We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Would Definitely Recommend Staying here”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed at Kaanapali Alii during September, and I can honestly say that it is was an amazing, unique experience. First, the location couldn't be better, just a few minutes from Lahaina, and literally on the beach with great views of Moloka'i in the distance.

The property itself is a number of buildings that are actually condos that are rented out throughout the year like a hotel, so you get the comfort and amenities of staying in a condo (laundry, multiple rooms, kitchen, living room, BBQ, gym and tennis court access), but it feels like staying in a hotel (daily cleanings, front desk, short-term rental availability, etc...)

While I was there their awesome tennis instructor was up for a pickup game with me on the courts while he was waiting for his next lesson, and he was a lot of fun to talk to and get to know. The nearby gym was immaculate and is a great resource for those who like to stay active during their trip. Finally, the rooms and property were all first-class maintained -- a truly beautiful and memorable place to spend your time while in Maui.

Room Tip: Obviously, if you want to see the beach, ask for a beach-facing room, or if you want to see the hill...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattStabile01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
There are newer reviews for Kaanapali Alii
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We just returned from 10 days at the Kaanapali Alli, and it could not have been more perfect for our 45th Anniversary! We did our booking through Kay Ryan (mauikay.com) and we would do that again in a heartbeat! She made sure (with her connections) that we got an updated, high floor room (we had 2101) which was a one bedroom Oceanview room, but the den also had another double size bed in it along with a closet and it's own bathroom. We had a magnificent view of the pool area, the beach, and each morning the entertainment of watching the activity of the cabanas getting set up, along with the activity on the beachwalk. Kay not only made sure we had an excellent room, but also spent weeks before our trip helping us decide on the activities we would do while in Maui. She lives in the area, so is aware of the best of the best, and everything we did, was based on her recommendation. She was the hidden gem of Maui, as far as we were concerned. She even has connections to someone who will grocery shop for you, and you can arrive with your food in place. We didn't use that because we stopped at Costco, and mainly ate out, but it was a nice service. Even though whale season was officially over, the day she stopped by to introduce herself and bring us our activities vouchers, she spotted a whale and a baby right from our Lanai. Now, THAT's service!

Mahalo to Kay, and the wonderful staff at the Kaanapali Alii - especially Chris, who greeted us as we drove up late with, "You must be my people from Minnesota!" and brought our luggage to our room, and gave us a complete tour, along with getting us signed onto the free Internet. Also, there is NO parking fee here. We also ate at 3 restaurants in Whalers Village (Leilani's, and Hula Grill (both the outside dining, and the barefoot grill), and one of our favorites was the Tiki Terrace at the Kaanapali Beach hotel. You can't see the sunset from the dining area, BUT they have a free show which was wonderful, and probably one of the best places we ate - both service and food, although all of them were wonderful.

Room Tip: A high room helps you see over the trees. Also building one and two look over the pool, and buildin...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexsNana927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I absolutely loved my experience at Kaanapali Alii. I'd never been to the Hawaiian islands before and this hotel is the first place I visited after arriving from the airport, whoa! I was blown away to say the least. My room was incredible, I spent every evening listening to waves on my balcony and I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duzercruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Gorgeous room, great facilities, fantastic grilling & nicest staff. The location is very convenient, right on Kaanapali Beach and walking along the boardwalk gets you easy access to dining and shopping. Loved my stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My family enjoyed our stay at the Kaanapali Ali'i for our vacation in paradise. The location was very convenient and our unit was very spacious, clean, and well-appointed. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We look forward to returning and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request an ocean front or ocean view room on a high floor for best experience.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrgleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My experience at Kaanapali Alii was spectacular! I enjoyed the beautiful resort and the cleanliness everywhere. Each staff member that I met was kind and pleasant and I could not have asked for a more enjoyable time during my stay there. I will be returning someday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have been coming to the Kaanapali Alii for at least 25 years and it keeps on getting better! It is situated right in the middle of Kaanapali Beach and just a few minutes by car to Lahaina. It is a condo development with 4 eleven story buildings with 1 bedroom plus den as well as 2 bedroom units. Beach towels and chairs are provided. They recently redid the pool with areas for kids and a quieter area for adults. We have stayed in many of the units which have been upgraded with modern appliances, granite counters, flat screen TVs and comfortable furniture. All have generous sized lanais. There is free Wifi throughout. A truly comfortable spot to spend your vacation in paradise!

Room Tip: Choose a beach view apartment away from the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruthie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
485 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £300 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing