We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT PLACE TO STAY WITH CHILDREN-Unit E-403”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We are back from a WONDERFUL vacation stay at the Papakea. Like many others who are un-sure about location and what a resort has to offer by just viewing pictures and hearing what they resort says, listen to me! Papakea has everything you need. We stayed in unit E-403 (3 bedroom, 3 bathroom -main floor had two KING size beds in each room, master had a huge bathroom and dual shower, other bathroom was spacious and had a bath for the kids) the next bedroom was on the loft and held two twin size beds and a bathroom with shower) the unit was decorated a bit different than any other place we have stayed, Red Carpet-very asian themed with large furniture, rather comfty. The kitchen had updated appliances and everything we needed. What we didn't have we ran across the street to "Times" grocery store. Drive south to "Safeway" for WAY better prices and if your on a tight budget do NOT go to the ABC store who wanted to charge 11.00 for a GALLON OF MILK! Seriously! The lanai had spacious views of the ocean and pool area. The staff, especially Gary the manager, Angela and Anthony were absolutely AMAZING. So kind and helpful! Anthony had so many good tips of places to see and was our verbal map while we were there. Angela helped us with all of our accomodations and was so sweet. Our children 2, 4 and 8 had such a great time swimming in the pool and in the ocean just to the left of the hotel. What makes this place stand out is that most of the condo's have little restaurants near the pool area..making their pool and play area so much smaller. Because Papakea does not have a restaurant the pools are bigger and more spacious. There are BBQ's to grill meats on for lunch/dinner and it's a great way to socialize with your neighbors. If you want restaurant, you can go right next door to the Beach Club restaurant. Also, the washer and dryer in the unit was a bonus. I can't imagine staying at a hotel now without all the immenities that the Papakea had for us making our trip so much more enjoyable. We will be back soon! Another bonus was the signs posted around the property stating that quiet time hours are from 10pm-7am...I found people respected that. If you wanted to make noise you could take a short drive to Lahaina! Awesome place! Will come again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YOUMETHEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

After reading some bad reviews I was skeptical on where we were staying. I was pleasantly surprised! Our room was great and we had a great view. We traveled with our 16 month old daughter and the resort had a crib for us to use.

The room was very clean and the grounds were impeccable. I can't say enough.

We stayed in room E301, I would recommend it to anyone that needs a 1 bedroom. We traveled to Maui for a family reunion and my Nana rented a total of 8 rooms, so we saw everything from a studio up to a 3 bedroom and they were all very nice. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

The only down side is there isn't a beach but there is a nice one right next door and they had nice lawn chairs on the lawn in front of the ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandp0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed at the Aston Papakea Resort last week in unit J306. The unit was small and dated. We were only there in this 1BD/1BA unit for 2 nights. I've included a few pictures of units J306 for your reference. The one thing that drove me crazy were the sliding doors throughout the unit. None of them glided easily and most of the time, I was trying to put adjust them back into the tracks! I wasn't just going to leave them the way there were in case my kids were to try to open the doors and have it fall on them. Other than that, unit was in working condition. Could use some upgrades though. White countertops were a bit outdated and carpets were a big muggy. Beach wasn't super great as it was full of rocks. I would drive 5 minutes to go to the Ka'anapali beach where the beaches were nicer - no rocks and was able to snorkel there too! Kids said they saw a sea-turtle out there! SCORE!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingSFMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I booked this condo through Maui Dreams Come True. The unit was K102 which was on the first floor with a walk-out that looked out directly to the pool. We had a partially obstructed view of the beach but it was steps away from the beach. The unit is very quiet and clean. While the decor is a bit dated, it had a dishwasher and washer/dryer. The area is very convenient to a grocery store, other beaches and downtown Lahaina. All in all, I would absolutely return to this unit and also recommend it. I would say it's a great place for a family to take an affordable Maui vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgalPeoria_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We spend 6 nts in this resort from June 29th till July 4th and found it to be a decent oceanfront accommodation for our family with two 12 year olds.We had a oceanfront 1 bedroom unit and the view from the lanai was outstanding.We attended the complimentary breakfast and orientation the next morning we arrived. Our suggestion would be to shop around a bit before you buy anything from them. We bought the Molokini snorkelling trip and the Drums of the Pacific Luau from them. The Molokini trip organised by the Pacific Whale Foundation was superb , although a little pricy! The Luau at the Hyatt is a good show with great food.
Papakea is not a fancy and luxury accommodation but decent,clean and provided excellent ocean views-perhaps about 20' from the ocean. And in Maui, you are out most of the day. We used the kitchen 3-4 times.
The drive to Hana was memorable one and we returned by the unpaved road to enjoy some of the astonishing views.Actually it wasn;t too bad if you get good weather.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Like others, I read all the reviews prior to our trip and felt reasonably confident that we would have a nice experience. Needless to say, we felt Papakea was better than advertised and worked perfectly for us. We reserved an ocean front (as opposed to ocean view) room but was notified at check-in that the OF room was not available for the first night. The resort made things right for us and we moved into our OF for the 2nd night. That was the only hiccup and really wasn't that big a deal. The grounds are great, the pools and hot tub are ample. There is no beach to speak of, but if you can walk 25 yards to the south you will find one. Grocery store right across the street. There is no central AC, but the window unit seemed to work fine. The rooms are basic, but comfortable and having the kitchen worked well and saved us quite a bit of $$$$. You can use gym next door for $10/day or $40/week. Chip at the Travel Desk was awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rolexjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I was a bit nervous when i booked my room at Papakea due to some of the reviews i read online. We could not have been more pleased with our room. Our room was ocean front with a kitchen, the place had EVERYTHING you could have possibly needed. We will definately stay there when we return, it was cheaper than other hotels and i can't imagine the others were better. At any given time you could find 4-5 workers manicuring the grounds which were beautiful. We found the staff friendly and helpful. I just can't say enough good things about this place, we normally have a knack for getting really bad hotels and were just elated when we saw our room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bindyboo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,605 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.2 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £154 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing