We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful...wonderful...wonderful”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Zionsville, IN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful...wonderful...wonderful”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view unit for 8 nights in early April. We had a beautiful updated condo. The kitchen was fully stocked including any spice you would need with wonderful appliances. We live in a nice home with great electronics and appliances and this rivaled that and surpassed in a couple of areas. We enjoy the activity of Kaanapali Beach and also appreciate quiet. We were able to enjoy that on our private balcony and daily at the quiet pool. We used the grill area a couple of nights and appreciated the gentleman who was there to help. Just an FYI...they have several tables by the grills and have a cabinet with paper products available for all to use. Each morning the grills are cleaned so they are ready for use. We were so pleased with every aspect of this property. The unit was perfect, the staff was very pleasant and always helpful to us and the grounds were kept impeccably. We have been to Maui 4 previous times, twice at Wailea and twice on Kaanapali Beach. All those times we have stayed at Marriott properties. We were leery of changing...we had always had such great experiencewith Marriott, but we will definitely return to Kaanapali Alii when we make our next trip to Maui. One last note, we booked this trip through Costco travel. We were able to save a substantial amount of money by booking through them. I have to admit we were a little nervous that we would not receive as nice a unit or that the service would lack, but none of that was true. Great property and staff!

Room Tip: We originally wanted an oceanfront unit, but none were available when we booked. Those units are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    130
    38
    18
    9
See reviews for
486
140
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Myself and three friends stayed here for a week in a two bedroom suite. The condo was large with all the cooking supplies, linen, towels etc we could need. The unit with quiet with minimal noise from neighbours. Although the furniture was a bit dated, it was tidy and clean and very comfortable for four people.

Unfortunately, we ended the trip on a bit of a sour note. We were billed twice for dry cleaning - one friend specifically paid for it in cash at the time of pick-up (as the room was being charged to my credit card) and we were billed again on our final invoice. We politely explained to the front desk receptionist the error, but she refused to believe it and would not subtract it from our invoice, insisting that she had not paid in cash. Although it was a small monetary value, it was disappointing her response. Clearly, we would not be lying to get $15 worth of dry cleaning for free (given that this was a small fraction of the overall bill) but it was the principle of the matter. We had to leave so did not have time to further dispute this charge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank antisera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Great place to go with kids if you want some space to spread out and enjoy the awesome beauty. Though it's a place that caters to families it's pretty quiet. With the exception of the pool we rarely heard other guests. One caution I would offer is the concierge...it's less expensive to book on your own by a mile - they actually mark up their services without mentioning it. They also seem to be "spiffed" to push certain trips, etc. In the scheme of things relatively minor but be aware. We've never been charged for those services and prefer to tip. I would return however with no hesitation. Easy I walk to other restaurants, etc. Perfect vacation really!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanna7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Booked March 25 to April 8 all staff were amazing.we stayed in a one bedroom mountain view.
booking was made from apple vacations,on the apple web site i booked mountain view and then tried to up grade to mountain view premier which is a unit that has been remodeld,apple stated that all units were remoldeld and the premire option on the apple web site was taken down.
apple at that time was misleading. our unit was 264 in building two on the six floor.patio screen doors were hard to open and some came off the track. living room couch needs to be gone ,why not leather no smell you know,rug in the unit same smell needs wood our tile ,tub and shower by main entrance needs upgrading.
All in all we have stayed here before and it is very big for just two people but we love the staff and the location.as others have stated it is hit or miss on an upgraded unit.
Again staff are amazing.
Aloha
RD ROOT

Room Tip: Mountain view was great. ocean view would be good if it is in the budget. Try to get an upgradetd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked a one bedroom ocean view through the hotel for my family - me, husband, 2 sons. I was nervous about some of the reviews I had read about outdated rooms. Ours was very updated and clean. When we pulled up we were somewhat underwhelmed with the lobby. It's basically just a room with a long counter. I love when the lobby is over the top. It is your first impression and gives you that pampered feeling right off the bat and puts you in vacation mode. So this was a little disappointing. But the service at the front desk made up for it. Quick, friendly and efficient. Couldn't have gotten better anywhere else.

It was the perfect location if you want to stay in Kaanapali. The beach is beautiful and large. The boardwalk quickly takes you to Whalers Village, Black Rock, or the Hyatt (where we like to say 'hi' to the parrots and penguins). Running on the boardwalk at sunrise is lovely and my most favorite time of the day. Walking to all the restaurants is convenient. Parking at the condo is included and easy with alot of available spots.

The condo we got was outstanding. It was a large one bedroom with a king bed and a den which had a queen bed. There was a pullout couch which we were told not to pull out as the owners didn't like that? My son ended up just sleeping on it normally as it was a sectional and plenty big. We were on the top floor and ours views of the ocean were stunning to say the least. Honestly, I could have spent our 11 days just watching the whales from our lanai. We overlooked the palms and the pool area which was very pretty and not noisy at all. We used the BBQ area twice. The times we did we were assisted by staff who watched our meal as it cooked. They worked hard to please but the nights we BBQ'd there certainly wasn't a professional chef there as we had read and I was looking forward to. Ah well, there were alot of supplies and a few spices available and even a little herb garden to use if you wanted.

Our washing machine was very moldy. It was a front loader and I have the exact same one at home. I know you have to leave the door slightly ajar after washing so it can dry out. Anyways, a quick call to the front desk and it was cleaned out promptly and available for use. Our dishwasher was a bit strange too. Dishes never seemed to be clean after a wash and the racks didn't seem to allow to stand up dinner plates. Almost like a rack was missing. Really though, it was nothing I cared to complain about as we ate out alot anyways.

Be aware also, that some of the lanais are not as big as they appear on the website. Ours held a very small table with four chairs and a lounge chair. It was still a good size compared to other resorts but I was expecting one of the very long ones where we could enjoy our meals outside. I wasn't willing to change rooms though, as we liked everything else about our condo and did not want to give up our outstanding view. Again, it was big enough, just not what I expected. I wonder if all the one bedrooms have the smaller lanai and the 2 or 3 bedrooms have the longer ones.

I guess one disappointment was that there were no beach items available in the condo. I had hoped to find a few sand toys, a boogie board or an umbrella which is pretty usual in a condo. To get an umbrella at the KA you had to buy it for $50. Not really something I wanted to lug home. We also had to rent the boogie board. My feeling is that the owners are told not to leave these kinds of things in the condo so that the can make money renting it to us at expensive prices. Too bad, but again, not a huge deal in the end.

Overall, this was more than we ever expected in our condo and we would stay here again, in a heartbeat, especially if we knew we could get the same unit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kitaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here with two female friends for 10 days in February. The grounds are very nice; parking is free; the staff is incredibly nice and helpful -- I cannot say enough about them. They helped us accommodate an unplanned extra few days [snowstorm back home]. The BBQ area is terrific and a nice staff person helped us grill a flank steak to perfection. Nice young man carried our beach chairs out for us. The workout gym is beautiful [though we were too busy eating and drinking to enjoy it -- ha].

Each room is privately owned so the décor is at the whim of the tastes and budget of the owner. We stayed in two condos: the first one had extremely comfy and plentiful furniture for lounging around but the décor prompted several discussion a la "if this was MY condo, I would get rid of x and y and do such and so" [3 women!]. The second condo was the opposite -- very beautifully decorated but the furniture was not optimal for 3 people lounging around. But, both condos were just FINE -- just what we wanted: comfy, clean, livable.

Both condos had two bathrooms, stacked washer and dryer [yay!], a bedroom, and a bedroom-ish room with no door. The kitchen was nice -- had the standard supplies. Both condos were very clean. The veranda was nice -- table and 4 chairs. We had a mountain view which was lovely; we could see a wee bit of the ocean from the veranda.

Whaler's Village is a short walk away; Black Rock is a pleasant walk a bit further. I felt like the location was perfect. Lahaina is a short drive away.

I was happy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runningwithscissors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I want to say so many wonderful things about this property, because it really was an amazing week, but my experience was really marred by the issue with our room (see below). My advice is to get a property map when you make your reservation and get some understanding of what you see from where. Do your best to get a commitment or some notes in the system that guarantee you at least a room in a certain building or part of a building. The property itself is beautiful. We did not spend any time at all at the pool. We spent it all at the beach and rented beach cabanas. Worth the price to get enough shade to stay out all day. Guys at the pool shack were great. They have an awesome BBQ set up for everyone's use. We did grill one night and it was easy and delicious. A great alternative to eating out all the time. Generally things were slow if you had a request but it was eventually fulfilled. Check in area smelled severely of mildew. Concierge service was very helpful. Quality of the unit is dependent on the décor of the owner, so that is another area where you are unsure about what you will get. Our unit was very nice, but smelled of mildew which was a problem for me. Would I return? Not without more assurance about my room.

Room Tip: BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE. You may pay for an "Ocean View" room and be looking directly over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing