We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring earplugs. Leave quest for quietude at home.”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Bring earplugs. Leave quest for quietude at home.”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

After 14-plus trips to Hawaii and extensive travel worldwide, this is unequivocally the noisiest place we have ever stayed, due to shrieking and yelling children and parents that apparently feel such behavior is acceptable. The noise at the pool and common areas during each of our seven day stay would begin about 8:45 a.m. and continue unabated until far after pool closing time at 9:00p.m. The noise seemed as loud in our high- floor unit as down at the pool. I could hear the yelling and screaming in our interior bathrooms. Often we were awakened at night.

This is also a failure of management since their posted rules go unenforced. At 10:30 one night, we called the front desk about 4 girls who had been shrieking for hours. Although the pool closes at 9 p.m., we were told these were "paying guests" and they had a right to be there. So what were we?

Rules such as "no horseplay or ball- throwing", "shoes and shirt inside" and "parents must accompany children" are routinely disobeyed. Once I had to dodge a father and son playing hard-ball catch adjacent to the walkway. The elevators routinely had sand and standing water on the floors due to bare, wet feet.

We spoke at length to a very charming and attentive manager but he never promised any change and none occurred throughout our seven day stay. Although we love to be at the pool, it was impossible; and we spent each day at the beach which, with the surf, surfers, and large parties, was much quieter than the pool. A "quiet pool" is provided, but this is a small piece of property for the number of units encircling it, and the noise from the larger pool was very loud. And the last time I saw this "quiet" area, there were six teens in the hot tub. All talking loudly on cellphones.

There is very little shade at the pool which may account for other reviews noting the line-up at pool opening hours and the staking- out of chairs. There are no umbrellas at all, amazingly, and only 4 small palapas. Do not plan on shade except what you can get from trees.

"Luxury" is a term this condo development uses to describe itself and does not match my definition. While the units are nice and have granite counters, newer appliances, and recessed lights--at least in our premier unit, the furniture and fabrics are more like a three star hotel. Our master had extremely flat, hard pillows, rough sheets, and no armchair or bedside table lamps.

At almost $700 including taxes per night for two, this is a very poor value. If you are a couple looking for some relaxation, go to a five star hotel for the same price Or if you are still game, pick a unit facing the mountains away from the beach-front pool.

Also, note that this is miscategorized by tripadvisor. This is not a hotel, and has no restaurant, bar or pool service.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank IdahoTimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    128
    38
    17
    9
See reviews for
478
140
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Framingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We used to own a condo at the Kaanapali Ali'i, and it's been several years since we've been there. I was delighted and stunned to have them REMEMBER me when we arrived. Our stay was perfect; the accommodations were perfect; the staff was perfect; the available resources were perfect. And we can't wait to go back! My only recommendation would be to see how you can get WiFi.

Room Tip: The corner oceanfront suite suited our needs perfectly - lots of space, lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We just returned from a 12 day vacation on Kaanapali Beach , we stayed at Kaanapali Alii Resort. Very nice 2 bedroom 2 bath condo. Updated and very well maintained. The location on the beach is perfect. The beach is not overly crowded and there are 2 swimming pools , one is a quiet pool ( very nice) to relax and read a good book. The service is outstanding, bellman, housekeeping and beach service is awesome. Parking is free also. Highly recommend this resort. Lots of activities also, snorkeling at Black Rock is just a short walk down the beach. Sea turtles and whales are very active on this beach.Paradise!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed in room 321. I would say our unit was nice not great but nice. Updated a little. However everything else about this place is perfect. The beach awesome. Huge waves out front it is close to the point. Close to whalers, free parking, free towel service, no wifi which is awful really but I had a wireless card so could use it.
Grilling area is amazing , pools great. Two TVS poolside to enjoy sports etc.
I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Maui. Price was over 400 per night however when you don't have to take your kids out to eat all the time it is very reasonable for Hawaii.

Will go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We just returned from a relaxing week on Maui, including a wonderful stay in a "partial ocean view" condo at the Alii in Unit 392.

This is a beautifully decorated one bedroom that appears to have been recently updated with high-end amenities, from granite counters to stainless steel gourmet appliances.

The furniture is stylish, comfortable and practical. The kitchen is fully equipped. The king-size bed is wonderful with a lovely view of the ocean.

We also had fantastic views of the ocean, beach, mountains and the nicely landscaped pool at the resort next door (Marriott's Maui Ocean Club).

Because this unit is on the ninth floor and on the building's corner, there are spectacular views from the lanai, family room, dining area, kitchen and bedroom. It's much more than just a "partial ocean view."

It was worth the price. When we return to the Alli, we will request Unit 392 again.

Room Tip: Insist on a recently updated unit – like 392 – that has high-end new appliances, furnishing and deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OakdaleFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We just got back from 11 days at the Kaanapali Alii. We were given suite 132 when we arrived. The king bed in this suite is like a waterbed, no support. After four nights the staff was able to move us to another unit and everything was fantastic. This spot is wonderful. The staff is incredibly accommodating, the location is excellent and the overall resort is so well maintained. There is a beautiful beach walk right out front and we walked it everyday. Restaurants close by, Safeway is a ten minute drive, lots of activities for all ages. The whole experience was positive and I would return here. My husband felt that the units could have been a little cleaner. Our fridge had food in it, the wine glasses had lipstick on them and some of the cooking pans needed to be washed.

Room Tip: Both of our rooms were large and had wonderful views. As mentioned, suite 132 needs a new bed unles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Just returned from a great stay at the Ali'i! We stayed in unit 1-131 and it was fantastic and updated. The suite was large, clean and very cozy. We loved hanging out in our suite and it really felt like home. A considerable difference from our friends unit #2102 - which was NOT updated. Had I got this suite, I think I would have felt VERY differently about our stay.

Pros: location, location, location; amazing cleaning staff especially Amelda :), beautiful grounds, easy parking, great gym, lovely tennis courts, beach access, beach chairs, towel service, bbq area. The bed was SO comfortable - perfect sleeps!

Cons: no onsite restaurant but close enough to Whalers village, front desk staff was unbelievably rude and needs a strong lesson in customer service. Pool was adequate but given the size of the resort it should really be a bit bigger. There are very loud Luau's next door a few times a week; thankfully they end at 8pm but if you are travelling from another time zone this could feel much later especially on the first few days of arrival.

We paid extra for a late check out due to a late flight and that made a world of difference to our overall enjoyment.

Room Tip: Apparently, you cannot pre-select a room but I would try hard to get an UPDATED room with non-tradit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tooareist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
468 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing