We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Papakea K203- Would go there again in a heartbeat.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Prescott, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Papakea K203- Would go there again in a heartbeat.”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I'm sort of apprehensive to write this review because I want to able to rent this unit again! But I can't help but let any potential renters, with understandable trepidation , know that this was a great unit (K203). We had read reviews for other units at this resort and were concerned we might find this to be on the list of "Won't go there again".

We had read the staff at the check-in desk was not particularly friendly or helpful to those renting condos from private owners, but we did not find that to be true. They were kind and helpful.

There were a few things that could use an ungrade or minor repairs, but this unit was perfect. It was a joy to sit on the lanai in the morning, drink coffee, and watch the ocean and the kids in the pool at the same time. Everything we needed was in this very clean condo, it had its own keyless entry, the A/C worked wonderfully, and the beds were super comfortable.

The grounds at the Papkea are kept superbly and it was only a short two minute walk to the beach. Eveything you need is within a short distance from the condo such as: ABC or ITimes store on the main road, snorkel rental next to ABC, farmers market, and a short drive north to Napili for most excellent snorkeling with turtles). If you want to venture a little farther, it was only a tad bit further drive to Lahaina were you could do all the touristy stuff and find do better prices for groceries at Safeway at the Old Cannery Mall.

My only suggestion about the grounds is: if you want to use the barbeque be sure to get one early. They fill up fast so plan ahead if want to get one at dinnertime.

To summarize, we would go there again in a minute and would rent this privately owned unit again. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prsctnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    381
    165
    85
    51
See reviews for
415
397
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville PA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We rented a 3 BR unit(actually 2 BR with loft) for our group of 2 families. 8 people total including 4 young people in their 20's. It was a bit snug for 8, but are used to vacationing and camping together, so it was fine.Our unit was individually owned, so we did not rent through the office, but found our unit online. I really do not know how our price would compare to renting through the resort itself. The unit was a bit dated, but clean, and everything worked OK except 1)The A/C was minimal. I guess there is not a lot of central A/C in Hawaii.The unit was comfortable enough most of the time except when we all came home from a long days excursion, and 8 people had to shower, blow dry hair, use curling irons, etc to get ready for dinner. It was quite warm at those times 2) We supposedly had free wifi, but the reception was terrible-slow and spotty. Since our unit was privately owned, there was some snorkel equipment we did borrow, and there were some books and games in the unit for our use. The grounds were very nicely kept and there were putting greens which we used.Small beach next door- not great, and there are stairs at Papakea that you could just take down to the ocean. Not a lot to do close by, there was a Mexican bar across the street that the young folks could walk to. Kaanapali beach nearby was great.We booked a lot of excursions through the concierge at Papakea, spent a LOT of money, but felt that she steered us wrong on a few things.We stressed that we had 4 young people who wanted FUN and ACTIVE activities and asked about a few things we read about on Trip Advisor, and she talked us out of them, steering us to other things she said they would enjoy more. WRONG! I think she was just making more money on the ones she pushed on us.We used the grills one evening and had dinner out near the pool, which was nice.All in all, we were happy with this resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnSmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

If your idea is a calm and friendly place, this place is great the grounds are well kept, parking is easy, there is always a place and open chairs on the lawn to bask in the sun or take shelter under the shade of a palm tree. It seems like this area which is to the North of Kaanapali is on the path of trade winds. During our 8 day stay the sea was never calm. It's also a bit of hassle to negotiate the reefs to get to clear waters. There is not much of a beach. The pool is smaller than most but we never use the pools. There are several gas grills around the pool after and easy to BBQ in the evening

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanCarlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEATTLE
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We are back from a WONDERFUL vacation stay at the Papakea. Like many others who are un-sure about location and what a resort has to offer by just viewing pictures and hearing what they resort says, listen to me! Papakea has everything you need. We stayed in unit E-403 (3 bedroom, 3 bathroom -main floor had two KING size beds in each room, master had a huge bathroom and dual shower, other bathroom was spacious and had a bath for the kids) the next bedroom was on the loft and held two twin size beds and a bathroom with shower) the unit was decorated a bit different than any other place we have stayed, Red Carpet-very asian themed with large furniture, rather comfty. The kitchen had updated appliances and everything we needed. What we didn't have we ran across the street to "Times" grocery store. Drive south to "Safeway" for WAY better prices and if your on a tight budget do NOT go to the ABC store who wanted to charge 11.00 for a GALLON OF MILK! Seriously! The lanai had spacious views of the ocean and pool area. The staff, especially Gary the manager, Angela and Anthony were absolutely AMAZING. So kind and helpful! Anthony had so many good tips of places to see and was our verbal map while we were there. Angela helped us with all of our accomodations and was so sweet. Our children 2, 4 and 8 had such a great time swimming in the pool and in the ocean just to the left of the hotel. What makes this place stand out is that most of the condo's have little restaurants near the pool area..making their pool and play area so much smaller. Because Papakea does not have a restaurant the pools are bigger and more spacious. There are BBQ's to grill meats on for lunch/dinner and it's a great way to socialize with your neighbors. If you want restaurant, you can go right next door to the Beach Club restaurant. Also, the washer and dryer in the unit was a bonus. I can't imagine staying at a hotel now without all the immenities that the Papakea had for us making our trip so much more enjoyable. We will be back soon! Another bonus was the signs posted around the property stating that quiet time hours are from 10pm-7am...I found people respected that. If you wanted to make noise you could take a short drive to Lahaina! Awesome place! Will come again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YOUMETHEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

After reading some bad reviews I was skeptical on where we were staying. I was pleasantly surprised! Our room was great and we had a great view. We traveled with our 16 month old daughter and the resort had a crib for us to use.

The room was very clean and the grounds were impeccable. I can't say enough.

We stayed in room E301, I would recommend it to anyone that needs a 1 bedroom. We traveled to Maui for a family reunion and my Nana rented a total of 8 rooms, so we saw everything from a studio up to a 3 bedroom and they were all very nice. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

The only down side is there isn't a beach but there is a nice one right next door and they had nice lawn chairs on the lawn in front of the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandp0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed at the Aston Papakea Resort last week in unit J306. The unit was small and dated. We were only there in this 1BD/1BA unit for 2 nights. I've included a few pictures of units J306 for your reference. The one thing that drove me crazy were the sliding doors throughout the unit. None of them glided easily and most of the time, I was trying to put adjust them back into the tracks! I wasn't just going to leave them the way there were in case my kids were to try to open the doors and have it fall on them. Other than that, unit was in working condition. Could use some upgrades though. White countertops were a bit outdated and carpets were a big muggy. Beach wasn't super great as it was full of rocks. I would drive 5 minutes to go to the Ka'anapali beach where the beaches were nicer - no rocks and was able to snorkel there too! Kids said they saw a sea-turtle out there! SCORE!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingSFMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria,AZ
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I booked this condo through Maui Dreams Come True. The unit was K102 which was on the first floor with a walk-out that looked out directly to the pool. We had a partially obstructed view of the beach but it was steps away from the beach. The unit is very quiet and clean. While the decor is a bit dated, it had a dishwasher and washer/dryer. The area is very convenient to a grocery store, other beaches and downtown Lahaina. All in all, I would absolutely return to this unit and also recommend it. I would say it's a great place for a family to take an affordable Maui vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgalPeoria_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Property: Aston at Papakea Resort
Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing