We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for being in Maui, Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I booked our stay at Papakea directly through the Aston website. I don't know if I had too high expectations, but I would say I was just a little dissapointed with our room. Everything was just at par for us. The room had pretty much everything we needed, but it was just out-dated stuff. The toilet had a mind of it's own of when to flush and when not to flush, the shower was very small, but did the job. There plenty of plates and utensils. Air conditioner worked, wasn't cold, but was cool enough.

We stayed in E-308. We got a sneak peek at the other condo next door when it was being cleaned and it was absolutely gorgeous compared to ours, which dissapointed us a little, but then again it was privately owned and maintained.

So for being on the beautiful island of Maui, with a fantastic ocean view and at an affordable rate, I was content with the room. The grounds were kept at a very high standard, the pools and spas were fantastic, we grilled on the BBQ's a lot (saved lots of money), and were right on the beach. By the way, fantastic snorkeling right outside Papakea!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
There are newer reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2010

This is a great condo vacation rental. Close to all the events but allows some area away from it all too. It's a ocean front unit. This unit is a 2 br/2 bath with sleep sofa. There were 5 of us & it was fine. Has a fully functioning kitchen, living room, Lanai, wash/dryer in unit. There are elevators, 2 pools, hot tubs, Lanai area by the pool, several BBQ's, concierge service with Expedia in the lobby, tennis courts, putting greens. Loved this resort. The only things that makes it not excellent on eveything is no on site restaurant but not a big deal. One next door, several in close promitiy. And the fact for sleep quality. Not the units fault but people tend to forget that some might be sleeping. While the resort itself seems quiet, voices carry horribly and can be disruptive.
Had a great time and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruisegirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We rented this unit directly from the owner and was very impressed with the professionalism and communication. The unit is on the 4th floor (top floor) of block C. It looks direction out over the ponds, putting green, pool and onto the ocean. The view is amazing.
The unit is a 1 bedroom with a loft which was perfect for our family of 4 as the kids had their own space upstairs. The beds were a bit hard but not too bad. There is a great breeze that blows through the unit and we didn't even turn on the air conditioning
I was really impressed with all the small things in the unit as there was everything you could need for the kitchen (including a blender), washing machine (soap provided), some beach toys, putters for the golf course and lots of towels.
Absolutely no complaints with the unit it was perfect.
The facilities at the Papakea are good. There are 2 pools and we only discovered late in the trip that one near us is Not heated while the other one is. This didn't matter as the weather was really nice but it was good to find out. If you are going with kids, they are quite strict about the no toys in the pool rule.
Around the pool there are a bunch of barbeques which were really clean and we didn't have a problem finding one to use for dinner.
The beach out directly out front isn't the greatest as there is only a bit of sand at low tide and the water is up to the breakwater when the tide is high. However if you want just a few minutes down the beach to get sand.
Overall this is a very quiet resort and was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fisherhum007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I would rate this a super value in Maui. The view was great, with nice sunsets. The room we had was a little aged, but it served us well. The condo had about everything we needed. The beach is pretty short, but a nice walk south offers more. The pool is OK and several BBQ's to grill your food on. The grounds are keep neat and the staff and security was helpful. Chase 'N Rainbows was great to work with and I would use them again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idahodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

The Papakea Resort is a beautiful resort. The grounds are gorgeous, staff is incredibly helpful. We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite, that was immaculate. The view is awesome, especially during whale watching season. We watched many of them right from our private lanai. I would highly recommend the Papakea Resort to any traveler to Maui, and hope they will enjoy their stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chico60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

I stayed at Papakea in two different units, L-408 and B-102. One was an ocean front which was excellent, and the B-102 was perfect for my stay with my girlfriend because it was fitted out great, and just a walk to the beach. All in all it was a very comfortable apartment with ocean views, great sunsets, bbq's and a great pool.

I especially liked the shuffle board and the fact that it is right on the ocean with a small beach where I could swim. The walk to Kaanapali was great too. I would recommend it in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We were in Maui for our son's wedding. Almost all the wedding guests stayed at Papakea and they loved their rooms, the pools, spas, etc. Everything that we needed was within walking distance. We had a wonderful rehearsal dinner just next door at the Kaanapali Shores Beach Restaurant--walking distance. The Aston manager worked with the Beach Restaurant to make the food, slideshow--everything perfect! We also had an "Aloha Brunch" in the Papakea gazebo. The staff was very helpful. We'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orene1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,561 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,120 reviews
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £145 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing