We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, but Come Prepared”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice Place, but Come Prepared”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We've been here three days now, and are enjoying the experience. Everyone is nice, and the resort is overall kept up nicely. As did others, we used a Costco package deal for this trip. Things to keep in mind include the following. We're here in low season, and see that the pool area can get crowded early when the resort is full. There is no poolside beverage service, and poolside/room service is from a limited menu from the adjacent Westin.

The condos are not all alike, as each owner puts his/her touches on their unit. Ours features dated furnishings which are OK at best. Part of the appeal of a condo is being able to prepare meals instead of going out for everything. The resort has 8 grills in a well-maintained area, and you can dine in an adjacent covered area. However, the utensils and such in our unit's kitchen are marginal at best; if you come here to cook, as we did, you'll be disappointed; I'm glad I brought a good knife. The bare minimum of cheap glassware and utensils are usable, but only just so. Bring your own spices and such to save hassle. And forget Safeway; go a mile north to the Times Supermarket, and half a mile past that to the fish market.

Maid service is good and efficient. The rooms have high-speed internet connections, but wireless sucks unless you are on your Lanai or at the pool; they need to upgrade service here. And if you have young kids, be aware that the pool set ups for kids at the adjacent Marriott and Westin are far superior to the Ali'i.

So would we return? Likely, as despite my gripes, it's a nice place, but there are other places we'll try first. The main point of this review is to let you know about the stuff that's not obvious in the literature. You can have a great time here if you are prepared.

Room Tip: See if you can select a unit with the specific features you desire for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank JDinNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    126
    38
    17
    9
See reviews for
472
140
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed at the Kaanapali Alii the week of May 6th. We rented a vehicle and easily found the resort. Took about 40-45 minutes from the airport. We were very warmly welcomed and showed to our room by Jesse. He was very friendly and helpful. The room was enormous! We did not request an ocean front room, but we were in an ocean view room on the first floor. Some may not like first floors, but this proved to be very convenient and a short walk from the beach. Two bedrooms, two baths, dining, full kitchen, wash/dry, living room. Very clean and modern with the exception of the TV sets. They were from circa 2000. This was surprizing as the room was well decorated and had stainless appliances. The resort has no restaurants or bars, but offers pricey room service from the Westin. However, you are within walking distance to all the bars, restaurants and shopping you would ever need. Whalers is two doors over! The resort offers concierge service for activities and spa. The beach was terrific. The resort has chair and towel service. In all, staying at the Alii made us feel like we owned our own Hawaii beach front condo! Wish it was not over 5000 miles away from us though. If we are fortunate enough to go to Maui again, we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Be careful walking around at night as the living room is two steps down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike7369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We love this place and are going back again next year.

The best deal we found was from Costco Travel and included our rental car. We stayed for 10 wonderful, relaxing days.

Even the “1 bedroom” units are actually 2 bedroom. Example: our unit 1 bedroom unit has a master bedroom, with King bed and attached master bath. There is a second bedroom – it is an extension of the living room. If you want to use it as a bedroom, there are sliding doors that close it off. This room had a queen size murphy bed that pulled down from the wall when needed and another full bathroom attached to it. If you don’t want it as a 2nd bedroom, open up the sliding doors and it’s a larger living room. Our kitchen was really nice – fully equipped, granite, stainless steel appliances, double sink. We also had a small laundry room of our own with a washer/dryer and small sink.

Our unit was advertised as garden view, but we had a nice window by the living room that looked out to the ocean. We also had a nice, little balcony (little – table w/4 chairs & a lounger) that had a view to the ocean on one side. The bedroom looked out towards the mountains.

Not all units are this nice. Our group had a total of 5 units and one of the units appeared older, hadn’t been upgraded. Each condo has an owner, so it’s up to them to upgrade. Even the un-upgraded unit was nicer than our room at the Marriott (next door). We found out that you can ask for particular units and if it’s available and in your room category, they will accommodate.

Last, the facilities are wonderful. They have great pools for both adults & kids. The resort is on the beach and their stretch of beach is more sandy than rocky. We boogie boarded (with the 2 boogie boards that were left behind by the last tenants of our room – pretty common), paddle boarded ($45/day from 808 rentals – they have a deal with the Alii), body surfed and even snorkeled from right there. To the left (on the Marriott side) is some small surf, where many people take their first surf lessons. To the right (on the Westin side) is more sandy beach.

The resort has some nice BBQs with an ocean view. You can grill and watch a beautiful sunset. They are cleaned every morning and look brand new in the evenings. They have 2 clay tennis courts, a nicely equipped gym and a small sundries store.

Spa -- the Ali'i has massage facilities, but not much else. However, with so many big resorts (Marriott, Hyatt, Westin, Sheraton) in walking distance, there's no need for a fancy spa. We went to the Spa at Black Rock in the Sheraton, for two heavenly couples massages while we were there. Another Costco deal -- on the way from the airport, we stopped at Costco to pick up drinks/snacks for the week and noticed they had discounted gift certificates for the Sheraton's spa and bought 4. They were well worth it. We saved about 20%.

Probably a lot more detail than you needed, but I could gush on & on. I love Maui and I love this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank a4girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in unit 482 for almost a week. The unit was completely updated - granite counters, updated furniture and bathrooms. The den in this unit was converted into a second bedroom with a queen size bed. We never used it, as there were only two of us, but it was nice having a second bathroom on occasion. There were adequate cooking utensils, dishes, pots, etc. for our needs.

The very best feature of this property is its location. Only the Westin separates it from Whaler's Village, where there are many shops and restaurants. Downtown Lahaina is only a short drive to the south, so there was never a lack for things to do or places to eat. It is also on a great stretch of beach - wide and sandy. The beach walk made it easy to walk to other resorts and to black rock for snorkeling.

We booked directly with Classic Resorts and were pleasantly surprised by the level of service. While we were expecting to need to purchase basic supplies like laundry detergent, coffee and filters, dishwasher detergent and the like, we were very happy that those supplies were provided for us. We also had the usual toiletries - soap, shampoo, lotion, etc. replenished when needed throughout our stay. Housekeeping serviced our unit daily and the condo was very clean.

The view from this 8th floor unit was wonderful. High enough to see the sunset over the palm trees and close enough to the ocean to hear the waves. The lanai had a table and chairs which we used every day to have a cup of coffee in the morning and a cocktail in the evening.

The grill and pool areas were in great shape, We were always able to get a chair when we wanted, even in the afternoon. The resort also provided chairs for guest use on the beach (free of charge) which was a nice touch. Loungers with cabana tops were available for a charge but we didn't use them. In the grill area was a grill box with things you might need - aluminum foil, paper plates, plastic utensils and cups, a bottle opener and grilling tools. We saved a beer box for carrying things down from our condo, but we saw people using trays that must have been in their units.

The only somewhat negative thing we encountered was the parking situation. We were told when we checked in that the property was only 1/2 occupied that week. Individual owners had reserved parking (understandable) that was marked by cones with a permit attached. So when searching for a parking spot, we needed to look for spots that weren't marked by cones. Fine. The top level of one of the two parking garages was closed for repairs and on a couple of nights we had difficulty finding a parking spot. We wound up squeezing into one of the last spots in a surface lot behind the parking garage that was further away. It was about as far away as we could have been. The repairs combined with those people who couldn't manage to park between the lines in their super sized SUVs, made finding a relatively close parking spot difficult at times. This didn't happen every day, but it seemed to occur at certain times during the day (like after the dinner hour).

Overall, we loved our stay at this property and would return. Especially to see that beautiful Maui sunset every night.

Room Tip: Building 4 seemed to have the best front facing ocean views from the one-bedroom units. I believe t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DeniseH227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We've stayed at this property twice in the last two years and both times have been extremely pleased with its amenities, the friendly staff and the proximity to the ocean, Whaler's Village and its shops and restaurants and the beach walk. A great bar-b-que area; outdoor TV area for the big game, the gym and spa are wonderful and the suites we stayed in were well appointed and large.
It's also right across the road from the Ka'anapali Royal and Kai golf courses - who could ask for anything more.
Great spot to spend time in a great part of the world.
Gord Montgomery
Inside Golf magazine; Canada

Room Tip: All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gord M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here November of 2011. Had a great time. Location was incredible. Pool was great. Several grills located on the property for your use. The condo was very clean and very comfortable. Will go back someday.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Kaanapali Ali'i from Apr 9 through Apr 16th. My family (myself, husband, son-age 12 and daughter age 10) had a wonderful stay. We stayed in a one bedroom partial ocean view and had plenty of space. The den had a sliding door that we could close in the evening and queen bed was great.(It really was like having two bedrooms!). We stayed in unit 242 which had been recently updated and was beautiful. We rented directly from Classic Resorts as I booked the vacation late. The beach is perfect and I am so glad I chose this complex over the newer one with not so great of a beach and more isolated location. We walked to Whaler's Village several times for dinner, shopping and the free lei making. We also drove to Lahaina several times as it was only a few minute drive. The pool is not huge but it is pretty and the hot tubs were great too. The resort was very busy the first couple of days of our trip but the staff was always able to find us beach chairs even in the afternoon. Great service and friendly staff. We were also able to check out at 6 p.m. (for an extra fee) and it was well worth it due to the lateness of our flight. I would recommend this resort without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dds_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing