We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED THE PAPAKEA!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We rented condo # K-101 through VRBO for 11 nights. We were very happy with the condo as it was updated with new appliances, granite counters, slate rock shower, new furniture, etc. The grounds at the resort were very well maintained and beautiful! The location was also terrific. We could walk to a few other reosrts, shops, grocery and ABC store. I would stay here , again. It is great for families or for couples!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2009

..we stayed in the "D" units, which afforded a nice ocean view and of the grounds. The unit was very clean, not one bug found! ~ house keeping service good too. The Resort location was in the middle of beautiful beaces, close to Lahaina and walking distance to stores. There is no sandy beach in front of the unit, but we did snorkel just to the left where it is easy to enter/exit. A rental car was a must for us, allowing access to the other famous beaches and interesting touring around Maui. Do not miss out on the area snorkeling.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apdretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Stayed in condo unit f-304. It was a one bedroom, one bath oceanfront unit. We were to have been in a garden view, but were upgraded to oceanfront, which was amazing! I can honestly say that in all of the oceanfront rooms I have ever stayed in, this was the closest to the water. I felt like I was on the balcony of a cruise ship. The condo itself was well maintained, and clean. The bed was queen size, and we are used to a king size bed, so we had to adjust to that. The property is a little older, and the units are reflective of that. It is definitely not a 4 star property, but definitely a 10 star view! The grounds are immaculate. There is no beach, no restaurant or lounge on property, but that is not why we stayed at the Papakea. It is cozy. The staff is friendly. FREE PARKING!! A real bonus in Maui these days!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wewannagoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Thanks, the room, grounds, service was perfect!!! The grounds were very nice, pool nice, close to shops.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jax S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

I recently stayed at two Aston properties in Hononkowai that are right next door to each other. This one was the cheaper option, and boy, did it show. The condo unit was indeed oceanfront, which was great. But it was obviously an older unit, with a small, difficult-to-use and tiny shower and dated furnishings. Everything worked OK, but overall, it was cramped. Still, free parking and fast high-speed internet were fantastic.

In comprasion, the other condo I recently stayed at was the Aston Kaanapali Shores, which was a much better value. By spending just $25 more per night there, we got a heated swimming pool (the one here is pretty chilly) and a more modern condo with totally upgraded fixtures. Plus, the resort itself has more amenities, including shops, restaurants and an exercise room.

Overall, I'd try to book a better, newer Aston condo resort property before returning here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank california_vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

My family of five stayed here for eleven nights, our first two nights were at the Marriot Beach and Spa in Wailea and the last night was at the Royal Lahaina in Ka'anapali beach (so, 14 nights total in Maui). We wanted a condo style property for the majority of our stay. Knowing what I now know, I would stay at the Kapalua Villas, on the Ritz property as one must drive to the beach anyway if staying at the Papakea.

So, we rented a two bedroom through an owner. We stayed at K303 for around $150 a night NOT including taxes. Our condo's kitchen was well appointed. The BBQ grills around the pool were very clean, easy to use Weber grills. The Master was roomy enough, there was a sink outside the shower/toilet room. There was a styrofoam cooler and a rolling, collapsible cooler as well as boogie boards ( we left them, so I would imagine they are still there), The washer and dryer worked well, but did make the condo warm while drying. There is a sofa, a chair and a round glass table with four chairs, a small flat screen tv in both the living room and the master.

The first day we were there, the wind was so strong that playing at the sandy beach was way too windy for kids. One could see the sand coming across, it would hit you with such force that it was just painful!

Please note that the Papakea has NO beach in October. There is a sea wall that overlook
s the ocean on the back of the property, but one cannot swim from there as there are just waves crashing off the wall. Had we known that we would have to drive to the ocean for the children to play in it we would NOT have stayed here. That said, the pool was literally scrubbed each morning, the grounds were in a constant state of mowed, weed whacked, sweeping....someone was always cleaning something. The grounds were cleaned and well maintained.

If you have a family that likes to swim, please know that no floats or "annoying" games like Marco Polo are allowed in the pool. Ocean swimmers, know that you must walk to get to a beach and then it is super super windy and not "Ka'anapali" Beach clear.

There are great beaches nearby, like Napili Bay which was a great boogie boarding and snorkeling beach with tons of turtles, Kapalua Bay was gorgeous and had calm waters, Ka'anapali Beach was so clear and absolutely stunning!

All in all this place was just fine, older, not resort of hotel, so no amenities. Nothing wrong with the property, just nothing special. No sand or swimable beach in front of the property was disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank skoester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Our stay at Aston was great, ocean view was beautiful, good service, well equipped condos and they even had boogie board, towels, beach chairs and a complementary breakfast session that tells abt places to see in maui. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank met8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,607 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.2 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £153 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing