reason I returned. The Maui Ocean Club was awesome and when I do return it will be at that resort. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Charla1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    381
    165
    85
    51
See reviews for
415
397
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We basically stayed here because it looked nice and was a lot cheaper than most other places. We weren't disappointed, our 2nd floor apartment overlooked the pool and the sea and the apartment was lovely and spacious and was well stocked.
There were shops nearby within a five minute walk and the beach about 100 metres away.
It was only a 20 dollar taxi fair into town and when we hired a car it was free parking at the hotel (unlike most others)
My only complaint was the air conditioning which was ancient and loud but still more than happy with everything, we would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in building K and were completely surprised when we opened the door to a clean but OLD not remodeled unit. We had seen so many of the newly remolded rooms on here and on VRBO so were sure we would get a great room. Not!!! The view and grounds were amazing. I'm not sure why so many great reviews on here. I feel the need to be as truthful as possible so you know what to expect. If you make sure to get the remodeled unit then all is great. Was very displeased with the older room.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great ocean view. And make sure at booking and when arriving that you have a new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WAdkins20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

L-205 We rented through VRBO and i am pretty sure that the condos vary greatly. It appears that they are independently owned and updates, quality and supplies depend on that owner. Ours was GREAT.

We awoke every morning looking up to a beautiful sky and waving palm trees, sometimes singing birds and of course sounds of the ocean, which was great for going to sleep to as well. Our unit was a 2 bedroom/2bath on the 2nd floor. Wonderful views, and although it is on the ocean our owner specifically told us that a swim-able beach was a short walk to the left (it really is a SHORT walk). Snorkeling is possible right in front of the building but I would recommend it for more experienced snorkelers with appropriate gear.

This unit was supplied to the roof. We went grocery shopping, to come back and find that we "doubled up" on a few things. Yes they even had mayo, ketchup and jelly in the fridge. Bathrooms had everything you needed and it appears that everyone that comes leaves something to replace something they used. It didnt stop at regular supplies either. There were boogie boards, snorkel gear, pool and sand toys ect. Kitchen had best amount of kitchen utensils/cookware as anywhere we have ever stayed (and that is a lot).

As far as the rest of the property, I had no idea that it had the "Aston" name on it. The are 2 pools, one heated, one not; a hot tub/jacuzzi at each and grills (really nice and clean..gas); beautiful grounds; and very helpful, friendly front office/main desk staff.

I would recommend a car. There are tons to do on Maui, even if you dont drive all they way across or around. Lahaina is about 10 or so minutes away for a wonderful luau and shopping. Hana Rd starting point is about 45 min away. Like to snorkel? There are tons of great snorkeling beaches in this area in 5 to 25 minutes away.

On the immediate road in front of the property is a grocery store(Times), it was actually cheaper than the store in Lahaina. There is a famers market on MWF from 7 to 11am to get fresh fruits, veggies and really good fresh bagels home made jellies and the like. On other days and later in the day the market is still there just inside and the people are very friendly and attentive. Walmart is about 25 min away. Between the three places you should be set, especially for a family of four like us.

Room Tip: L 205, great views and owners that care, worth what they charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank creekbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were very pleased with our time at the Aston at Papakea...I booked two rooms for a 5 night stay, a two bedroom for family, and a one bedroom for our adult daughter and her boyfriend..booking online is always chancy, but everything was great...nice view, clean and convenient to all the attractions. Our adult kids enjoyed renting mopeds to explore, and the concierge was informative during the morning orientation, and when coordinating ziplining, snorkeling, luau and parasailing for all of us. The daughter and her boyfriend did run into a problem with their room soon after checking in, and when I went to the front desk to ask to move them, this was accomplished with 45 minutes, to our great satisfaction. We will definitely be staying there again...

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to the ocean seem better than those further..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovestodrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We took this condo for 6 days in May and were generally happy. A little surprised however by the hype on Trip Advisor. It's fully equipped without being luxurious. The best features are the view of the sun set from the lanai, the garden access, proximity to a nice pool and the water front. Although there is no beach on this property walk south a couple of properties and you can access the beach - especially nice in the mornings. The condo facilities are fine - a few things missing like bread knife, cork screw that works, electric kettle, ironing board that folds without needing an engineer. There are plenty of bath towels although no pool towels which we had to get via the booking agent - something of a hassle. There is major renovation happening in the next building (D) although that didn't cause as much trouble as we had initially imagined - inclined to reduce day time sleep of toddlers. There is plenty of take away food - recommend the pizza in the car park immediately behind the property. Apparently the tacos there are also good.

Room Tip: Building G seems well located to pool and sea. Ground floor (or 1st in American English) iu\s good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We live in Canada and this was our first experience with VRBO. We talked and corresponded with Kim and Mary several times prior to booking. After a long day of travel, we were pleasantly greeted with that "touch of Aloha" that was promised in the VRBO ad for J-102. The place was clean as a whistle, updated from top to bottom, and while in the back of the building, had a great view of the ocean and other islands from both the living room and the master bedroom. It was hard to send that much money to total strangers but I would not hesitate to do business with this owner again. The resort grounds are absolutely gorgeous and we could hear both the ocean waves and the gentle noise from the koi ponds just outside this beautiful ground floor residence. We did not use it at all, but there was recently updated air-conditioning with a large remote control fan that looked like it could easily cool the whole house (not the typical window units we noticed on so many other units). These owners answered every question we had and did it in an honest and straight forward way. Our only issue was that there was no beach directly in front of the resort. A 1 minute walk across the lawn/beach to the resort next door and we had a beautiful beach to lay on and swim...just like the owners told us. I do research for a living. Compared to everything else I looked at, this unit was a bargain.

Room Tip: We were told to ask if the condo was remodeled and when it was remodeled and what was remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Property: Aston at Papakea Resort
Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing