We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Relaxing & Breathtaking Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed 24 November 2009

My husband and I traveled to Maui for our anniversary trip. After faithly checking this website for reviews on the Papakea, I'm so glad we booked here!! It was absolutely the best rate and view I could've asked for. We had a studio oceanfront room, A103. It was perfect on the first floor. We would just walk out to the lounge chairs everyday or go for a walk along the beaches. This was our first time with a condo and it was a great experience. We ate breakfast every day on the patio & watched the sunrise. At night we'd open the windows to hear the beach waves crashing. I think I'm still on Island time lol!
Yes, there is a seawall in front of the property, which wasn't a problem at all. If we wanted the sandy beaches, we only had to walk to the properties next door. We were informed that any beach in Hawaii is open to the public, the hotels do block off or limit anyone to be on them. We had a breakfast orientation with Expedia, and Chip was very helpful with our bookings. I definitely recommend the zipline with Piiholo Zipline. It was our first time & the guys were great!!
Our room had full accommodations and plenty of closet storage for our luggage. I bought a bag of Kona coffee & realized the next morning I had mistakenly gotten the whole bean instead of grounds. Thank gosh our room had a coffee grinder, what a relief for a coffee lover! Anything I came across, we found in the room. The staff was very friendly as well.
ABC store is within walking distance & we made plenty of trips. There are markets in the area, but I recommend Safeway for the best prices. Ask the cashier for the rewards card if you don't have one, they'll give you an app on the spot & you'll save alot more. Downtown Lahaina is about 10 minutes away. It's great for some nightlife & late night shopping. You can park behind the Maui Theatre shopping center for $4 for the entire night. Don't get stuck paying a high rate per hour. Plus, most restaurants will validate, giving you a 2hr time span.
Overall, we paid a great price for our stay and I'm extremely happy we decided to stay here. Since my trip is over, I'm jealous of anyone who's planning to go here in the near future lol! Aloha!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tpiersanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2009

We rented a 3 bedroom/3 bath unit in the "D" building. Our group consisted of 2 couples and 1 single. It was great that we each had our own bathroom. The unit had 2 bedrooms (1 queen and 1 king) on the lower level and 2 twin beds in a loft area. The kitchen had regular sized appliances. The place was clean and bug free; which is a surprise for anywhere in the islands. We had a view of the ocean and of Molokai across the grounds and the pool. We had some problems with the fans and lamps (blown light bulb) when we got there, but maintenance quickly came to fix everything. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We wish would have stayed longer.

The area is nice, quiet, and peaceful. It is a short drive to Lahaina, and an even shorter drive to the nearest grocery store. There is no beach access right on hotel grounds, but looked like you could access it a little bit down the road. The pool was clean and well maintained.

We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rottiesX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We had a great time at this well kept resort. Great grounds, staff, security, and cleanliness! I must say we were one of the lucky ones in our group which asked for and received a ground floor ocean front room. Wow! 20 yards of freshly mowed green grass through the palm trees to the sandy beach. The resort shares beach property and a restaurant with the next door Aston property where the best part of the sandy beach is located. During our stay they had a large seal occupy part of our beach which kept if off limits to swimming. But just a few yards down the beach we could still get ourselves wet! Only drawback for us was parking was tight down by our room. But the walk was still less than 60-70 yards. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanAntonioGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We rented condo # K-101 through VRBO for 11 nights. We were very happy with the condo as it was updated with new appliances, granite counters, slate rock shower, new furniture, etc. The grounds at the resort were very well maintained and beautiful! The location was also terrific. We could walk to a few other reosrts, shops, grocery and ABC store. I would stay here , again. It is great for families or for couples!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

..we stayed in the "D" units, which afforded a nice ocean view and of the grounds. The unit was very clean, not one bug found! ~ house keeping service good too. The Resort location was in the middle of beautiful beaces, close to Lahaina and walking distance to stores. There is no sandy beach in front of the unit, but we did snorkel just to the left where it is easy to enter/exit. A rental car was a must for us, allowing access to the other famous beaches and interesting touring around Maui. Do not miss out on the area snorkeling.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apdretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Stayed in condo unit f-304. It was a one bedroom, one bath oceanfront unit. We were to have been in a garden view, but were upgraded to oceanfront, which was amazing! I can honestly say that in all of the oceanfront rooms I have ever stayed in, this was the closest to the water. I felt like I was on the balcony of a cruise ship. The condo itself was well maintained, and clean. The bed was queen size, and we are used to a king size bed, so we had to adjust to that. The property is a little older, and the units are reflective of that. It is definitely not a 4 star property, but definitely a 10 star view! The grounds are immaculate. There is no beach, no restaurant or lounge on property, but that is not why we stayed at the Papakea. It is cozy. The staff is friendly. FREE PARKING!! A real bonus in Maui these days!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wewannagoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Thanks, the room, grounds, service was perfect!!! The grounds were very nice, pool nice, close to shops.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jax S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
5.7 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £140 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing