We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, noisy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Location, noisy rooms”
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We had a 7 day stay at the Papakea recently. The location is nice , close to many restaurants and shopping. It is at the north tip of kaanapali beach. The unit we stayed in was oceanfront so the view was awesome. We really didn't use the facilities that much as found it much nicer going to the beach. Our unit was updated and comfortable except for the fact the bedroom backs on to the parking lot area and the noise was really noticeable. When people were talking outside, you could hear every word clearly. Secondly, we were on the third floor yet still had small ants regularly in the unit.

As we did not spend a lot of time in the condo, the drawbacks were not that big. For the money we spent, the unit was likely worth it although we would probably look t other options if we went back.

The front desk staff were very nice to deal with and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordKend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    379
    164
    84
    51
See reviews for
411
396
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Our family of 4, which consisted of 2 married couples, stayed at the Aston Papakea 9 nights in May. We had planned to travel to Mexico but had to change our plans due to the swine flu scare. We made reservations last minute and got a great rate at the Papakea.
First of all, the service from the front desk staff was the BEST!! They allowed us to check out a couple of rooms and choose the one we wanted.
We stayed on room F405, which is on the top floor oceanFRONT. The view was beautiful! The condo itself was OK. It was two full bedrooms plus a loft and three bath. The only complaint we had was we were two married couples and the extra private bedroom was 2 twin beds while the loft had a queen. Not much privacy in a loft. We chose this room, though, so no complaints. The unit could use some upgrades and better quality living room furniture as well as a better stocked kitchen. The view and location made up for the rooms deficiencies.
The location of the property is nice. Walking distance to grocery, ABC store, FArmers Market, etc. Grounds are lovely. Pleny of loungers, nice pools, two hot tubs, trees, flowers and koi ponds. I would recommend the management add some shade areas such as palapas or somewhere to get out of the sun when on the beach or by the pool. Many people prefer shade to sun and there wasn't much.
Overall - SUPER place to stay and would highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Can_we_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Have never had anything better...and don't think I'll ever find anthing better on the beach in North West Maui.

Guests are friendly

We have return every year for the last 7 years

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moravecglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

The unit we stayed in (L403) was fully oceanfront. Not an "oceanview". Fully oceanfront. We kept the sliding glass door open every night and we all fell asleep to the sound of the waves. We sat on the lanai and watched the whales at all hours of the day. The unit had an upgraded kitchen and upgraded baths. I recommend this unit, or at least staying in any unit in the L building. I rented the unit direct from the owner on a "vacation rental by owner" site and saved a LOT. Contact me if you want their info.

The Papakea property is fantastic! It's very well-manicured and parking is free (that is a rarity). All buildings have elevators and parking was easy to find at all hours. There are two pools and it was never a problem to get a lounge chair. There are about 5 or 6 gas grills at each pool and they're in high demand around dinner time. The two large cabanas are free to "rent", with just a security deposit. Great if you have a large group. The lobby and garden staff were very friendly and helpful. The property has a lot of free perks for their guests, like water-aerobics classes, yoga classes, and putting contests on the property's putting green.

There is an Expedia desk in the lobby and on your first morning, they invite you to a free breakfast. The breakfast is just some Costco pastries and the seminar lasts about an hour. It was pretty informative and they gave away a ticket for a dinner cruise (for one person, which was a little shady, but, I guess it works for them) and a bus trip to Hana. I won the Hana trip and went. It was great!

You can walk to the grocery store across the street. In the same shopping center are also a dive shop for your snorkel rentals, and a very popular coffee house (Java Jazz).There is no on-site restaurant, but there is one at the resort next door, and a few in the grocery store shopping center across the street. There is also a Farmer's Market a few days a week, about a 1/4 mile down the street. Make sure to go! You'll find a few things that you can't find on the mainland.

I recommend this property for anyone looking for a great time at a lower price. You'll save money cooking your own meals a few times on your trip and the units are condos. The one I stayed in was fully stocked with all the comforts of home. If you are looking to be waited on hand and foot, try the Ritz Carlton in Kapalua. If you want to stay in paradise and NOT spend three months pay, stay at the Papakea.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saruhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We stayed in Papakea L205 for seven nights in Dec. 2008 through VRBO. The location, amenities, and overall condition of the unit exceeded our expectations.
We enjoyed watching whales every day from the oceanfront lanai. In addition, a monk seal rested on the beach in front of the condo two days in a row. The sunsets were phenomenal! The two bedroom - two bath condo came stocked with lush beach towels, boogie boards, mats, etc. We also enjoyed the games and DVDs and appreciated the well-stocked kitchen. The decor is very tasteful and up-to-date. The big screen TV and computer are nice additions as well!
The grounds and pools at Papakea are very well maintained, and security personnel patrol the grounds regularly. Although there is no restaurant at this complex, there is a good one right next door at Kaanapali Shores. There are also other restaurants and a grocery store within walking distance.
We just booked our stay in this unit for this December, and we can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neverlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We arrived in the middle of the night after a 9 hour trip. Night manager was friendly and efficient. We checked in to Unit C305. The carpet is still stained and dirty (see earlier review). The next morning we requested a move. Moved into B202. All clean and fine. Grounds, pools and BBQs are cleaned and maintained every day by friendly staff. I think that every unit has a view of the ocean. Well maintained shuffleboard, putting greens and tennis courts. Aquacise classes in the pool 3 times a week. Farmers' market, mini-store (ABC) and Star Supermarket 5 minutes walk away.
The management should mandate a minimum standard of maintenence in the units and enforce it for those owners that wish to rent. Poorly maintained units drag down the reputation of the whole Resort.
Don't waste time going to the complimetary breakfast where the Expedia agents will try and sell you tickets to many events and tours. We paid for a couple and enjoyed them, but you can buy rush-tickets in Lahaina for the same events at discounts as big as 80%. Tourism is down by 15% from February last year, so you can get evening cocktail whale trips for $8 (last-minute) compared with Expedia's $44/each. We paid full price for a dinner theatre show of Ulalena (Cirque de Soleil) followed by dinner at Ruth's Chris's Steakhouse. Both were excellent.
If you want a quiet place, this is it. Not recommended for all-you can-drink or night life at the Resort. Saw a few families with 2-3 year old kids, but wouldn't recommend it for families with active, mobile kids or teens. We would return to Maui and Papakea again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JannerCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilbass
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2009

The resort was perfect for us! The property and location were great. If you are looking for something quieter, this is perfect! Our unit was adequate. Maui Dreams Come True was wonderful to work with! We would certainly return to this location. There seems to me much variability in the condo units depending on ownership.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Property: Aston at Papakea Resort
Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing