We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I went with the #1 rating on TripAdvisor and wasn't disappointed. Kaanapali Alii is a perfect blend of a condo and a resort property.

We were looking for a place where my wife and I as well as our three grown children could be very comfortable, have great access to all Kaanapali beach activities as well as have the ability to cook some meals in our condo. Kaanapali Alii was a perfect fit. We were able to get a two bedroom unit with a den. The den was really a third bedroom (queen sized bed) which was great for my 24 year old son.

I booked my stay through Kay Ryan at Maui Vacation Consultants. It was great to have a local resource to work with both before and during our stay. Kay was able to work with the property to get us the particular type of unit we were looking for as well as provide great recommendations on activities, restaurants, etc.

Some things we loved about Kaanapali Alii. It wasn't crowded, unlike the surrounding hotel and time share properties. The staff was very friendly and helpful with an onsite concierge. The outdoor grilling option was great with a knowledgeable staff member right there to assist. The location in Kaanapali is fantastic - large beach, shot walk to Whaler's Village and beautifully groomed grounds. Brand new fitness center with 3 nice tennis courts (all included).

A couple of suggestions. If you want a shaded area at the pool, get out there early. People are allowed to lay claim beginning at 8:00 AM and they do. If you don't want to watch or listen to the Luau at the Westin on a couple of nights, don't get a unit on the North side of the property.

All in all, we loved the Alii and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Avoid units on the North side of the property if you don't want to experience the Westin Luau on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colocav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    125
    36
    17
    9
See reviews for
460
140
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We love this condo. Six people, five beds, two bathrooms, and plenty of space for a 10 day vacation. The staff was terrific, especially Maria who cleaned our room each day. We also got great advice from the concierge regarding restaurants and hikes. Comfortable, clean, and right in the center of Kaanapali Beach. My family won't stay anywhere else. One minor suggestion...please improve the WiFi by the pool. It rarely worked and we were told by staff that it doesn't connect well with Apple products. Staff is exceptional at the Kaanapali Alii. We will be back.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are excellent...easy to get to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soccermom916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are staying at the Alii for over 30 years. We love the large luxurious condominiums. The Lovely grounds, pool, and work out facility A well-trained and accommodating staff. A terrific location.

It is like a home away from home. As I said we have going for 30 years and we hope to go for 100 more.

Room Tip: Ask for their highest rated condominiums
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maryellentong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We just got back from staying here for the second time in two years. Both times we stayed in the off-peak month of May, so the hotel is only at 40% capacity. Two years ago our room was surrounded by units under construction, effectively making it impossible for our toddlers to nap. At that time, we were not notified in advance nor were they willing to offer us a discount for our trouble. Fast forward two years and voilla, not only was there construction around our unit (again), we were presented with a notice that informed us that we could not use water from 8:30-4:30 pm Monday-Friday. Yay! No toilet, no laundry, no shower, no dishwasher, and of course no washing hands. This was a decision by the owners to update the water shut-off valves so that during future construction, they could shut off water to a specific unit rather than the whole floor/building. The decision makes a lot of sense for the long run, but we were not notified in advance nor were we offered a a partial refund or some other accommodation to make up for the inconvenience. Needless to say, this problem combined with the issue of young children unable to nap (again), frustrated us considerably.

All that being said, we will still return there and stay again in the future assuming they can make some guarantees ahead of time. It's a fantastic place that features great amenities, amazing rooms, amazing views, the best beach in Maui, great residents, and huge pools and tanning areas that are great for both kids and adults. And unlike the neighboring hotels, you aren't sandwiched like sardines around the pool. The only thing preventing this review from being a 5-star is that the staff/management didn't think our concerns were a big deal and referred to them as a "minor water inconvenience". They couldn't have cared less about our concerns, even though we spent a great deal of money in order to stay there.

Oh well. When deciding to book your trip, simply get some written reassurances in advance about the state of things at that facility. If you do that, I imagine you'll love your vacation as much as we did ("minor water inconvenience" and daily construction noise aside).

Room Tip: The design of the buildings allows for good views wherever you are located except for the lower floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Every once in a while you hit the lodging jackpot. I am thrilled to say we did it at the Alli. We were in a 2 bedroom oceanfront condo on the seventh floor. We were greeted with beachfront ocean vistas every time we looked out the large panoramic windows. The gentle ocean breezes on the spacious lanai filled our senses and cooled our bodies. Each night we were lulled to sleep with the sound of the surf. The condo was spacious, had beautifully appointed furnishings and every kitchen necessity. The community grilling area near the pool was immaculate and stocked with grilling necessities like tongs, paper plates, napkins, spices and cups. There was a grill master each evening who was please to assist with advice on spices and techniques to compliment your skill level. The staff was welcoming, professional and made you feel like a full time resident. The pool area was beautiful with a separate adult pool and jacuzzi area. The family pool and jacuzzi was where we spent most of our time. There was even a shallow pool especially for toddlers. Beach chairs were provided and even transported for you out to ocean front seating. The tennis courts and fitness are are amazing. We will definitely return, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: If the ocean front option is not affordable, the partial ocean view would be great as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swimdog04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault this place...we had stunning views from our fourth flour balcony, a tastefully decorated condo with all the amenities, very comfortable for 6 adults, gorgeous beach to swim in right out front or choice of pools, 5 minute walk from Whalers Village...we really couldn't have asked for more! We loved our retreat here after the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, Maui is just paradise...and this condo topped it off. Can't recommend it enough - the staff were amazing, we were so well looked after. I would suggest a car for ease but probably not essential.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed 2 weeks in a 2 bedroom ocean front condo on this property. It was our annual "sisters" trip - there was four of us - and we had a blast! The front desk staff were very friendly - we were taken shown around the property and taken to our condo where we received a great introduction to the resort. The condo was wonderful - plenty of room, updated kitchen, and very clean. There are two pools - one is a quite pool for adults only - both were very nice. Pool staff was very friendly. The beach was great and very convienent - good snorkeling - I saw a green mommy turtle with her young one as well as colorful fish. This property is a great location on Maui - short driving distances to the rest of the island. There is a cement beach walk to other hotels, restaurants as well as a shopping area called Whaler's Village. We would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing